We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Staff was excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Ranked #9 of 173 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Staff was excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The staff went above and beyond.
The bartenders Micheal and Robert (brothers) were wonderful the whole time I was there. The house specialty drinks yum! There was even a few off menu drinks (I asked for something special) that delighted me!
One of my friends asked the front desk for extra water and they brought her a frige full!
The bellman Charlie is a delight.
Every stall member was very friendly and accomidating.
It was a pleasure staying here!

Room Tip: Join the Kimptons rewards program for free Internet during your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacDivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    184
    36
    21
    9
See reviews for
111
267
45
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

First time in a Kimpton property and it was relaxing to say the least. Only spent a brief time there but our waitress, Laya, was very informative and the bellman (?) Rob was Johnny-on-the-spot with our bags and a cab, and a Lumberjack! Our plane was over 2 hours late so we got in after midnight, but slept well in the comfy, long bed, ate a very nice breakfast, and departed for Flagstaff. Will definitely stay in a Kimpton again.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lorone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thermopolis, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was so impressed with every aspect of this hotel. The service was EXCEPTIONAL in every way - from the valet parking - the front desk clerk - the bellmen - the waiters and waitresses - everyone was so helpful and kind = SO nice to experience in a world where customer service is going by the wayside. I stayed in one of their suites which was absolutely beautiful - love the decor as well as the layout and the view. I HIGHLY recommend the Blue Hound Restaurant located in the hotel. The food, drinks, and service were beyond excellent. The roof-top pool located on the 2nd floor is beautiful. The location is GREAT in downtown Phoenix. There are many great restaurants in the area, and the comedy club near the hotel was really fun as well. I can't wait to stay there again and HIGHLY recommend this property to both business and leisure travelers!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbarasyverson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I haven't stayed in a Plimpton property, but after staying here I will keep my out for them. Room was spacious, modern, and comfortable. All of the staff I interacted with were very hospitable and friendly. The shower/tub was the nicest I have have ever seen.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JayHTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel just does it right, from the updated simple modern elegant decor, to the service, to the food and the location.

The valet staff, doormen and bell desk staff are incredible - quick to get your car, open your doors, load/unload your bags, address you by name, ask you how your day is going, etc.... They remembered our name each time we came in the front door!

The lobby is nothing special really, a little spartan, but not in a bad way. Front desk staff are super friendly and helpful in a casual yet businesslike way. They have brand new bikes in the lobby that you can borrow to ride around town if you want!

The second floor is where the real "lobby" is if you are looking for a place to hang out, relax, sit down and wait to meet up with people, etc... That is where the bar and restaurant is, plus it opens out to the second level of part of CityScape and the Gold's Gym that you have access to as a hotel guest. We did visit the gym and it is brand new and super nice and the front desk there welcomes you as they would welcome any of their local members. I did one of the group exercise classes and it was terrific.

The third floor is the large outdoor patio, bar and pool with chaise lounges and cabanas. The pool is definitely not large but the area is attractive and the cabanas are comfy. If you want to sit in the sun make sure you do it in the AM - our teen daughter wanted to try to tan but her schedule was such that she could only get up there after 2:30pm and she got about 6 minutes of sun before the entire patio was covered in shade. Bar wait staff was super nice!

Rooms are spacious with tasteful modern decor and the bathroom was well equipped. One tiny complaint - there are only 2 small drawers in the dresser/credenza that shares space with the mini bar, so if you have a lot of clothes to put away you really won't be able to. In-room Wifi is FREE if you are a Kimpton member, so worth joining just for that. The beds are SOOOOOO comfy, I literally did not want to get up!

Location is incredible - closest hotel possible to the 2 big downtown sports venues. Right in the middle of CityScape. 2 blocks from the Convention Center. 1 1/2 blocks from the Symphony Hall where we went to see the Arizona Ballet. Tons of restaurants around, although some of them clearly cater to weekday downtown business folks as they were not open Sat/Sun. Airport was literally 10-15 mins away tops.

Blue Hound Kitchen is the hotel restaurant - will review separately but it was great!

The only negative thing I can really say is that there is construction going on - they are adding additional floors on top of the hotel. On Friday the noise was pretty noticeable and did affect our peace and quiet in the room and at the pool, however there wasn't any work going on Sat or Sun and it was nice and quiet. If you really need quiet during the daytime Mon-Fri then wait until the project is finished, otherwise it's not that big of a deal. I noticed they did put earplugs on the nightstand, not sure if this is standard practice or for the construction.

I will absolutely stay here again if/when I return to Phoenix and need to stay downtown!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was great. My family enjoyed their stay. The hotel hospitality was phenomenal. Everyone was helpful and eager to assist. The service was quick and the hotel was spotless. I highly recommend this hotel. The only thing is it was expensive and everything cost. Parking was $27 a day and I had to pay for Internet. Nothing is free or inclusive. However, I'm glad I picked this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitmcafee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
247 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our 5-night stay here. I don't have any major negative things to say about this hotel except for two minor wrinkles, and I would start with those: left the room for lunch and a walk around downtown Phoenix (about 5 hours) and when I came back the room wasn't cleaned yet, was just about to take a nap when it was finally ready to be cleaned. The pillows were also a little too soft for my taste. Except for those, everything was great.

We had a corner room with enough space and a view of the streets and the cityscape below. Room was clean and furnished modernly. The lobby, second floor lounge area, the pool and the pool's bar area were clean, nicely furnished and inviting. I did spend sometime by the pool, it wasn't crowded and was relaxing- almost the whole area for tanning loses the sun by 2:30 pm though (the hotel itself blocks the sun and shades the pool), so if you'd like to tan, get there late morning. Check- in and out were friendly and efficient, the valet and door men were also helpful and friendly. On the day of our check-out, one of the doormen recommended some hikes in Sedona (we headed to Sedona after Phoenix), his recommendations were spot-on, and he was very nice and friendly. We tried the restaurant as well, the food and service were great.

Gold's Gym was just a few steps away and hotel guests get a free entrance- it's a great gym. The hotel sits in CityScape- an area with restaurants and entertainment, we tried almost all the restaurants in the surrounding area, The Breakfast Club next door is excellent for breakfasts(!) and lunch, and also The Arrogant Butcher for dinner. The hotel is located conveniently if you'd like to walk around downtown and the historic district, the busses and tram are also just a few steps away. I took the bus to the zoo, one of the better zoos I've been to.

I highly recommend this hotel; one of our positive experiences in Phoenix.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonJonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimpalomar1, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Palomar Phoenix. I love hearing about how you took advantage of all our hotel and location has to offer. CityScape is amazing and give our guest so many fun, different, cool options not to mention the easy access to the lightrail that can take you pretty much anywhere in the city.
Thank you for sharing....... I hope you will come back and visit us again soon.
We appreciate your business

Sincerely,
Jim Hollister
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#6 of 173 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#19 of 173 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#29 of 173 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Address: 2 East Jefferson Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004 (Formerly Palomar Phoenix)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 173 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Sophistication. Artistic Expression. In constant pursuit of the extraordinary in urban downtown Phoenix. With big-city flair befitting the nation's sixth largest metropolis, Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix is contemporary, connected, and cosmopolitan. The prime downtown location in the shopping, dining, and nightlife hub known as CityScape positions guests among the best of the city, while upping the ante of upscale style and comfort. Impressively sleek design breathes chic peace and serenity into some of the largest rooms in Phoenix-at least 410 square feet-and takes luxurious comfort to a grand scale in the hotel's suites, spanning up to 1,700 square feet. It's a new frontier of four-star amenities, an ideal setting for guests to contemplate their next inspiring adventure while gazing over the urban landscape and distant mountains. Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix's third floor plays host to a stunning and inviting rooftop with a pool, cabanas (all with views of downtown Phoenix), and LUSTRE Rooftop Bar, an open-air bar with local and seasonal specialties. This spectacular perch is where guests and locals soak in the atmosphere, lounge poolside, feast on fresh juice by day and sip a cocktail by night, while reveling in the impeccable, exclusive service. The hotel's tailored environment also lends itself to 15,000 square feet of meeting and event space. Catering from Blue Hound Kitchen & Cocktails, famous for innovative fare, adds that last delicious detail. Intentionally understated and attracting the driven esthete, Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix wraps guests in a sharp, curated atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing