We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The BEST!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Ranked #12 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
365 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“The BEST!!”
Reviewed May 2, 2010

WE are owners here and at other Marriott Properties. This is the best by far. Right next door to the JW Marriott, Desert Ridge. We spent a lot of time at the JW using the pool etc. We also spent a lot of time t the pool at Canyon Villas and enjoyed that also. Great location. Convienent to all services and 30 min to the airport. Great Place. Highly reccomend

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BonVoyage555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    205
    49
    31
    7
See reviews for
335
275
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2010

This Vacation club community is great. We spent a lot of time both at this property, and at the connected JW Marriott resort. It was an easy, and enjoyable walk. We stayed in a 1 bedroom with a Kitchen. There is an outdoor mall about a mile away - again very walkable with a stroller. Everything was in like new condition. We will definitely go back.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Espresso17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

I must confess I do not usually write on Trip Advisor, but feel a sense of obligation given the overwhelming positive reviews on this property. I do not recommend this property for business travelers. This is a Marriott Vacation Club resort and should not be confused with regular Marriott quality. This is not a place for business people.

The room I was was put into, at $409 per night, was an absolute disaster. small, cramped, tired carpeting, noisy and no desk. It was a "lock-off" of a main unit...nothing better then a small bedroom with functional bath. I was able (with much hassle) to move across the road to a much better room in the adjacent JW Marriott. At a lower rate...no contest.

Business Traveller Beware!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jim9013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

Beautiful place! Great layout, the rooms were gorgeous, pools amazing!! Loved
every part of our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looking4sun09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We love Canyon Villas! We have been owners for 5 years now and every year we go. We have thought about banking or trading in our weeks but every time we stay here, we love it.

The rooms are kept in great condition. They recently upgraded some rooms with flat screens, new carpet, new upholstery and paint.

What separates this property from other time shares is the staff. The pool bar staff is outstanding. Matt and Jonalynn provide the best service and always have a smile on their faces. Matt and Jonalynn make our stay in like we are staying with family. The service at the Canyon Villas pool bar exceeds that of the JW. We stopped going to the JW pool bar about 2 years ago.

The pool is great. The property also has a mini water park for kids, quiet pool, and steam sauna. The gym was recently upgraded with new cardio equipment. Each cardio equipment now has it own TV and iPod hook up.

Front desk staff great. Grounds are kept really clean and integrated with the "desert" environment.

We always visit the Revive spa at the JW and are always happy with the level of service and professionalism. The spa has great amenities such as wet and dry sauna, indoor jacuzzi, private indoor shower, semi-private outdoor showers, private outdoor sunning area in each gender's locker room.

Towels and robes provided. Locker room attendants are quick cleaning up making the locker room immaculate. The spa pool is very relaxing and food at the Spa Bistro is really good also. We had the blackened cod and it was very tasty.

We can't imagine a year without vacationing at Canyon Villas!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexsndiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa the first week of January.
Rooms: very spacious. Kitchen - spacious, well equipped & decent counter space for working. They gave us enough paper towels, dish soap & dishwasher soap for our 5 night/6 day stay.
Living area - very good area for 2. Couch was really, really comfortable with a decent sized LCD tv.
Bathroom - great design. Tub & sink in one room with shower, sink & toilet in another. Both rooms had vanities so lots of room for toiletries.
Staff was professional & friendly. There are 4 or 5 pools with the main pool being the largest. It has a grill for drinks & snacks. Pools are all nice & each area has a few bbq/grills.
JW Marriott - villas provide a shuttle but it is an easy walk. Beautiful grounds, pools & hotel. We only went once as our pools were not busy at all during our stay.
Desert Ridge Shopping Center has some great shopping with a bit of everything there - a number of restaurants, theatre, large book store, high end stores, Ross store, Marshall's, etc. It is not very far & villas provide morning shuttle service.
We ate in our villa so cannot comment on restaurants but it looked as though there were numerous restaurants within a 2-mile radius.
The only thing I would caution about this place - it is very nice but not a resort. Grounds are well-kept but not lavish. It does not have that type of ambience. These are villas & have more of a vacation property feel about them - a higher end one though.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pignacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
505 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

We are Frog fans and stayed here for the Fiesta Bowl. We got a great deal on the Marriott web site for a 2 bedroom which easily slept the 5 of us. Of course, as renters we did not have a great view out of the window but we didn't expect much. The resort is near the JW Marriott but we didn't use the JW's facilities except my wife used the spa. The pools at the condos are nice and the location is convenient for getting around Scotsdale as well as north Phoenix. My family did a lot of shopping and my wife and I took the trail to the top of Camelback Mountain. All good. We played golf at the TPC Stadium course and at the Marriott's Faldo course. Virtually no one on the Faldo course and very good rates!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveh3Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Canyon Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Canyon Villas

Property: Marriott's Canyon Villas
Address: 5220 E Marriott Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6150 (Formerly Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#66 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Canyon Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Marriott's Canyon Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Canyon Villas Hotel Phoenix
Marriotts Canyon Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing