We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Outdoor Concert is fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phoenix Symphony

Phoenix Symphony
Ranked #41 of 220 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Surprise
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outdoor Concert is fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Loved the music, loved the venue and loved the entire experience. Even arrange an eclipse of the sun for us :)

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    21
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, AZ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Hear Music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Phoenix Symphony Hall is a great venue for music. We have been attending performances here for many years. The symphony plays much of the traditional classical music that audiences appreciate with an occasional new composition. The pops performances have been very entertaining through the years.

While there are many good seats in the hall we would recommend not sitting under the balcony where the music does not seem to acoustically travel.

The prices for performances for the Phoenix Symphony are very reasonable compared to other cities.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank azkremer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Act like a "High-Brow"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

What an amazing night. Born and raised in Arizona I looked forward with anticipation to a performance by the Phoenix Symphony as they gave an Arizona Tribute. It was awe inspiring watching resident conductor Joseph Young direct with such passion. A bonus was hearing Rex Allen, Jr. sing legendary western ballads, share stories from yesteryear and tell about his famous father. Listening to the theme songs from "The Lone Ranger", "Bonanza" and "How the West Was Won" had us all humming and tapping our toes in our seats. What a great group of musicians. They gave a flawless performance. It's hard to act like a "high-brow" listening to these amazing artists. Their energy is contagious.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JWArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Easy to find, park, listen...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great hall that seats about 2500. Easy to find downtown. Parking was easy to find. Had a great bar meal nearby and walked to the hall. The hosts are volunteers, and they were very enthusiastic and helpful; they made our visit. The lobby has coffee/pastry and liquor bars. The seating is easy to get to. While the acoustics were were good, the sound guys were morons, forgetting to turn on mic's several times, or turn them off during the performance, causing annoying feed back in one number. I expected better sound engineering. However, it is a nice hall with nice people and we will go back. The event prices are generally quite good and it is a very nice evening out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gustav Holst's "The Planets"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Fran & I really enjoyed the ASU private reception where we learned about planets from an expert on planetary science Kip Hodges from ASU's School of Earth & Space Exploration and then learned the story behind the music of Gustav Holst's most popular composition, "The Planets" by Phoenix Symphony Principal Timpanist Bruce Polk. The performances were quite good and I loved the video provided by NASA that was timed with each of the seven pieces from the Planets. The facility is magnificent!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ASUParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix Symphony also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Phoenix Symphony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing