We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Ranked #22 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We are Marriott owners and own at this resort. We comment just yesterday, that we never grow tired of returning to this resort. Great time to come is February and March when the rest of the country is freezing. Great villas and amenities. Great to be close to the JW Marriott resort.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank travl4justus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 823 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

Great golf courses. Great pools, pool activities, food, and sun. Secluded large area in North Phoenix with walking trails and nature walks. Daily activities for adults and kids. Can use the JW Marriott facilities. Great location for other restaurants, movies, shopping, and activities. I've been going here for the last 7 years and will continue. It's a great place to go in the winter to escape the weather in the North and so much to do in every season. Can't beat it!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms for families if you're a family and quieter areas for adults. Rooms by the many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GermanTravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We spent two weeks at this resort from February 21, 2014 to March 7, 2014. One week we stayed in an efficiency room (like a large hotel room) with small refrigerator and microwave and small sink. The second week we stayed in a one bedroom unit which had a full kitchen. We are timeshare owners here and enjoy staying here. The accommodations are wonderful and the activities staff provides activities for the guests to participate in. Some of the activities included - hiking at Pinnacle Peak, water color class (fee), wine tasting, beer tasting, making salsa, making granola (fee) and different ethnic reasonable priced meals by pool area. There is a good size pool area with a lap pool and this was great as some people in our group enjoy swimming laps. Canyon Villas is located within walking distance to the J. W. Marriott which has a number of restaurants. There is plenty to do in Phoenix - plenty of golf courses - plenty of other attractions.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3100 building which was away from main pool and a quiet area - distance from main pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Canyon Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

On behalf of our entire team, we thank you for your five-star review of Marriott’s Canyon Villas! We are always happy to hear from our owners and appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful week at marriott canyon villas! Accomodation is large clean and very pleasent. Lots of parking available. Lots of gorgeous clean pools and some nice places to eat. Close to a large shopping complex, with a free shuttle service. The only thing I would say is that it is a fair drive out from the city, but this isnt always a bad thing!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Keeley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Canyon Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for the five-star review of Marriott’s Canyon Villas! Our entire team appreciates your kind words and we look forward to having you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Front desk service was excellent at check in. This is our 2nd trip here. Villa was very clean and quiet. Comfortable beds. Used the golf course. Service there was excellent. Course was in great condition. Will definitely return again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank b2buck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Canyon Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Canyon Villas! We truly appreciate your five-star review and thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. We hope you return to visit us again soon in Phoenix!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The Marriott Villas are a first-class operation but we stayed in a 1-bedroom unit that was very small with no view so it didn't really seem like a resort experience. The service was excellent and there was a nice gathering each evening for guests. But the resort is kind out of the way, with little else interesting nearby. The Desert Ridge shopping center adjoins the property but it's a quarter-mile walk and the center's main feature is a grocery store--handy for sure to buy stuff for the room and fridge. But not the kind of shopping that appeals to visitors which is found in abundance a few miles away in Scottsdale. On the other hand, if what you're after is access to luxury hotel amenities, the adjacent J. W. Marriott hotel has plenty of those.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuckwellborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Canyon Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Canyon Villas. Our team is happy to hear you enjoyed the service you received and the great nightly activities. Your feedback about your villa is also appreciated as we continually work to improve our guest experience. Thank you again for visiting us and providing your review of Marriott’s Canyon Villas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at these villas over the New Year holiday with our two kiddos and my in-laws, who had their own room. We rented a one-bedroom villa with a connecting two-queen studio for our guys. We were on the first floor and liked our walk-out balcony. The covered parking is first-come, first-serve but we never had an issue getting a spot. We were in one of the further buildings, which I liked because we were away from the noise from the pool and resort traffic.

The unit was very roomy with a nice-sized kitchen and ample dining table. We had a walk-thru bathroom and nice living area. I didn't find the rooms very worn as previous reviews stated. That said, we're not in the Marriot vacation club so I viewed it more as a regular hotel room.

We enjoyed the pool and there is a separate "mini splash pool" for little kids. I used the workout room, which was nice. One area has all cardio equipment and there is another area for weights. Our kids enjoyed the common room off the lobby with an XBox set-up. You can also rent movies and buy some quick snacks (and wine) at the little room off the lobby. Having a full kitchen and washer/dryer in the room makes travel so much easier, especially with three generations in tow.

The outdoor fire pits are nice and we went to a sponsored candy-apple making station and, later, hot dogs and brats by the fire. You're very close to the J.W. and can use its facilities and you're near so many restaurants and entertainment options (like an AMC movie theatre).

We would definitely return for the room space and convenient location in the city.

Room Tip: decide in advance if you want upper or lower level floor and then call before you get there for bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristinWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Paradise Valley
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Scottsdale
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 174 in Phoenix
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Canyon Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Canyon Villas

Address: 5220 E Marriott Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6150 (Formerly Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#66 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $225 - $592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Canyon Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Canyon Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Canyon Villas Hotel Phoenix
Marriotts Canyon Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing