We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 360 views from top of mountain.”
Review of Camelback Mountain

Camelback Mountain
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$69.98*
and up
Half-Day Phoenix Highlights Tour
Ranked #3 of 228 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great 360 views from top of mountain.”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

While this was undoubtedly one of the most difficult hike I have taken..it was well worth the view from the top. Climbing involved walking and using hands/feet to scramble up steep rocks. If you are in really good physical shape, it probably just a piece of cake. But if not, take your time, and enjoy the climb and rest stops along the way up. Beware, wear good, non slip shoes and don't forget your water! I wouldn't do this hike in summer...but we did it in 80 degree weather w/o issue.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,271
    484
    67
    13
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Challenging Hike Worth the Effort”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Heard lots about this hike in the middle of the City and after coming here for so many years we decided to do it. Hint: this is not a stroll in the park, do not let the paved pathway for the first 500 yards fool you. It is a challenging hike and the last half requires use of both hands to help you climb the rocks. If you are not in moderate to good shape, you need to carefully consider doing this hike. There are markers that tell you how far left to go but it's deceiving as the grade is quite challenging towards the end. Not as long as the Grouse Grind in BC but the terrain here is borderline hazardous and coming down is just as challenging. Use good hiking shoes (this climb will kill your $150 sneakers), bring lots of water and use frequent breaks. I'm in my early 50's, in decent shape and still found this to be a workout. My 18 year old son got to the top in about 40 minutes with no stops, I was about 15 minutes behind him. The view at the top is worth the effort, next time we will do the other trail. We got there about 7:15AM on Saturday and it was very busy already. Best of all, it's free.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BCGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indy
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great workout for the morning”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

First of all this is a short hike but don't be fooled by distance. its about 1.4 I think each way and then add walk from where you park. Start by parking on Invergordon road, the popular lot at McDonald is very small and fills quickly. Great views at every turn. About 3/4 the way up a flat spot is a good rest before the rock climbing portion. Not kidding. Not overwhelming but you do have to climb some spots to get to the top. Saw all ages doing it but just be aware. Well worth it to go all the way.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank love2travelIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
198 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Cholla Trail”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

you can park at N Invergordon Rd and walk to the trailhead, this is the best place to hike in phoenix, did it during winter, do not forget to take at least 2 bottles of water, although it looks easy, the last 1/4 of the trail is tough, requiring care and some climbing with the hands, made the ascent in 2 hours

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VictorGAlmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringmer, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Son went with grandad and dad”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Camelback mountain is a great mountain for adults and 7-10 year olds to climb.It is a great view when you get to the top.There is so much wildlife up there.Be careful because there are some poisonous animals up the mountain.Overall it was a BRILLIANT visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camelback Mountain also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Camelback Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing