We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Food; Life, Lounge; People, Pool; Cool, Caliente!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel and Spa
Ranked #17 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2010

This is flat out one of the most fun "hotels" I've ever stayed in. I put "hotel" in quotes because it is more like funky throw-back route 66 hotel meets dance club meets resort meets see and be seen knosh spot. The rooms aren't fancy, per se, but who cares? The are cool and quirky. The staff is as friendly as can be and ready to party, or aid in your having a good time. And with a great restaurant and bar, having a good time is easy to do! The best thing....they have very few hang-ups. Want to take your food up to the roof-tip terrace? Fine. Want to take your cocktail to the pool? Fine...just let us put it in a plastic cup for you.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,254 - 1,260 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2010

When we travel to Phoenix my colleagues and I always look forward to staying at the Clarendon. The friendly staff, the pool, the delicious food in the restaurant, and the fun rooms make us feel like we're on vacation even though we're at work.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregorypeebles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Lovely. Good food downstairs, beautiful pool, and easy to get to and from.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winning415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

The Clarendon is a gem in the desert of Arizona. From the outside, it's unassuming and blasé. But once you're inside, it's a mecca of hip but relaxed comfort, food and ambiance. The staff is amazing and the accommodations are pristine. Large suites, great views from the rooftop patio, and amazing cuisine in the Gallo Blanco Restaurant make this a perfect place to either unwind or conduct business with important clients. We stop in every year.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjonesnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

At just under $140 per night, it was about 30% more expensive than the Radisson around the corner but did not present itself nearly as well. Although I called ahead and requested an earlier check-in, I had to wait 45 minutes for the room to be readied and did not get in until 2:30. When I entered the room, the maid was still finishing. It was obvious she had not vacuumed. I picked up four different pieces of garbage from the desk, coffee table and floor. Amazingly, the maid came back twice between mid-afternoon and bedtime to remake the bed! Why I have no idea. I'd rather she had vacuumed! lol
The carpets in the foyer and elsewhere show signs of wear (a lot of staining) and sections of the exterior have paint peeling off the surfaces. The roof deck needs a barrier to block the view of the mechanicals that cover the non-decked area. (The Saturday morning yoga class on the roof did not happen.)
The independently run restaurant serves better than average food but unfortunately doesn't open for breakfast until 8 which is late for those of us catching an early flight.
Front desk staff didn't seem to know the area and directed us to a coffee shop far from the hotel when in fact two other outlets of the same chain were closer. A friend left a message on the telephone in my room but the phone gave no indication (flashing light) that it was there, and to the best of my knowledge it wasn't.
Don't get me wrong. I was basically satisfied with my stay, but the impression the hotel leaves is that it is trying to be hip/different but just doesn't have the money to keep up with the wear and tear. The owner needs to ensure the basics are in place before dreaming of building the spa that is talked about as coming in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHXBen, Owner at The Clarendon Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2010

Thank you so much for your review... I am glad that I have the opportunity to respond.

Regarding the other property down the street that you mention - our rates are a bit higher, but that other property has one of the busiest adult bookstores in the city across from the lobby and visible from half the guestrooms.

On the early check-in, we have no problems at all with early check-ins as long as we have your room type clean and inspected and ready. With six room types, even at 50% occupancy, it's sometimes hard to have your room type ready prior to 3pm. And lately, our occupancy has been over 90% frequently lately, so we're always rushing to make sure that we have as many rooms clean as possible by check-in. Sorry that we couldn't accommodate your early check-in when you arrived - we really do try to make it happen, but sometimes it is just very, very difficult.

Good news - all of the carpets in the public areas, lobby, hallways, meeting rooms, gyms, offices, rooftop and some guest rooms will be replaced in November! We're excited about this, and do use Flor - making us the only hotel in Arizona and one of the few in the US to have antibacterial, antimicrobial flooring that's also carbon-negative!

We are also creating some barriers to block the view of the new a/c units on the rooftop, but don't want to obstruct the awesome view of the surrounding mountains, skyline, etc... so remember, look at those, not the rooftops nearby! ;-)

We are also working on the following things in the very near future: new entrance canopy, new signage, and great improvements to the rooftop and lobby and guestrooms - many of these will be done by December, so when you come back you'll see some great changes. Keep in mind that we're owned/operated by friends and family, we're local, and we're just coming out of the worst hotel recession since the 1930s - it's been rough, we've made it, and we're getting everything back in ship-shape order. I appreciate your patience while we've been getting there and look forward to having you as a guest of The Clarendon again soon!

Sincerely,
Ben Bethel
Owner/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

look good on that place hotel ,I never see that place when I walked down and saw what's that building until I see it with signal said " the clarendon hotel" I decided to enter into a hotel building its entire look so beautiful i cant believe that I love it I slept very well I am very satisfacted guaranteed!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chadsw1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

I stayed here one night with a friend who was visiting on business from Canada. She was very concerned about bedbugs and asked several times about them (she'd just come from a trip to NYC). The staff was wonderful in handling her concerns---in fact, she learned that the owner of the hotel's MOTHER had just come on staff to head up HOUSEKEEPING in order to really caretake this and any other potential housekeeping problem.

Now, how often does THAT happen?

We had a very enjoyable stay at this lively, interesting, friendly hotel. There is a little bit of magic here---people are all "working right." Thank you for the comfort and convenience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mh999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 174 in Phoenix
506 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Paradise Valley
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#7 of 174 in Phoenix
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel and Spa

Address: 401 W Clarendon Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85013-3411
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#20 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#46 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $107 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon Hotel and Spa is located in the heart of Phoenix, close to the convention center, museums, parks, shopping, theaters, sports venues and concert halls. Walking distance to two Metro rail stations - $4 for a 24 hour pass, the system runs 24 hours (except 1am to 4am Monday through Thursday) and provides direct access to the Phoenix Sky Harbor airport SkyTrain. Full service spa on site. El Techo, our gorgeous rooftop SkyDeck overlooking the city skyline and surrounding mountain ranges, and the Oasis pool area with heated pool and jacuzzi and the world's largest outdoor water wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing