We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Hip Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel and Spa
Ranked #17 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Vacaville, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool Hip Hotel”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

What a great hotel. An upgraded cool and hip hotel. Great old hotel refurbished with an excellent staff. The restaurant was awesome. The pool area was very relaxing. The art deco made you feel like you were stepping back in time. Reminded me of going to Phoenix in the 60's but with all upgraded features. You can tell that the owners have put their heart and soul into this hotel and restaurant. A must stay when you are in the Phoenix area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    310
    117
    63
    41
See reviews for
161
400
134
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Well maybe their is something wrong with me but I can honestly say I was looking very forward to our night here. I am so disappointed Our room smells Musky and there is a wedding party here so its extra nosey .. Size of room is great but for over $300 bucks a night!!! Im totally disappointed . Going to take alot of cocktails at the roof top to to get over this not to mention the location is seedy and just plain UGLY. I will state that I just came from Sedona so maybe Im suffering from culture shock...
Check in was a breeze and the staff is helpful..
Buyer Beware.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ltyner_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, Owner at The Clarendon Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hello - I'm currently on a vacation but monitor our reviews as often as possible and saw this review. I'd like to find out more information about your stay, and I will take corrective action with my staff to try to prevent these issues from happening in the future. I'm really concerned over any noise issues, and any issues where there are complaints about how a room smells... that's something that all hotel owners and general managers have to deal with on a daily basis, and only daily random inspections of rooms can guarantee that rooms meet my standards. I'm sorry that you encountered these issues... my goal is to ensure that you enjoy every moment of your stay, from the time that you check in until the time that you check out. Regarding the cost of the room, this could have been at a time when rates were just high everywhere downtown... we always have the best rates for the hotels in our comp set, and we include a lot of things in our rate that other hotels would add to their rates. I'd love to have the opportunity to make sure that you're satisfied!

Sincerely,
Ben Bethel
Owner and General Manager
The Clarendon Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our experience at the Clarendon was exceptional. Staff was amazingly helpful. They recommended several options for dinner and nightlife one of which was the hotel restaurant, Gallo Blanco. Food there was phenomenal. Highly recommend. Location was perfect right in midtown. The rooms were nice, clean and had great décor. Our 4 year old had the most fun at the pool which was one of the best amenities. All around a great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

While this place is in what they call Midtown, you walk in and immediately know you are going to like the place. The rooms were big, however, they do need to do a little maintenance to their ceilings, it's just age. Their employees there are the best and especially the ones @ their restaurant. Speaking of the restaurant, the food totally rocked! Love it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starjem66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My brand-spankin new husband and I stayed at the Clarendon for two nights in early October as we were in town to see The Lumineers at Comerica Theatre two days after our wedding. We'd never been to Phoenix before as adults and honestly found the hotel by searching for Groupons in the Phoenix/Scottsdale area. After visiting Trip Advisor to check out photos and reviews, we purchased the deal immediately.

The Clarendon reminded me a lot of a bigger-scale bed&breakfast. Though I know little to nothing about the hotel's history, it was evident from the start that the hotel is a labor of love. Upon our arrival, the staff was nothing but friendly and accommodating (and helpful with suggestions as we knew nothing about the area). The decor was intriguing, the lighting was flattering, the atmosphere was hip and eclectic but never intimidating, and the grounds were well kept and fresh. The restaurant has a lengthy happy hour (+) and what we tried off the menu, both food and drinks, were great (++). The room was ginormous, the artwork was cool, AND they stocked Philosophy products, which is pretty much every girl's dream. The pool was clean, cool, and the patrons at the hotel were nothing but pleasant and fun to converse with. The spa was a great temperature for the 95 degree weather and was open late (+++).

As far as 'cons' go, I truly can't think of anything really negative that stood out. Do I wish the rooftop bar had been open? - YES, because it would have been fabulous. But would I fault the hotel for this? Nope. The neighborhood around the hotel kind of confused me (industrial? suburb? just plain quiet?), but the walk to the metro was pleasant and not long.

In the end, the hotel was everything we wanted and hoped it would be. Thanks for a wonderful stay, beautiful people.

-H

Room Tip: Upon check-in we were offered a $20 upgrade and took it. Not sure how this upgraded room compared to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaylorplusHannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

After years of hearing about it in travel shows and from other travelers, and after meeting the adorable sales director Mackenzie, I finally made a trip to Phoenix just to see the hotel, and to visit a friend who just recently moved there. The Clarendon is wonderful! Off Central Ave, it is a short drive to the rest of downtown Phoenix, the US Airways Center, Chase Field and the Convention Center, as well as to the Biltmore/Camelback financial center. Front desk is very welcoming with its young attractive staff (Jesus could use a few more smiles), check in is fast and informative, teling you about the restaurant, pool, spa and offering welcome snacks which you can ask for free anytime from the front desk which other hotels would normally charge $3-$10 for!
The hotel has 3 floors of rooms and a rooftop, which thankfully was already finished construction when I went there just recently based on previous reviews.
I got a one bedroom suite! It was very spacious, had a living room separate from the bedroom which was also huge! I love the bright colors in the room and in the hotel that gave it its artsy, hipster, funky vibe. The artwork is mounted on a slide and doubles as a sunshade during the morning hours in the bright Arizona desert sun-very functional! The room had a see through fridge, granite countertop bar, a Keurig coffeemaker, huge flat screen TVs and a huge amenity basket when you can buy wine, sunscreen, a Tshirt, electronic cigarette, olive oil(?), a scorpion lollipop, etc. Inside the bedroom, the bed and pillows are comfortable, air condition is right on (and completely necessary), has a huge closet with blowdryer and ironing board, robes, another huge TV and lots of mirrors! The only thing I would ask for is counterspace! The bathroom, though adequate, is disproportionately small to the rest of the room. However, my trip did not suffer because of it. Their soap, shampoo and conditioner are on dispensers, another environmentally conscious choice. The rooms look out into the central courtyard where the pool is, which is the nerve center of the hotel. The pool is huge and the jacuzzi can hold 20-30 people, a fabulous idea! There are cabanas for rent and there is a small indoor pool bar. I think it would be better if the bar was outside and there will be more people inclined to buy a drink if it were. However, the bar tender was super nice and friendly but not very intrusive nor do you feel under pressure to order. A design flaw is having wet bikinied guests have to go through the lobby to take the elevator to the rooms, maybe its also a decided advantage to provide restaurant patrons something to ogle at while waiting for their tables-the hotel has a decidedly young and attractive clientele, gay friendly but not a turn off for families who mix in just as well. Another design suggestion would be to enlarge the lobby of the hotel. As it is now, there are glass walls that separate it from their busy restaurant the Gallo Blanco. If those walls were torn out, the lobby and the waiting area for the restaurant would be one, offering a larger lobby as well as a more vibrant atmosphere a lobby restaurant provides. The Gallo Blanco is packed, very popular and always has a waiting list because of its good food.
The hotel's parking lot is the historic site of the car bombing that injured and eventually snuffed out the life of Don Bolles, an investigative reporter of the Arizona Republic who was trying to expose the corruption of Arizona in the 70's. Instead of sweeping it under the carpet, the hotel remains true to its history by displaying a bust of the reporter, as well as photos of the scene on the walls leading up to its meeting space. There is a small spa too, but didn't have the time to try it even with the comp foot massage which is a genius stroke of marketing. It's owner, Don Bethel, is a hands on proprietor and manager of the hotel, with deep roots in the community and spends the money, time for its upkeep as a hip hotel in PHX.
He spent a small fortune on the rooftop bar, which is now all fixed, with sustainable wood planks and huge umbrella white sails billowing in the wind, reminiscent of Canada Place in Vancouver or the Denver International Airport, protecting its party goers from the harsh Arizona sun in the daytime, which turns out to be a great party venue at night as you see the downtown skyline beyond in the night sky.
Whenever you're in Phoenix, chuck the standard chain hotels and stay at the Clarendon. Sure, it is nice to stay at places where you know what service to expect, but once in a while a place like the Clarendon comes when you can experience something unique, and where the hotel is the destination itself!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichieSel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Me and my mother stayed here on one of our visits to the States. We have travelled overseas annually together for the past 10 years or so and have stayed in some beautiful hotels but The Clarendon is by far our favorite! We often talk about how wonderful out stay was.
Our room was gorgeous and felt like no one had ever stayed in it before. The staff were very friendly. The pool was so nice, It was 120 degrees for the most part of our stay so we utilized that a lot. It was a nice touch having the underwater music. The rooms were well air conditioned.
During our stay there was a free snack bar type thing behind reception which made us very happy!
The hotel was excellent value, we can't wait to return one day and will definitely recommend our friends traveling over from Australia to stay there.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank snowbunny_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#2 of 174 in Phoenix
467 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#7 of 174 in Phoenix
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel and Spa

Property: The Clarendon Hotel and Spa
Address: 401 W Clarendon Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85013-3411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#26 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#46 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon Hotel and Spa is located in the heart of Phoenix, close to the convention center, museums, parks, shopping, theaters, sports venues and concert halls. Walking distance to two Metro rail stations - $4 for a 24 hour pass, the system runs 24 hours (except 1am to 4am Monday through Thursday) and provides direct access to the Phoenix Sky Harbor airport SkyTrain. Full service spa on site. El Techo, our gorgeous rooftop SkyDeck overlooking the city skyline and surrounding mountain ranges, and the Oasis pool area with heated pool and jacuzzi and the world's largest outdoor water wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing