We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Ranked #12 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Toms River
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Beautiful hotel. This was our first trip to Arizona and the Canyon Villas was the perfect place to go. The staff was great and the property was wonderful. A big plus is access to the J.W. Marriott next door. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Canyon Villas, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, Pete! We are pleased you enjoyed your visit in May and look forward to seeing you again at Marriott's Canyon Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    200
    47
    28
    6
See reviews for
327
263
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge is an awesome place to vacation. The rooms are currently being updated, and the many pools and other activities on-site make this a very popular vacation spot! The Villas are close to a very popular shopping district with restaurants, shops, movie theater and bars.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 720MarkW720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is the second year in a row we visited the property with our Grandson and loved every minute of it! We have been owners since 2004 and are looking forward to the upcoming updates to the Villas. It was crowded during the July 4th week, but all went well.
The events staff is outstanding and Scott at the front desk is always helpful.

Room Tip: The courtyards are beautiful and this property, but the best kept secret is the "Quiet Pool&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Canyon Villas, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We really appreciate your five-star TripAdvisor review! Thank you for being a part of the Marriott Vacation Club family and we look forward to many more visits at Marriott's Canyon Villas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The property was nice and will be much better upon completion of the remodel that has just started. The common areas are very small and I am hopeful that will be changed during the remodel. The courtyard with the fire pits, BBQ grills, shuffle board and seating was very nice, but if you request to back up to that view don't complain when people use it. We had the lights turned off on us while in the middle of a game at 11 pm and we weren't even being loud. Some of the activities seemed nice but were at odd times. The crafts could be improved and weren't themed to the desert.
The gem was having the JW across the street. The JW spa was awesome, the pool was even better with the lazy river which is the only place to be in the heat of July in AZ.

Room Tip: If you are a family and want an area for the kids to run around then backing to courtyard is the pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

My husband, daughters and I stayed at this property for five nights at the end of June. We had a two bedroom villa and we loved it! We were in building 2400 and our patio overlooked the beautiful courtyard. The staff at this resort is top notch! Check-in was flawless and Shelby at the front desk was so kind, sweet, and very helpful. Her smiling face and cheery disposition is so welcoming to guest arriving. Every staff member at this resort was very friendly, they always waved or said hello. The resort property is very clean and the landscaping is very well done. The swimming pools were great and had water falls, water polo net and basketball nets for people who want to play and still lots of space for others who just wanted to swim or lounge in the pool. The location of this resort is fantastic. There is plenty of great stores and restaurants close by at Desert Ridge plaza. There are plenty of daily activities at this resort for people of all ages. There are exercise classes, informative sessions, make fun crafts, music, food the list is endless. The activities staff do a great job! The two bedroom villa was very spacious and spotless. Everything was perfect! The resort provided a relaxing yet fun vacation for my family. Can't wait to return to this beautiful resort in the future!

Room Tip: Courtyard view is very pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marb89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Canyon Villas, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We appreciate your five-star review of Marriott's Canyon Villas! Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We will share your kind words for Shelby with her leaders so she may be recognized for a job well done. Thank you again for your review and please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have stayed at Canyon Villas on a staycation for the past four years. The resort is always nicely maintained, and the units are comfortable, but a little in need of renovation (which they just started on July 5). As Marriott timeshare owners, we are very familiar with the Marriott brand of resorts, and this one stacks up against all but the very best. The best thing about this resort may be its proximity to the adjacent JW Marriott hotel. The pool area at the JW is excellent, and can be used by Canyon Villa guests with the exception of the very busiest holiday weekends. The JW also has some good restaurants. Also, close by are the Musical Instrument Museum and the Desert Ridge Shopping Mall. We always have a very nice time doing our summer staycations at this resort, and the summertime prices are very reasonable.

Room Tip: The patios on buildings 2400 and 2600 open to a nice courtyard area with BBQs, Firepits, and Shuffle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZJuliasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have stayed here 5 times and every time was an excellent vacation. The grounds are well maintained, there are several pools to choose from, fire pits, a great gym, and they have a lot of interesting and fun activities for both adults and kids. They try to accommodate your request for villa location, so check out a map on their web site or google earth for your desired location and view. Big plus: you can you the JW Desert Ridge across the street. They have a lazy river, 3 other pools and fabulous food at the pool bar. There is even a shuttle to take you over to the JW or to the nearby shopping center.

Room Tip: The 2nd floors all have covered balconies, the 3 floors mostly have slatted covers with a few villas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Canyon Villas, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your five-star review! We are pleased to hear our staff was able to accommodate the villa of your preference. Your feedback regarding an onsite restaurant will be forwarded to our management team at the resort. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again at Marriott’s Canyon Villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Canyon Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Canyon Villas

Property: Marriott's Canyon Villas
Address: 5220 E Marriott Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6150 (Formerly Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#67 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Canyon Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Canyon Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Canyon Villas Hotel Phoenix
Marriotts Canyon Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing