We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent family resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Canyon Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Davidsonville, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent family resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Spent a week in Canyon Villas and very much enjoyed the hospitality of the resort and the staff. This is a Marriott Vacation Club timeshare resort most of the people staying here are either owners or folks that have traded in and are staying a full week. Our two-bedroom villa was clean, fully equipped and provided us a limited view of the adjacent Wildfire Golf course. At check-in you will receive a schedule of resort events for the duration of your stay - there is a good mixture of both children and adult events - we have learned to look closely at the schedule so as not to miss something that we would like to attend. The resort hosted a Monday AM event where they brought in reps from local activities to discuss services they had to offer - we found that to be very helpful. Discovered there that the Wildfire Golf course holds a week-day golf clinic at 1000 for a very reasonable fee, you get one-hour of group professional instruction for $30 and all day use of the practice range. We also booked a horseback riding outing that we thoroughly enjoyed with Western Destinations as a result of attending that session.

Several nights a weeks there are live music events in the courtyard area near the pool. We especially liked the Western music event which was held on Tuesday night.

Our party included our soon to be two-year old grandson who very much enjoyed the Children's Playground and other games on the property. Pools were heated and comfortable despite the early December time frame. Take your marshmallows since there are several fire pits for evening toasting gatherings.

Facilities at the adjacent JW Marriott are available to the Canyon Villa's residents and were excellent, we shopped and dined there but did not use the pools because the Canyon Villa pools met all our needs. Canyon Villas runs a shuttle to the JW every 30 minutes during certain hours of the day. There are also periodic trips to the nearby shopping center.

We did our food shopping at the Albertsons which is 5 minutes away in the shopping center across the street from the resort, I found that they had everything we needed and the prices were reasonable.

Overall we had a great time and plan to return.

Room Tip: We enjoyed looking out on the golf course from the second deck of building 2600 but our view was som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    180
    43
    24
    5
See reviews for
297
235
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a great property for families. The condos are well appointed and nicely furnished. Comfortable beds and nice master bath with walk in shower and huge jetted tub. There are lots of activities on property: We saw families/groups playing volleyball. The main pool has basketball nets with balls, volleyball net, and there is a giant chess/checker set, ping pong table, pool table and free air hockey table set up by the pool, all gated in. There are scheduled crafts, walks and activities, too, which we didn't do. There are multiple fire pits to sit around and enjoy a drink or smore. Also, you can catch a trolley or golf cart to take you across the street to the JW Marriott where you have access to their sprawling, fun pools. Within a mile is a huge outdoor shopping area with movie theatre, restaurants (Yard House, California Pizza Kitchen, Rock Bottom...many more) and Target and a grocery store to stock up for your condo. Be on the look out for javalinas on property. We saw a family of five at dusk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank yogimomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We traded our timeshare for a week here and it was almost fabulous.
We usually trade for a one bedroom, but they only had a studio, so that's why it was almost fabulous. The studio was clean and everywhere in the complex, the furnishings look new.
Our room overlooked the 'Italian piazza' area of the complex; lights strung over the shuffleboard/beanbag throw/fire pit/relaxation area. It was very picturesque.
We used the cardio room; they also had a strength training room as well.
Five pools and at least 1 hot tub; fire pits and incredible landscaping.
We thought we'd like to be by a pool, but we just loved the quiet of not being by any of the pools.
The location (when you look at a map) seems to be out in the middle of nowhere, but you're just a 5 minute drive from most of Scottsdale; just off Tatum, which is one of the main drags.
Everything you could need is a very short drive away.
Can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suecav2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our villa was lovely inside but you could hear the road in every room through the windows.
Standing outside the room was super noisy. We asked to be switched and told no until
the next day. The next day it was no, but if you pay the $90 fee it could be possible to move.
Marriott was clearly trying to squeeze every dime out of this place with the construction
of the building we were in. We are long time Marriott club members but would never come
here again. It was not worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank baplloans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just spent five nights at this property. The room was ok . It was a studio with small kitchen, couch and table for two. Fine for a couple. It also had a terrace. The property itself is very nice, beautiful pool with snack bar and hot tub too. I was told the property was 90% full, but it never felt crowded at the pools or grounds. The best thing about this property is that it is connected to the JW Desert Ridge next door. As a guest of Canyon Villas you have full access to the beautiful JW, their pools, spa , grounds , golf club etc. There is a shuttle that takes you back and forth also. The best thing about this place though was the service. Every single person that worked there was amazing, pleasant , helpful etc. Housekeeping was done at what ever time you requested and they treated you like a queen everywhere. My only complaint wold be that the restaurants on the grounds were expensive and not great, but there are many others close by to choose from. I also found the location to be convenient . Stores were close by, and it was a short trip to Scottsdale and various other sites. I would recommend this place, choose the larger villa if you have children, we took the time share tour which made the cost very affordable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deeg324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed in 2 bedroom villa. Very spacious living room and kitchen with all the amenities. There were items included in the kitchen that we've not seen supplied elsewhere. The main bedroom and 2nd bedroom were more than adequate and all furnishings were very nice. Dining room table sat 6 very easily.

There were more activities at this resort than we realized. Shuffleboard, bocce ball, corn hole toss, three pools (one main, one quiet pool, and a "lagoon" pool that was large but shallow for all the kids), at least three hot tubs, three firepits spreadout throughout the property, numerous gas barbeques that anyone could use, and plenty of area for a nice stroll around the property. Even though we don't have small children, there were some families there and the kids playground look really nice. The lagoon pool was ideal for kids as it was very large and the deepest was 1 1/2 feet. It had numerous spouts and a good size waterpark spouts in a side area for the kids (or adults) could run around in. In the early mornings, we saw rabbits running around on the grass.

It is not a large property in terms of number of units and all buildings are three stories with few having a golf course view so if you request a high level floor with golf course view, the chances are slim. We had a ground floor villa overlooking the lagoon and it was just fine. Even though there were kids in the pool everyday, there was not a noise problem.

There was a shuttle the left every hour for the Desert Ridge shopping center (5 minutes away) which had many restaurants, AMC movie theatre, numerous shops, etc. There was also the shuttle to JW Marriott which is a nice property but primarily an upscale hotel. Other than the lazy river area, we didn't see a need to go back for anything else.

All in all, well worth the trip and location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Spent a week in a 2 bedroom lock-off at the Canyon Villas by Marriott. First time staying at the Villas. Went for a "Girlfriends Week" and enjoyed the pool at the Villas and the lazy river at the JW Marriott next door. We had a few minor issues with villas but nothing that was not resolved quickly. I would return for another visit without hesitation. Close by to Desert Ridge which has a variety of restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendymae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Deer Valley
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix North - Happy Valley
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Canyon Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Canyon Villas

Property: Marriott's Canyon Villas
Address: 5220 E Marriott Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6150 (Formerly Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#67 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Canyon Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 504
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Canyon Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Canyon Villas Hotel Phoenix
Marriotts Canyon Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing