We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, fun, uber hip but informal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel and Spa
Ranked #17 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed for New Years Eve and had a great time. The hotel is v stylish; the decor might not be to everyone's taste (although I loved it) but at least it's unique. The staff on the desk cam across as a little too cool for school on occasion but they were perfectly friendly and helpful. The little extras are great - free snacks and coke after 10pm. The rooms we had was one that hadn't been refurbished yet judging by the bathroom, which was very clean, but a little worn, but overall the quirky decor, cleanliness and funky blinds (plus a massive plasma TV with loads of channels!) were great, and the bed was divine - they use some special orthopaedic mattress I think. Really cool sound machine alarm clock too. We tried the mexican food downstairs and it was yummy. Overall, enjoyed our stay very much and when the hotel gets done up all over I bet it will be even better.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bircharama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,229 - 1,235 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2011

We were very pleased to arrive at the Clarendon after a long drive from San Diego and felt very welcomed by the friendly receptionist. The Clarendon is a breath of fresh air from chain hotels and the little touches of an independent hotel were much appreciated (such as Aveda toiletries and a real hairdryer!). The $15 "resort fee" is great value, and includes a free evening snack bar (much appreciated after our long trip!) as well as wi-fi and free local and international calls. We loved being able to call our family in Australia without worrying about the cost.

The only downside to our stay was that our room seemed to be quite noisy, including the window rattling in it's frame throughout the night, which woke me up a few times. I was too tired to follow this up at the time.

The pool area and rooftop deck looked great, and it was a shame we didn't have the opportunity to use these on our short stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lu_and_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

The Clarendon is a great facility in a great location. There are no facilities in this part of Phoenix that rival it. Their service from beginning to end is top-notch and should be a destination for out of town guests or Phoenicians looking for a staycation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasonpff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

My husband booked the hotel via the internet because it lloked like a beautiful, trendy hotel. Although the hotel looked great on-line, in person it looked run down and dingy. The area in downtown where the hotel is located is also not the best area. We ended up cancelling our reservation and booking another hotel in Scottsdale. I wish the hotel looked as good in person as it did on its website!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank travel12389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2010

This hotel was an oasis of excellence in a long cross-country trip punctuated by mediocre to disgusting overnight stays. The Clarendon stood out from the crowd so distinctly that we stayed an extra day in Phoenix just to savor all the amenities of this boutique hotel.

At first the service fee hit me in the face, but you get a LOT for it. Free parking, snack bar, turn down, free internet, bottled water, and on and on. You'd spend more than the service fee for even half of what it includes. Go for it! A good many hotels hit you with, "Oh by the way, parking is $XX a night" - and every little thing adds to the bill. Not at the Clarendon.

Best night's stay on the whole trip - best value, too.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Downsouthdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

I found the Clarendon to be a wonderful hotel for business or leisure. The suites are beautiful, and the beds are the best! Never slept so well!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanjane_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

I JUST ADORE THIS PLACE!!! I live in the city and it's still a great place to go have drinks, lounge by the pool, or hang out on the rooftop and listen to good music. Couldnt be better :)

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessicanne08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 174 in Phoenix
490 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#7 of 174 in Phoenix
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#25 of 174 in Phoenix
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel and Spa

Address: 401 W Clarendon Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85013-3411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#26 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#46 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $119 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon Hotel and Spa is located in the heart of Phoenix, close to the convention center, museums, parks, shopping, theaters, sports venues and concert halls. Walking distance to two Metro rail stations - $4 for a 24 hour pass, the system runs 24 hours (except 1am to 4am Monday through Thursday) and provides direct access to the Phoenix Sky Harbor airport SkyTrain. Full service spa on site. El Techo, our gorgeous rooftop SkyDeck overlooking the city skyline and surrounding mountain ranges, and the Oasis pool area with heated pool and jacuzzi and the world's largest outdoor water wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing