We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“crowded but always satisfies” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camelback Mountain

Camelback Mountain
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.98*
and up
Half-Day Phoenix Highlights Tour
Ranked #4 of 225 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“crowded but always satisfies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Every year when we visit we go up the steep trail and come down the other trail and walk from our hotel. We enjoyed it and the view never disappoints. If you desire to go up the steeper side go super early or walk/ get dropped off as parking is very difficult and fills up quick- the security guard says cars are parking down the street waiting at 5:30am on weekends.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,189
    452
    65
    13
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

must do the big zipline- amazing, great feeling- the mountain coaster is a lot of fun will definitely go back to zip again and for segway tour(closed due to ice on trails) indoor water park under construction for 2015

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“When in Phoenix, this is a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

While the trail is pretty crowded, climbing Camelback is a blast. My son and I climbed it when in Phoenix on vacation and had a great time. It's the perfect level of difficulty. Pretty tough, but not truly that dangerous. But you still need to be careful, as getting too close to the edge at the top could be very, very bad. The views on the journey and on the top are outstanding.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ALotOfTravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
158 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Fun, Challenging, Unique Hike/Rock-Scrambling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a great activity for the outdoor enthusiast, and I would recommend doing when visiting the area. It is not your typical nature-walk type "hike" but is an advanced, scrambling-rocks hike (which means using your full body, hands and arms, and sliding across/down/up rocks at points, particularly at the top towards the summit). It took us a little over 2 hours, hurried, with a few picture-taking stops and rests along the way. The path is uphill the entire way. After a mile up, you will reach a sign that says "Intermediate -- blue square" to this point. If you continue, be warned that you are proceeding into advanced double-black diamond terrain -- be prepared and bring lots of water." We continued to the top/summit and are glad we did, although I wish we had allotted ourselves more time for the hike. We started our hike late, around 5pm (end of February), and we hurried the entire way up and back to utilize as much daylight as possible. We knew we would probably run out of daylight, and we did, so this being the case, bring a flashlight or headlamp preferably if going later, although the full moon did provide sufficient light for us on the way back. It ended up being very peaceful this way. Many people were coming down from the hike on our first 30 minutes hiking up. However, there were hardly any people for the last hour and a half, probably due to time of day. I have never been on a trail with handrails cemented into the rocks because it is so steep, as was the case with this hike. As you approach the summit, it is all scrambling rock. There were many points you think "just around that bend" but then there were like 10 more bends after that. The top is 360 views, and the scenery along the whole way is beautiful Arizona red-rock. I know it's always the most rewarding to finish a trail from trailhead start, to the top, and back... but if you can only attempt part of the way, you really can turn back at any point and still enjoy a wonderful experience on this trail.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank hijodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You better be prepared…..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

The trail to go up to Camel back was incredible hard work…Do not take children with you to the last part …super dangerous…take a lot of water to drink….better do not go with shorts but light pants..hat…and lots of suncreams…be careful on your way down…we saw people falling down…a fantastic adventures and will do it again !!!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeruvian18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camelback Mountain also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Camelback Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing