We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Municipal Golf Course”
Review of Papago Golf Course

Papago Golf Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Affordable municipal golf course provides tree-lined, rolling fairways - atypical for the majority of desert courses in the area.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Municipal Golf Course”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Great course for a reasonable price. Staff helpful. Able to walk the course w/ full fairways and well kept greens.. When we visited sand not available on carts since staff personnel were walking the fairways and filling in divots. Highly recommended as must play along w/ all the other resort type courses in the area. Small snack restaurant and small golf shop located in a trailer.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank saint5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    29
    12
    0
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go again”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

As Abe Lincoln once advised "if you can't say anything good then say nothing". There are much better options to spend 4 hours.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Long Lush Fairways”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Long lush fairways - you can practice all the long drives you want. Was a little strange that my twosome was paired with another twosome and they walked the course and we had a cart.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RidingAlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBay, ON
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Solid Test for All Handicappers”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I’ve played this course twice now and I really like this course. It is set at the base of the Papago Buttes and the scenery is really quite nice. On some holes, you can actually see people hiking up the butte. The course has been in excellent shape each time we played. The greens can be challenging. The fact that it is a municipal course makes it even better. The pro shop is spartan, but then you're spending most of your time on the course, so who cares. It is a fair test for golfers of all handicaps and I feel it is good value (or great value if you go when the green fees drop)...definitely worth checking out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank buddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great golf experience...”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

our first course to play in Scottsdale. Not a great welcome from the pro shop staff, very disinterested person. We were paired with a great couple from Phoeniz who played it alot. They were great. Good course, forgiving for the driving game. Course was in very nice shape, but was hosting the city championship that day, so it was back up in spots, hence the 5 hour round. A definite play in Scottsdale. A true test for a desert course.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank amtiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papago Golf Course also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Papago Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing