We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Ranked #6 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was a really nice hotel. Stayed here to check out spring training. The hotel was central to the different stadiums we went to: Glendale, Peoria, Tempe. Service was excellent. You have to pay for parking but that's part of the deal when you stay in a downtown hotel. It's right across the street from US Airways Stadium and Chase Field. This is a great location to use as a home base. Used the gym privileges at Gold's Gym, which is a full size gym and has all the amenities. Booked through Hotwire. Recommended for a weekend getaway, girl's weekend, or checking out some sports. The hotel is located in an entertainment district called cityscape, which was nice to explore. Ate at a restaurant called The Strand, which was very good.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LsyaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,033)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

873 - 879 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

As someone who usually stays at select service hotels one night at a time, my three night stay at Hotel Palomar was a real treat. A colleague had stayed at Kimpton hotels before, and told me that it would be special, and he was correct.

Service at this hotel was over the top, starting with the front desk associate who walked around the desk to hand me my key and shake my hand to thank me for staying. The bartender in the Blue Hound Kitchen recommended the appetizer sample, with bison jerky, hot nuts, and tasty olives – and she recommended the shishita peppers, which were out of this world. It seemed as though every staff member was truly concerned with pleasing every guest.

The room was fun – spacious, well lighted, well appointed (even with animal print robes and footies, and ear plugs), and super clean. The high speed internet was the fastest I’ve ever encountered (per my speedtest.net test) and the flat screen TV had HD channels, which is always a plus. The bathroom was large, and the shower was piping hot.

I was staying at the Palomar to attend a company meeting there, and the meetings were handled perfectly, including room set-up, food quality, breaks, breakfast, and dinner. Evening wine and “emergency coffee” each morning were great treats. For hardcore coffee lovers, Starbucks is a short five minute walk away.

All in all a great place. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louis59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

The Palomar is a new chic boutique style hotel! We were pleasantly surprised! We were greeted by polite staff & shown to our room. It's a fairly new hotel so furnishing were nice & bathroom had nice toiletries & nice linens & towels. It's very minimal but had everything you needed. The location is difficult to get to as most downtown hotels are & there was some construction which added to difficulty. All in all a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel with very good service. Price even for group is a little outrageous for what you get. Similar hotels offer as good amenities at lower rates. $6 for in too
Water and more $$ for wifi???

Not that appealing to a corp traveler.

Noise level extremely high (they even give you ear plugs so they must hear it a lot). I was woke. Up every night by Trolley, dump trucks, street noise, you name it

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mutt239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Right down to the fact that the entire place smells amazing, like an upscale spa. Normally, I am not one for the ultracontemporary hotels. But this place is posh. They have a free wine reception for guests each evening, and a free coffee reception in the am. Great rooftop pool and bar. Have the Pimm's Cup, and city back and watch the Phx skyline! When I checked in, the front desk person walked from around the counter to hand me my key. They will even print your boarding pass for you and have it ready when you check out. Like I said, the little things. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIANNE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is high on the list for quality, comfort, and dependability. I usually stay at a different hotel down the road, but it was full and this was selected by the corporate office. The check-in process was great with a coupon for $10 free in the room mini-fridge because I am a Kimpton member. I desired a coffee maker once I got settled in and the front desk had one in the room within minutes. They offer a wine happy hour at 5 and a coffee bar in the morning. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. I told the corporate office to make future reservations for me at this hotel. It is conveniently in the capital area and along the rail line for the Metro.

Room Tip: I was in an interior room on the 7th floor and it was perfect.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ind_sub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimpalomar1, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. I'm so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. Isn't wine hour in the living room the best....so relaxing and we feature great wines from around the world each month. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.....
Sincerely,
Jim Hollister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a business trip and was not expecting much - got pleasently surprised! The staff was very friendly, helpful and always smiling. They were going the extra mile and offered extra service at no extra cost.
The room was nicely and modern decorated with two king size beds and a very nice bathroom. Loved their lotion, shower gel and shampoo as well. It smelled really nice.
The design was really nice.
The restaurant in the hotel is very nice as well. We had breakfast there on one of the days and it was really good and service was pretty fast and very friendly.
The hotel bar is great as well. Loved the design and the drinks came promptly.
All in all I would recommend this hotel and stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wunderbar_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 174 in Phoenix
484 reviews
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#7 of 174 in Phoenix
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#26 of 174 in Phoenix
2,010 reviews
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#18 of 174 in Phoenix
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix

Address: 2 East Jefferson Street, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2573 (Formerly Palomar Phoenix)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range: $149 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Sophistication. Artistic Expression. In constant pursuit of the extraordinary in urban downtown Phoenix. With big-city flair befitting the nation's sixth largest metropolis, Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix is contemporary, connected, and cosmopolitan. The prime downtown location in the shopping, dining, and nightlife hub known as CityScape positions guests among the best of the city, while upping the ante of upscale style and comfort. Impressively sleek design breathes chic peace and serenity into some of the largest rooms in Phoenix-at least 410 square feet-and takes luxurious comfort to a grand scale in the hotel's suites, spanning up to 1,700 square feet. It's a new frontier of four-star amenities, an ideal setting for guests to contemplate their next inspiring adventure while gazing over the urban landscape and distant mountains. Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix's third floor plays host to a stunning and inviting rooftop with a pool, cabanas (all with views of downtown Phoenix), and LUSTRE Rooftop Bar, an open-air bar with local and seasonal specialties. This spectacular perch is where guests and locals soak in the atmosphere, lounge poolside, feast on fresh juice by day and sip a cocktail by night, while reveling in the impeccable, exclusive service. The hotel's tailored environment also lends itself to 15,000 square feet of meeting and event space. Catering from Blue Hound Kitchen & Cocktails, famous for innovative fare, adds that last delicious detail. Intentionally understated and attracting the driven esthete, Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix wraps guests in a sharp, curated atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing