We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modernly Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Clarendon Hotel and Spa
Ranked #15 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Hurricane, Utah, United States
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Modernly Charming”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Loved this hotel! Decor was very modern. The staff was excellent. The beds by far where the most comfortable I've had in a hotel stay in awhile. The restaurant in the hotel had great service and food. The staff also recommended a awesome restaurant near by called The Fez, also great food and service. The hot tub was the biggest I've ever seen in a hotel. Didn't use the pool, but the area was quite charming. The pool is in the center of the hotel so you get a great feeling of being inside but really outside. The Keurig in room coffee (free) unlike some places I've stayed was awesome! The roof top deck would be a great gathering place for drinks with friends.

Room Tip: Go for the suite it was very nice to have the seperation from the bedroom area. It's worth the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    307
    114
    63
    40
See reviews for
157
395
134
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

First time traveling to Phoenix and I need a place with central location. Check. Also needed breakfast in the morning and an area where I could do my work at the early hours. Double check. Then I wanted to be able to work out, watch some cable, and have the room for a guest or two. The Clarendon had it all. The staff is very accommodating and pleasant to interact with. It felt like every time I had a need and asked, that need was met. This hotel was busy but quiet, modern but quaint. Next time I'm in Phoenix, i'll be here.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for less noise and facing the city for a decent view! Pick out your hot spots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melvin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I went to Downtown Phoenix last month and loved staying here. The staff was really cool and the rooms were amazing. We had a nice little window that looked out onto the outdoor pool and it looked fantastic. I don't generally go to Phoenix, but this hotel made me feel welcome and more importantly, comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Window rock
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We booked our stay on a travel website for a short trip tip Phoenix over the New Year holidays. The staff is friendly and accommodating providing directions, restaurant recommendations and snacks. Our room was very comfortable and I truly appreciated the Keurig coffee. The on site restaurant provided great food and warm service. We actually extended our stay. This has to be the best stay in Phoenix, and at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Therese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our stay at the hotel was on January 1, 2013 and it turned out to be a great way to start the year. The welcome at the desk felt sincere, and the offer of free bottled water and snacks reinforced our sense that we were truly valued as guests.

The hotel was clean, the pool was as delightful as had been anticipated and the room was clean and quiet.

The restaurant and bar are operated as separate entities and both offered excellent quality and value. The two $10 breakfast coupons almost covered the cost of our breakfasts.

I don't know how the hotel can make a profit - what was offered would have been worth the cost at twice the price.

Many thanks for a wonderful visit.

Room Tip: This was my first visit. The picture of the room gives the impression that it is smaller than it ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMan800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

That being said I have always received world class customer service when staying at The Clarendon. I travel often, for both business and for vacation. The Clarendon has become my home away from home. The funky vibe, great staff, wonderful restaurant and wonderful rooms make me feel right at home. I honestly feel as if the Clarendon is ranked with some of the 4 and 5 star resorts I have seen, at a fraction of the price and when on vacation the money you save on the room goes to more fun exploring the new scenery. NOT TO MENTION ITS LOCALLY OWNED!!!

I LOVE THE CLARENDON!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DM762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My girlfriend booked us a night at the Clarendon for little change during my trip to see her. It was a wonderful place, we really liked the art and the restaurant. The staff and the room were great, it was nice to be able to grab a bottle of water and a little snack on the way up to the room and not be charged an arm and a leg like other hotels. The staff even asked of we wanted anything for the road when we were checking out. It was a very enjoyable night and I would recommend staying there. Even if you don't stay at the hotel I would recommend going to Gallo Blanco, the food was amazing, a perfect fit for this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 174 in Phoenix
453 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#6 of 174 in Phoenix
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel and Spa

Property: The Clarendon Hotel and Spa
Address: 401 W Clarendon Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85013-3411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#26 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#46 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon Hotel and Spa is located in the heart of Phoenix, close to the convention center, museums, parks, shopping, theaters, sports venues and concert halls. Walking distance to two Metro rail stations - $4 for a 24 hour pass, the system runs 24 hours (except 1am to 4am Monday through Thursday) and provides direct access to the Phoenix Sky Harbor airport SkyTrain. Full service spa on site. El Techo, our gorgeous rooftop SkyDeck overlooking the city skyline and surrounding mountain ranges, and the Oasis pool area with heated pool and jacuzzi and the world's largest outdoor water wall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing