We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“excellent property and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Canyon Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Ranked #11 of 173 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
349 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“excellent property and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We are owners here and elsewhere...we like this property the best...wonderful ambiance. excellent service. Management is available and on top of things. we go here very year for a month in the spring and again for 10 days in October. Will continue to do so.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonVoyage555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    193
    46
    27
    6
See reviews for
322
255
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuck in MA
Level Contributor
271 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Top notch condos - Clean well furnished. Has full kitchen / washer / dryers - it's for time share owners after all. There were multiple pool areas plus a bocce court. Handy shop to purchase small items since stores are a bit far away. Free shuttle to the main Desert Ridge hotel where there are great pools.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BixUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio USA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Canyon Villas is a great vacation experience. The condos are wonderful and the facilities are marvelous. Staff was ver helpful and friendly. The only flaw is with the shuttle that runs between Canyon Villas and the J.W. Marriott hotel (which is also great). The problem is that, while there is a published schedule for shuttle runs to and from the hotel, the shuttles are not reliable about half the time. They sometimes leave early (which means that, if you show up right on time, you end up waiting for 30 minutes for the next one). Even more frustrating is that, on occasion, they don' T show up at the hotel at all. This has happened twice just for me, so I'm sure I have not been the only "victim" of this. A staff member told me that there have been some changes in the way the shuttle system is run, and it's obviously not a change for the better. If they can figure out how to solve this frustrating problem, Canyon Villas would truly be a perfect vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curley6710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
249 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 497 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

The Marriott Canyon Villas is located about 21 miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport and minutes away from Scottsdale and downtown Phoenix. The resort features studio, one and two bedroom units, plenty of amenities & activities, many nearby restaurants, priviledged access to the amenities of the neighboring J.W. Marriott resort, free parking and complimentary in-room wireless internet.

Ours was a three generation family vacation. Our two-bedroom, air-conditioned villa (2901 & 2902) was made up of a one bedroom unit with an adjoining studio unit. We arrived at 1:30 p.m. and were given access to the studio side only, as the one bedroom unit was still being readied. Full access did not come until after 4:30 p.m.. The studio was size of an average hotel room and was furnished with a king size bed and a pull-out sofa and table in the sitting area. The kitchenette included a small refrigerator, microwave oven, small sink, coffee maker, toaster and was furnished with dinnerware for two persons. The one-bedroom unit was nicely furnished and included a washer/dryer, full kitchen with oven, all basic appliances, cookware and dinnerware for six persons. There were two minor maintenance issues (no signal on one of the televisions and an unworkable safe); both of which were resolved within 15 minutes of our phone call.

The resort offers two types of maid service: a "full clean" and a "tidy clean." There is a charge for both services if you are staying on a timeshare ownership or exchange. One "tidy clean" service is included if you are paying a nightly rate. This was the first Marriott timeshare resort we have stayed at that did not include at least one mid-week "tidy clean" service for timeshare owners/exchangers.

Resort amenities at the M.C.V. include serveral swimming pools, including a lap and chilren's pool, spas, fitness center, steam rooms, pool tables, children's playground, barbeque grills, fire pits, mini-market, restaurant (bar & grill) and activities desk (scheduled activities for all ages occur throughout the day).

Amenities at the neighboring J.W. Marriott include golf (two courses) several restaurants & lounge, nature & preserve trails, tennis courts, and four acres of waterways including swimming pools, whirlpools and a "lazy river". It should be noted that access to the J.W. Marriott pools may be restricted for M.C.V. guests if the occupancy rate on the "J.W." side is at or near capacity. A free shuttle bus operates between the two resorts on a regular schedule.

The M.C.V. is just a short drive away from numerous restaurants, a large grocery store (Albertson's is less than a mile away; Costco is about five miles away), movie theater and cultural landmarks. The Desert Ridge Market Place (less than two miles) is a premier shopping, dining and entertainment destination.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the M.C.V. and highly recommend the resort for families and couples alike.

Disclaimer: We are multiple week, Marriott timeshare owners (Shadow Ridge - Palm Desert, CA and Maui Ocean Club - Maui, HI) and have stayed at eight different Marriott timeshare properties.

Room Tip: Buildings 3200 & 3300 for children's pool, buildings 2700 & 2800 for close proximity to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sceneisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

We are owners in Orlando and decided to try Arizona for the first time. Our friends own at this location and suggested it for us. We were not disappointed at all! As usual, Marriott always shines as a leader in resort property. We did arrive early that day (check in at 4:00 p.m.) but they took our cell phone # and we went across the street to the J.W. Marriott property so our son could enjoy the lazy river. Our room was ready promptly at 4:00 p.m. Check-in was a breeze as usual - very friendly staff and concierge has lots of information on local happenings.

We were in a studio which we felt was rather small compared to other studios we've stayed in but nonetheless very impressive: sink, microwave and min-fridge. Enough to store pop, chips, lunch meat, bread etc for breakfast and lunch meals. We went out for dinner each night at the nearby Desert Ridge Shopping area.

The resort was beautiful - pool area spectacular and clean. We spent a few relaxing days at the pool and our 11 year old son made some great friends while there! Food at the pool was pretty good and priced right. Drinks were wonderful as well.

The location of the resort was close to the highways and best of all was the Desert Ridge shopping area just a few blocks away: Albertsons (grocery), Target, Kohls, Old Navy, AMC Movie Theatre just to name a few. Restaurants galore: Mimi's Cafe, Wolfley's, Rock Bottom, California Pizza Kitchen, In & Out Burger, Dave & Buster's...too many to mention. Nice place to take the family at night to walk around-beautiful outdoor setting with food/ice cream shops. Live entertainment on Friday nights.

Be sure to use the coupon book Marriott gives you - discounts at many local restaurants.

Room Tip: We were in Building 3200 which overlooked Lizard Lagoon (for toddlers) but the farthest away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

This was my second stay in 4 months. In addition to the pools on location, Marriott gives you access to the JW Desert Ridge pools and lazy river as it has a free shuttle every hour. Great value through the selling of inventory time share weeks.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

As a Marriott timeshare owner (Monarch on Hilton Head Island, S.C.), I didn't think we'd be disappointed at Canyon Villas. And I was right -- we loved it. The villas are spacious, well laid out and very clean when we arrived. I'm not sure there's a "bad" villa location since the complex is well kept all over and not as large as some we have visited. It just depends on what is important to you -- golf course view, right by the pool, quiet area, etc. It's any easy walk from most any villa to any one of the pools. Main pool area with waterfall, by the way, is very nice! Plenty of chairs/towels, with even quite a few chairs in the shade for those that aren't "sunworshipers". Plenty to do even around the perimeter of the pool (foosball, table tennis, snack bar, etc.) if you get tired of sunbathing or swimming. Staff was excellent -- very friendly and helpful. Shuttle left every half hour to the main JW Marriott hotel that is adjacent to Canyon Villas. You have full access to the hotel and facilities staying at the Canyon Villas. And what a beautiful place it is. Many pools, lazy river, restaurants, entertainment, etc. Back to the shuttle, it leaves every hour for the shopping center/restaurants, movie theater -- about a 4-minute ride from the Villas. So if you didn't plan on doing a lot of sightseeing in the Phoenix area and just want to relax, you could get by without a car by using the shuttle or sign up for one of the many tours the Villa offers. Also, the golf course is right there with shuttle service to that also. Several mornings complimentary "get togethers" are offered in the Main Reception area, e.g., coffee/doughnuts one morning to acquaint you with the area/tours; cereal breakfast another; fruit another; salsa tasting in the p.m., etc. All in all, a delightful place to stay with lots to see and do -- or do nothing but look at the beautiful scenery and enjoy the complex. What a great stay -- no complaints whatsoever. Going back next year!

Room Tip: (See above review.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margie R.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Deer Valley
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix North - Happy Valley
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 76 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Canyon Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Canyon Villas

Property: Marriott's Canyon Villas
Address: 5220 E Marriott Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6150 (Formerly Marriott's Canyon Villas at Desert Ridge)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#13 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#67 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Canyon Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Marriott's Canyon Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Canyon Villas Hotel Phoenix
Marriotts Canyon Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing