We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Canyon Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best service ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just spent five nights at this property. The room was ok . It was a studio with small kitchen, couch and table for two. Fine for a couple. It also had a terrace. The property itself is very nice, beautiful pool with snack bar and hot tub too. I was told the property was 90% full, but it never felt crowded at the pools or grounds. The best thing about this property is that it is connected to the JW Desert Ridge next door. As a guest of Canyon Villas you have full access to the beautiful JW, their pools, spa , grounds , golf club etc. There is a shuttle that takes you back and forth also. The best thing about this place though was the service. Every single person that worked there was amazing, pleasant , helpful etc. Housekeeping was done at what ever time you requested and they treated you like a queen everywhere. My only complaint wold be that the restaurants on the grounds were expensive and not great, but there are many others close by to choose from. I also found the location to be convenient . Stores were close by, and it was a short trip to Scottsdale and various other sites. I would recommend this place, choose the larger villa if you have children, we took the time share tour which made the cost very affordable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deeg324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    180
    43
    24
    5
See reviews for
297
235
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cameron Park, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed in 2 bedroom villa. Very spacious living room and kitchen with all the amenities. There were items included in the kitchen that we've not seen supplied elsewhere. The main bedroom and 2nd bedroom were more than adequate and all furnishings were very nice. Dining room table sat 6 very easily.

There were more activities at this resort than we realized. Shuffleboard, bocce ball, corn hole toss, three pools (one main, one quiet pool, and a "lagoon" pool that was large but shallow for all the kids), at least three hot tubs, three firepits spreadout throughout the property, numerous gas barbeques that anyone could use, and plenty of area for a nice stroll around the property. Even though we don't have small children, there were some families there and the kids playground look really nice. The lagoon pool was ideal for kids as it was very large and the deepest was 1 1/2 feet. It had numerous spouts and a good size waterpark spouts in a side area for the kids (or adults) could run around in. In the early mornings, we saw rabbits running around on the grass.

It is not a large property in terms of number of units and all buildings are three stories with few having a golf course view so if you request a high level floor with golf course view, the chances are slim. We had a ground floor villa overlooking the lagoon and it was just fine. Even though there were kids in the pool everyday, there was not a noise problem.

There was a shuttle the left every hour for the Desert Ridge shopping center (5 minutes away) which had many restaurants, AMC movie theatre, numerous shops, etc. There was also the shuttle to JW Marriott which is a nice property but primarily an upscale hotel. Other than the lazy river area, we didn't see a need to go back for anything else.

All in all, well worth the trip and location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Spent a week in a 2 bedroom lock-off at the Canyon Villas by Marriott. First time staying at the Villas. Went for a "Girlfriends Week" and enjoyed the pool at the Villas and the lazy river at the JW Marriott next door. We had a few minor issues with villas but nothing that was not resolved quickly. I would return for another visit without hesitation. Close by to Desert Ridge which has a variety of restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendymae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewlett, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

As a timeshare owner we stayed there for 6 nites with friends that are also owners. The property is well maintained and the location was great. The rooms are typical of all the Marriott time shares, close your eyes when your in bed and you can be in Aruba time share. My biggest (and only complaint) was that my check in requests were not completed. Not only did I fill in online the request sheet sent to me, when I was called by Marriott(soliciting me for more time share seminars), I requested to be with my friends. When we got there, it was like talking a foreign language. They had no requests in their system to be with the other family, no early check in request, and i had asked not to be near the kiddie pool or park. So when our room was finally ready, and we were at least put in the same building as our friends, we got to our room only to have to wait outside, because housekeeping was still cleaning. Hello? Does anyone communicate here? Besides that, everything is nice, Rachel the concierge was extremely helpful and knowledge about the area and restaurants. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl2425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed at the canyon villas for 6 nights on a sister trip. Having stayed at many timeshare villas over the years these villas are nothing spectacular. The grounds are well kept as are the adjoining hotel which you have access to during your stay.Stayed in a one bedroom unit which was not overly large if you had more than 2 people in it. Furniture was extremely outdated and uncomfortable,but unit was clean and had all the basic amenities. stayed in a second floor unit facing the golf course but view would be better on 3rd floor to see mountains which were beautiful.Used lazy river and pools at JW marriott next door pools are great temp. but poolside service was very slow.Food and drinks poolside are priced the same as other places steep!.Ate dinner at tuscany on property food and service were fantastic! The resort is within moments of the marketplace shopping mall an outdoor open air shopping center with many stores to choose from for great shopping and an albertsons grocery as well for stocking up your unit with snacks etc. A short 15 min drive gets you to another huge shoppping plaza and many choice restaurants

overall the resort is nothing special but great location and certainly would stay there again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor units fcing gold course will get you great view of mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maddogcrabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
341 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Once again we stayed here for 10 days...we are owners here and at several other Marriott TS locations... this one is tops...great location and excellent service. It's a plus that the J.W Marriott is right next door. You ill be pleased.

Room Tip: Overlooking the golf course is our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonVoyage555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here for a convention over at the nearby JW Marriott Desert Inn. Great little suite with a kitchenette and nice patio. Staff was friendly and the shuttle service over to the Desert Inn was punctual. Would have been nice to have a bar/lounge onsite and larger gym but this was a quiet out of the way place so they probably designed it that way. If you want more action stay at the Desert Inn. If you want quiet and out of the way this is great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank El_Yeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Deer Valley
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix North - Happy Valley
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Canyon Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Canyon Villas

Property: Marriott's Canyon Villas
Address: 5220 E Marriott Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6150 (Formerly Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#67 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Canyon Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 504
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Marriott's Canyon Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Canyon Villas Hotel Phoenix
Marriotts Canyon Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing