We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Ranked #10 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Weston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was one of the nicest hotel stays I’ve had, particularly for a business trip. The hallmark of the hotel seemed to be outstanding, personal, over-the-top service and little amenities to make you feel you are getting something extra. Case in point: join their free “In Touch” program and get free internet access and $10 credit in the minibar. Freebies on demand included unusual items such as Tide-to-Go sticks and TSA-compliant quart bags for liquids (complete with instructions on TSA requirements. There was also a nice wine-and-apps gathering each evening at the “living room.”

The bed was comfy, there were plenty of pillows (both foam and feather), and the temperature control worked well, although with 110 degree heat while I was there the AC had to work pretty hard and it wasn’t completely silent.

Speaking of not completely silent…. there’s still a fair bit of construction going on above the 10th floor, and you can hear it. At check-in the clerk noted that I’d requested a quiet room (having read the prior reviews on TripAdvisor), so presumably the noise might be worse elsewhere. It was very faint, more like a dripping faucet, but my room was so quiet otherwise that the distant sound of tapping was noticeable. Although the front desk assured me there was no construction at night, twice I was awakened at 1 a.m. by a sound that sure sounded like hammering in the distance. The good news was, when I asked about the first day, they asked if there was an “I’m sorry” accommodation they could make, then they asked me about it again at checkout – when I said I’d been wakened a second time, they knocked $40 off my bill (my room service charge) to compensate me. Nice!

The hotel is also located in a terrific spot, within easy walking distance of restaurants, bars, CVS, Starbucks, Chipotle, the US Airways Center, Chase Field, courthouse, etc., etc. The outdoor pool, overlooking the mountains, is lovely (and a great break from the 110 degree heat!) and the outdoor bar next to the pool was terrific, with lots of seating and good music (and cooling mist sprayers – did I mention the 110 heat?). All in all, I was very pleased with my stay and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Until construction finishes, ask for 5th floor or lower, and off the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjfrommass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimpalomar1, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear PJ......thank you for the review. I'm so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the minor construction noise. We do have a no construction policy in effect especially during sleeping times... ( i mean that is why you come here right :) You can be assured that I have spoken to the construction company that is building the apartments above us and they have assured me that there will be no work during the early morning hours. They are almost complete with the project. The crane in front of the building leaves us after 6 years on September 20th and the building will be enclosed by the end of October. Residency begins mid December. What a spectacular addition to CityScape and our beautiful city.
Thanks again for the comments and please reach out to me if I can be assistance with future reservations. We appreciate the business.

Jim Hollister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    205
    42
    25
    9
See reviews for
127
289
49
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Overall I can honestly say the hotel was nice. Great location. But please write down your mileage before leaving your car with the valet. I caught them taking my car for a joy ride. They said they needed to move it because it was in a reserved spot. I saw my car around Chase Field. Much further than around the block. Didn't buy their story.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwk817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimpalomar1, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear NWK, a joy ride in your car?? REALLY? I hate that what was a good stay with us turned into disappointment. I believe our valet company has been in touch with you to find resolution to this unfortunate situation. We do park a lot of cars and I would never make excuses but we at times have to drive around the block to get the car into the correct garage as one of them might be full so we have to relocate cars when there is a big concert or sporting event next door. I will be sure and speak to the valet company and make sure this is the case always. I will say in the year we have been open this is the first I have ever heard of something like this happening. Please let me know if I can be any assistance at all NWK. Want you to have a great impression of our wonderful hotel.

Sincerely,

Jim Hollister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
173 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were lucky enough to be in a corner suite. Warm welcome with young staff, so-so wine reception, and a few freebies from the minibar. Free cycles to use to get around a rather sterol hot city, but a lovely thought. A really nice treat some place, not at all chain-like.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richard4521
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful hotel to cap off a week long trip in Arizona. Staff was wonderful the accommodations were first rate. This is a hotel/club type so the common areas have fairly loud music playing all the time. The restaurant in the hotel was a bust but you cannot take that away from the property. The restaurant was very overpriced for the quantity that was severed and I know the intent is flavor over size but the flavor was not the best either. Stay away from the corn on the cob. The sauce on the corn was loaded with fat and just not a good blend.

The Valet was expensive but for Downtown Phoenix I am sure it was market price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard4521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good location in downtown Phoenix. The Hotel is currently undergoing construction on the addition of uppor floors, so there is some disruption. But even so, the hotel is very wekll maintained, they have a great socila hour 5-6 each day and the pool is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuebloCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Since we were driving through Phoenix, we made reservations at Hotel Alomar. We knew that downtown Phoenix was in the midst of construction, but boy was I surprised when I entered the hotel. From the start, at valet (use valet, or you will park across the street where construction materials are stored), and check-in/check-out, I was impressed by the staff. The hotel is near US Airways Center and close to alot of great places to eat. We chose the Blue Hound, inside the hotel, for the first night. The salads were good but I was not impressed by the "chef's choice" fish. The server explained it as this spectacular dish that would allow the chef to demonstrate his abilities, but unfortunately it did not. Since I could see into the kitchen, I am not sure if the chef was nervous because most of the staff was in the kitchen watching him prepare this "spectacular" dish or he just did not know what to do with it but for the price, I was expecting more. All in all, I would stay again, just not eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ywashin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimpalomar1, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
So glad you let me know about your experience! It appears that you had a good stay with us despite the construction in the area. I will let you know our self parking is located in the garage below the hotel so is totally safe from the outdoor elements. As for BlueHound......how disappointing that you didn't have a great dinner. I know the chef is already aware of your experience with your meal so I'm sure he is moving quickly to make whatever improvements he needs to make but will tell you that BlueHound is one of the top rated restaurants in the city if not the United States with Chef Stephen's interesting/creative entrees. I hope the next time you travel to Phoenix you will let me know so I can plan a special evening for you in BlueHound to hopefully gain your trust once again.

Sincerely,

Jim Hollister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We checked into this hotel for one night before our flight back to DC from SW canyon tours. We were in love with our king room the minute we walk in. Decor was very modern and fresh, plus the size of room is pretty big too with a couch to sit on and a table. We went up to the pool area to chill, while the decor and space up in pool area is beautiful, the music was a bit loud and looks like its a happening place in town with many locals hanging out in the pool. Hubby was trying to read - not a good idea!! We went back to the room with our drinks and enjoyed the space instead. All in all, definitely recommend if you are young and looking for some fun place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pannwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#6 of 174 in Phoenix
814 reviews
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#2 of 174 in Phoenix
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#27 of 174 in Phoenix
1,886 reviews
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#19 of 174 in Phoenix
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Address: 2 East Jefferson Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2573 (Formerly Palomar Phoenix)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Sophistication. Artistic Expression. In constant pursuit of the extraordinary in urban downtown Phoenix. With big-city flair befitting the nation's sixth largest metropolis, Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix is contemporary, connected, and cosmopolitan. The prime downtown location in the shopping, dining, and nightlife hub known as CityScape positions guests among the best of the city, while upping the ante of upscale style and comfort. Impressively sleek design breathes chic peace and serenity into some of the largest rooms in Phoenix-at least 410 square feet-and takes luxurious comfort to a grand scale in the hotel's suites, spanning up to 1,700 square feet. It's a new frontier of four-star amenities, an ideal setting for guests to contemplate their next inspiring adventure while gazing over the urban landscape and distant mountains. Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix's third floor plays host to a stunning and inviting rooftop with a pool, cabanas (all with views of downtown Phoenix), and LUSTRE Rooftop Bar, an open-air bar with local and seasonal specialties. This spectacular perch is where guests and locals soak in the atmosphere, lounge poolside, feast on fresh juice by day and sip a cocktail by night, while reveling in the impeccable, exclusive service. The hotel's tailored environment also lends itself to 15,000 square feet of meeting and event space. Catering from Blue Hound Kitchen & Cocktails, famous for innovative fare, adds that last delicious detail. Intentionally understated and attracting the driven esthete, Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix wraps guests in a sharp, curated atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing