We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$100
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Plus+ Phoenix West(Phoenix)(Great Value!)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$327
$305
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
DoubleTree by Hilton Phoenix North(Phoenix)(Great Value!)
$114
$105
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$529
$379
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$199
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$476
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,164)
Filter reviews
1,164 results
Traveler rating
828
241
53
30
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
828
241
53
30
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue houndthe breakfast clubwine hourchase fieldrooftop poolyoga matcity scapecorner suiteflatbreadcomplimentary winetalking sticksoaking tubheart of downtownbaseball stadiummini barwithin walking distancegreat downtown location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
739 - 744 of 1,164 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed on night as a "staycation".

Downtown Phoenix is trying very hard to up the ante and make it a place where people want to live and hang out. All of the new construction of ASU/UofA/NAU facilities and dorms has helped bring more people downtown. But, students don't make a place more vibrant and "urban" for the most part, especially when school is out for the summer.

The Palomar is a relatively new addition that is a part of CityScape. It is Phoenix's way of making "urban" - build an outdoor mall.

The hotel is very well done and exudes a sophistication and casual elegance. The rooms are nice size (over 400 sf) and are done out well. The bathrooms are clean, modern and well planned. The furnishings are sparse and fitting of the place. My only complaint with the room is that the shower only has a 2/3 glass panel and it does not do a great job of keeping that water off the floor.

Being a Kimpton, there is the wine hour and that was very well attended and lots of fun. The pool was hopping with a DJ and lots of people who paid $10 to be there and not staying at the hotel. The crowd was a little "off property".

We had drinks and apps in the restaurant and it was a great experience.

All in all - The Palomar is a nice addition to downtown. Its a great improvement over the Hyatt with its spinning roof top restaurant and the huge and expected Sheraton. There is also a new Westin in town, but we have not visited it yet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgregb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We just stayed at the Palomar. And it was the typical great Kimpton experience. Pet friendly, super comfortable room, great facilities. We'll definitely stay there again when we're back in the area.

My biggest complaint is the area around the hotel. Downtown Phoenix has been revitalized and is full of business, shops, restaurants, etc. But, it's also basically no-where. Freshly extruded chain stores, generic expensive restaurants, lots of indoor shopping opportunities. Sure, it beats empty lots with homeless people and strip clubs, but, it's not a place anymore.

So, you can't ding the hotel for being in an overblown soulless strip mall and making the best of it. But, it's hard to get too enthusiastic about generic high-priced anytown ...

Oh yeah, props to the Palomar staff. They took great care of us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank colorado-lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My family and I arrived on July 4th, expect a quiet 4 day weekend with the family. When we arrived, it was not busy at all, yet the front desk did not explain to us about the hotel at all. Normally not necessary, but for this particular hotel, it most definitely was. We were expecting a free standing hotel, not a hotel just located at city center. She didn't explain what was in city center, no map of the hotel or city center was offered, etc. Also, parking at this hotel is extremely confusing. We had a toddler and a dog with us and it would have been nice if they gave us more details on which area to park in, elevators to take, etc. Speaking of getting around the hotel, the are to walk to the dog is literally blocks and blocks away. Give me a break! My poor husband was gone for 30 minutes each time he had to walk the dog. Downtown Phoenix is not the safest place, especially at night and frankly I didn't feel comfortable with him going at night. In the hotel itself, there was no microwave or coffee machine in the room. This to me is unacceptable, even the most basic hotels have a microwave and coffee machine in every room. When we complained, they offered to bring up a coffee machine to our room, but then of course you have to tip (for something that should be there to start with). Microwaves though, are a $10 a day charge to bring to your room. Give me a break. The worst part about staying here though, is the party that was being held at the pool. It seemed like all of Phoenix was there (even people not staying at the hotel). We were given a heads up to avoid the pool that night (since we had a toddler), but that didn't start the party from coming to us. There were people walking around with drinks in their hand, drunk people in revealing clothes everywhere. We felt like we were staying in a frat house. There was so much noise from drunk people in rooms near us. Several of them were cursing, right next to our 3 year old and generally being rowdy and inconsiderate. It did not feel family friendly at all and was very uncomfortable. The decor is nice though, and for the value it is very good. We were just expecting a high class hotel, not a la quinta. We will not be staying again and we are not happy we chose this hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Heather U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had an Awesome experience at the Hotel Palomar over the 4th of July weekend. Staff was super friendly & most important they made you feel welcomed. Rooms were beyond clean <3 I will most definitely recommend to friends & family.

Room Tip: Any room is just as great of a view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelyVasquez5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stopped at this hotel while picking up a new Corvette to drive back to LA.
Reception was very friendly and quick.
I had a hard time finding the entrance because it was not well marked. When I called for directions I only got busy signal.

Room Tip: Higher floor because the bar scene is a little busy
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yankee1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews