We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eclectic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel and Spa
Ranked #16 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Eclectic”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is, up on close observation, an old hotel. In fact it has some history (the mob killed a reporter in the parking lot back in the 70s). But, they have done a great job to really spruce this thing up, both inside and out. And they offer a few nice amenities, like free water, free candy at the front desk. The pool and spa are updated and quite nice. The attached, independent restaurant was quite nice, for both breakfast and lunch. Hotel staff was very friendly.

I checked out and realized later that I had left my tablet in the room. No problem. They found it and shipped it back to me.

I'd stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    303
    114
    62
    40
See reviews for
156
392
134
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mont Belvieu, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed 3 nights here with my family and overall, I felt is was a good place. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are kept very clean and the hotel is quiet, even with a bunch of people down in the pool. There is a restaurant by the hotel and plenty of other places to eat nearby.
The only drawback I found was that the beds were too soft for my tastes. I felt like I was sleeping on an incline, but nevertheless, I got plenty of sleep while I was there. If you like soft beds, then you'll have no problems here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emale73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This place was a great deal for what it was. Most hotels are trying to take your money at every turn. This place was trying to give you something free. It was stylish, Laid back, Clean and accommodating this place has everything you need including bikes you can borrow for free.
We really got the feel that they were trying to go above and beyond for us which is nice for a change.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

My husband and I started out our week vacation in Phoenix at the Clarendon and it was a very enjoyable experience. We were originally only booked for one night, but we both liked it so much, we decided to stay another night. This hotel has a very funky, retro vibe and was very affordable. The staff was very friendly and courteous. The resort fee was justifiable as the front desk provided many amenities (bottled water, soda, snacks, etc.) and I loved the fact that our room had a mini Keurig! The location was great too and it was only about a 20 minute drive to wherever we wanted to go when we were staying in the city. I would definitely recommend the Clarendon to anyone who is staying in Phoenix.

Green Features: The environmentally friendly practices at the Clarendon were great! I liked that many of the materials are re-used along with energy efficient lighting and water fixtures.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We spent only one night at this hotel, but they give you a full 24-hour stay from the time you check in. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. We especially enjoyed dealing with Hattie, who had called us the day before we arrived to welcome us and to see if we had any special requests. Our room was lovely and had a very comfortable bed. There is a great pool and huge spa to enjoy during your stay. The hotel also houses the Gallo Blanco Restaurant. We ate there for dinner and also breakfast. The food is Mexican but has an unusual twist. You will have to try it to experience the difference. There is a reasonable "incidentials" charge, but it covers parking, wi-fi, unlimited snacks and bottled water. The hotel does seem to attract younger guests, so if you are not looking for a lively place to spend time, you might not enjoy it here. We will certainly stay here again when we head to Phoenix.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GigiAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
182 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is like a small European hotel. there's nothing pretentious about it, and there's a lot to like about it. It's easy. Reception is two steps inside. The elevators are another two steps from reception. Rooms are ample even if they feel a bit dated they are still a bit funky and fun. Bed was very comfortable. The pool area is like an oasis. Small hotels like this one almost never have a pool area that seems fun, clean and inviting. On a nice day (when it's not too hot - or late in the day just in time for sunset, go to the roof terrace for a beautiful outdoor place with views galore and a breeze. And I saved the best for last: the restaurant: Gallo Blanco is excellent and prices are reasonable. The night we ate dinner there we also saw a fantastic live flamenco performance. And the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakeDVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Be forewarned of this property. This is an older hotel that has been rebranded and went under a cheap renovation job. Do not get a room that faces the pool! The windows are old and thin and the noise from the pool area is overwhelming. The place needs a major, real, overhaul and cleaning! They also put tons of potpourri in the room to mask some unknown odor. There is also a $20 “resort fee” which seems excessive for what is offered. The workout room, if you can call it that, is small, old, and dirty. The bar staff is not overly friendly and drinks are expensive, however, in this part of town, it’s the only choice you have.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the pool!
See more room tips
Green Features: With those old windows, they can't be realy environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyWink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara S, Manager at The Clarendon Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and we apologize your stay did not exceed your expectations. We're planning a lot of enhancements coming this summer, including windows being replaced, a new front entrance and updates to our fitness center. Our $20 hotel service fee is generally considered a tremendous value, it currently includes unlimited (international included) calling, wifi, parking, unlimited snacks, soda and bottled water and a training session at UltraFit Bootcamp.

We welcome the opportunity to show you our improvements on your next visit to Phoenix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#2 of 174 in Phoenix
403 reviews
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#6 of 174 in Phoenix
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel and Spa

Property: The Clarendon Hotel and Spa
Address: 401 W Clarendon Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85013-3411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#26 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#46 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon Hotel and Spa is located in the heart of Phoenix, close to the convention center, museums, parks, shopping, theaters, sports venues and concert halls. Walking distance to two Metro rail stations - $4 for a 24 hour pass, the system runs 24 hours (except 1am to 4am Monday through Thursday) and provides direct access to the Phoenix Sky Harbor airport SkyTrain. Full service spa on site. El Techo, our gorgeous rooftop SkyDeck overlooking the city skyline and surrounding mountain ranges, and the Oasis pool area with heated pool and jacuzzi and the world's largest outdoor water wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing