We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel and Spa
Ranked #15 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Great Spot”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I've been to the Clarendon many times for events or to eat at the on-site restaurant, Gallo Blanco, but this was my first time staying at the hotel overnight. It was a great experience. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, the hotel is decorated in a great modern style, the rooms are clean and well-furnished, and the hotel is conveniently located. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    303
    114
    62
    40
See reviews for
155
391
134
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Clarendon is really fun; rooms are comfy (get a pool view if possible), the restaurant is fantastic for all three meals and the location is really convenient. The staff is really helpful; the wait staff at the restaurant remembers you and any food changes you request, the cleaning staff does a really good job. (Restaurant is not owned by hotel).
My single complaint is that the bathroom fan turns on whenever you turn on the bathroom light, so a relaxing quiet time in the tub is out; guess that it what the hot tub is for!
Pool can be really crowded on weekends; I wonder if all you have to do to use the pool is buy a drink at the bar? Or maybe one friend has a room and ten friends come visit them poolside?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dekki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Wound up staying a night at the Clarendon because of a Groupon. What a great find. It is close to downtown Phoenix, very relaxing, felt like we were in Miami Beach. Great food, we only had appetizers and breakfast due to previous plans for the evening but everything we had was fantastic. The Guacamole was as good as my wife's which is very rare! The Huevos Rancheros breakfast was also great. Nice room overlooking the pool, great hot tub, the whole width of the pool. Also loved the roof deck.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Overall the hotel was great. Cool roof top deck with great Views. Restaurant at the hotel is fantastic. If you are looking for a low key hotel this may not be the one. A vibrant scene makes this hotel great for anyone looking for a good time. Pool was unique and i wish we would have had more time to swim. Yes there was a restaurant fee but its not out of the ordinary and the total price of the stay was more than resonable. Only reason no five start for location is because we had never been to Phoenix before and we left for Sedona for the weekend so we really have no clue about the area. I was a short drive from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mnviktwin90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

It seems there is a new improvement every time I stay at The Clarendon and it just gets better and better. The staff was once again warm and friendly. The roof top deck and bar allowed for a perfect sunset vantage point on Friday. The weather was ideal for it, although I still feel the booze is over priced with light pours. My Greygoose on the rocks was $12 for barely a legal shot. Maybe I am just used to a looser pour though. The rooms were great and I continue to notice little upgrades in the details that make all the difference. And the pool allowed for a perfect recovery day on Sunday. I highly recommend this boutique hotel full of charm, style, and history!. Thanks for another great deal and amazing stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZVagabonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

What a great find! We booked to go to Spring Training and decided to try this hotel after searching many other opportunities. The decor is very fun, retro, unique, original paintings and framed jewelry from local artists. Exceptional Restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, dinner but all with a great SW flair. Great servers, relaxed pace but not annoying slow. Indoor and outdoor seating available, as well as in the small lounge/seating area just before entering the restaurant, adjacent to the bar which is open to the seating area. Bar is smallish but has full selection and great bartenders. Some evenings have entertainment. The restaurant and bar are both seriously popular with locals as well as hotel guests. Front desk small, cool people, pool towels, ice, great snacks (more about that later.) The pool (outdoor) is a little small but clean and great lounge chairs, lounge platforms and seating in the shade, which you really need in Phoenix. There is sun on the pool area all day, so no worries about it being in the middle of the hotel. Hotel surrounds the pool, but is only 3/4 stories high. Rooms are pretty and large, atypical paintings (original, large prints and oils) fun lighting, great bathrooms. Very comfortable bed, high end linens and towels, great pillows. Small frig in every room (that may go away), and coffee. There is a service fee which covers parking, snacks, ice, towels, fitness room etc. If you book direct with the hotel you also currently get a $10 cert. for use at breakfast. The snacks are candy bars, variety of chips, nutrigrain bars, soda, bottled water and more. We love this hotel and will go back for sure!!

Room Tip: Rooms not on the pool if you want to avoid the possibility of late-night noise. We didn't exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTF_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Was in Phoenix for a trade show and booked last-minute. The Clarendon looked like an atypical hotel so I decided to try it.

The place looks like it was a converted 70's apartment complex, but has been nicely spruced up with a trendy retro feel. The cinder block walls have been stuccoed and painted over several times, albeit with vibrant colors.

Downtown Phoenix was busy and I had friends that paid $500/nt at the sold out Hyatt Regency (not even a Grand Hyatt). Paid $277/nt for a junior suite - not a great value, but price is based on supply & demand.

Room was comfortable, but the carpet was hard commercial quality without padding. Not fun after a full day on a trade show floor. A/C worked well, but the room did not have enough lighting and the bathroom fan was extremely loud and was connected to the bathroom light switch. Bed and linens were very nice, wifi worked well, but room would have been much better if the textured block walls were painted in a soothing color instead of white and if there were a larger window. Bathroom flooring is nice, but tub/shower is not. Nice touch: black "makeup" washcloth for the ladies -- I used it to wipe a stain from a dark suit to avoid white lint. Elevator goes back to the ground floor to stand by for returning guests, so it is slow when you call it to your floor. Fitness Center was pretty bad and the dark paint on the walls didn't help. Small, dark, musty smell, no natural light, and no TV.

The Gallo Blanco "Mexico City-style" restaurant was excellent for breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was included and their breakfast and dinner burritos and guacamole were GREAT and very inexpensive. The restaurant is worth a trip even if you are staying elsewhere.

A nice experience, but I'd probably try a different place next time.

Room Tip: Get a junior suite. The extra space and having an indoor hallway is worth the extra $10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asia_Lodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, Owner at The Clarendon Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, I appreciate the positive review and wanted to address your comments, just to let you know that we're already working on these items.

It was never an apartment complex, but has been a hotel since the early 70s, designed in the 60s in a perfect example of Mid-Century Modern architecture. We're completely renovating the exterior this summer by sandblasting the walls down to their original surface and doing some unique things with the exterior lighting that should be very exciting.

Regarding the flooring, we use carpet tiles from Flor - they're about 4 times as expensive as traditional carpet, but they have an antibacterial and antimicrobial treatment, and with the low pile they don't hold dust mites and allergens. Plus, if someone spills something or has an 'accident' on the carpet in most hotels, the carpet on top might look clean, but the pad underneath usually has black mold and all sorts of stuff growing in it... not here at The Clarendon, if something spills a housekeeping attendant can simply take a tile from under the bed, remove the old tile, and place the new tile down, and the problem is solved in just a few moments.

We've replaced a lot of our lighting and we continue to do so. We admit the rooms weren't the brightest rooms, so we started doubling the amount of light. On the bathroom fan, I'll walk rooms and see if I can find out which rooms have loud fans.

I agree about the textured block walls - I really am not a fan of them but a lot of guests love them. This summer we're reconfiguring all of our guest rooms to have the nicest interiors in the entire central Phoenix market, and part of this is to completely cover most of those walls with a new paneled wall system, perhaps in wenge or another nice wood.

Fitness center now has a TV! We painted the walls a little dark so that it seemed more like a fitness center - before it was extremely bright and just didn't seem very 'fitnessy'.

Thanks again - please continue to check out our improvements, you just might want to stay here again in the future. We are working on pool cabanas as we speak... ;-)

Sincerely,
Ben Bethel
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 174 in Phoenix
402 reviews
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#6 of 174 in Phoenix
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel and Spa

Property: The Clarendon Hotel and Spa
Address: 401 W Clarendon Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85013-3411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#26 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#46 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon Hotel and Spa is located in the heart of Phoenix, close to the convention center, museums, parks, shopping, theaters, sports venues and concert halls. Walking distance to two Metro rail stations - $4 for a 24 hour pass, the system runs 24 hours (except 1am to 4am Monday through Thursday) and provides direct access to the Phoenix Sky Harbor airport SkyTrain. Full service spa on site. El Techo, our gorgeous rooftop SkyDeck overlooking the city skyline and surrounding mountain ranges, and the Oasis pool area with heated pool and jacuzzi and the world's largest outdoor water wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing