We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Ranked #21 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Family of four- twin 5 year old daughters. We have stayed here for the past three years usually end of April/Beginning of May. Weather is amazing, property is well kept, staff is friendly and units are spacious. We typically get the two bedroom, top level near the play park overlooking the golf course. Love that we can use the facilities at the JW or at the Villas. The restaurants are great as well as the Albertson's across the street if you want to stock your kitchen with food. we typically have our breakfasts and lunch in the unit. BBQ's are usually available and close by.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SparkyCat_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 811 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Villas are spacious and very clean. We have just one child so the pullout sofa is great for her.

The kitchen is nicely equipped, and the grocery store is very convenient to stock up. We like the grills because they are convenient and (most important) they are very clean and well maintained.

We like that there is both a pool in the Villas complex and that you have access to the Marriott Hotel pool too. They have lots of activities for the kids at both places.

The staff is very helpful. This time my daughter and I went on a trail ride and they helped me determine which of a few choices fit with where we wanted to go.

We booked directly through the Villas website. They will ask you more than once to take a tour to discuss the ownership options but we have not ever been hassled once we firmly say no (it is just not for us because of where and when we travel that requires more choice than Marriott).

Room Tip: We always ask for "a quiet room on the second or third floor overlooking one of the golf course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForUs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice small quaint resort area. Small but very nice Golf courses surround property and easy access to the adjacent JW Marriott property with large pool with water slide Short shuttle away from large mall with lots of stores and restaurants

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I was here for a business conference at the JW Marriott next door but stayed the weekend with my wife to enjoy Phoenix. We thought the studio was a bit small for the price. We did have access to the pools at the JW Marriott next door, which we loved. Recommend, for the price, to just stay next door at the JW Marriott.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank jlvb2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just got back from a girl's trip to Phoenix. Stayed at Canyon Villas. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa. The villa was wonderful and in our opinion was not dated. The bathrooms were great especially the king bedroom one. Spacious. Kitchen was well equipped.

The best part of this property is the ability to use the JW Marriott Hotel's amenities. It is within easy walking distance or they do have shuttle. The JW hotel is fabulous!! Both properties have great pools. The Marriott's pool has a classier feel and great poolside service while the Villa's pools seemed to be a little more relaxed but people seemed to be enjoying their time there too.They have activities for families and kids. I don't know if the JW offers this. It is much more formal. The grounds are beautiful at both properties. Just a different vibe at each but good either way.

We used the spa facilities at the JW on our last day. After checking out of the Villas in the am we spent the day at the JW's pool. We showered in the spa and got ready for our flight home. The spa was beautiful. Wish we had gotten some kind of service there but didn't fit into our shopping plans.

This property is very convenient to Loop 101 and there is plenty of shopping and eating relatively nearby. Walking? would depend on your fitness level. We did not try the poolside food at the Villas but the food at JW was pretty good.

Basically it's like getting 2 resorts in one! I plan to return to this resort with my family sometime. Loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breezie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed in a 2 bedroom villa for a week. We requested a unit by the pool. We were right behind the pool and on the ground floor. It was often loud with people walking by all the time and no view whatever other than the faux boulders which surround the pool. However, that is what we asked for, so our mistake. The unit itself is roomy and the kitchen well stocked. However, the furniture and carpet is dated and I suspect not very clean. The weather was beautiful and warm and lots of bare feet which always seemed to be black on the bottom. We are big pool goers and this pool was pretty ordinary. The best part was the ability to use the wonderful pools at the JW Marriott with shuttle service. Had it not been for that, I would have been very disappointed. The staff was most pleasant. We were offered a return visit at a very low price by the Vacation Club rep but weren't interested...no hard sell which we appreciated. We understand the property is being remodeled next year. I think they should have done it this year...it is definitely time.

Room Tip: Try for a golf course view on the top floor. Rooms around the pool have no view at all and would of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blondbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our second trip to Phoenix and our first time at Canyon Villas. We had a special offer from Interval International that we took advantage of - only disappoinment was that it was only for an efficency or hotel type room. We definitely would go back to enjoy a larger room. The room was very nice however considering we didn't spend a whole lot of time in there. Loved having a coffee pot, microwave and small refrig though. We understand they are upgrading rooms in 2014 (furniture alittle dated).

The grounds are beautiful and all the staff were very helpful and informative. The pool here is very nice and good size by the main entrance. We did not try the quiet pool that was further down as while we were here it was not very busy and very few kids. Besides the bar and food was only available at this pool. Felt the prices were reasonable and they did happy hour pricing in the late afternoon. Used the workout facilities which were small but alot of great equipment.

The big plus at this Marriott is you are right next to the JW Marriott (which is largest hotel in Arizona) and a huge shopping mall. They provide shuttle service back and forth to these at no charge. Our driver 'Damian' was tremondous and helpful with all kinds of tips. The JW Marriott has an unbelievable pool area with the Lazy River where you float around in big tubes. Several nice restaurants and bars with great happy hours here. The shopping mall has alot of restaurants too.

The biggest highlight was the Grand Canyon tour with Detours which you can book through the Marriott Villas but we did it separately and got a better discount with triple A (AAA). Our tour guide 'Montana' absolutely made the trip a success. He was so informative and funny. It is a long day - 12 to 13 hours but the time passed fast because of him. Stopped at the Red Rocks in Sedona and several locations through the Grand Canyon. The sandwiches you order for lunch are amazing. This is a must if you have never done it.

Room Tip: We followed others tips and went for the third floor and by the golf course. Very quiet. Building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abbieallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Paradise Valley
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Scottsdale
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#8 of 174 in Phoenix
843 reviews
Deer Valley
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix North - Happy Valley
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Canyon Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Canyon Villas

Address: 5220 E Marriott Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6150 (Formerly Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#66 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $177 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Canyon Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marriott's Canyon Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Canyon Villas Hotel Phoenix
Marriotts Canyon Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing