We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly our landmark for all of us who live downtown.”
Review of Camelback Mountain

Camelback Mountain
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.98*
and up
Half-Day Phoenix Highlights Tour
Ranked #4 of 228 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Truly our landmark for all of us who live downtown.”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I live within view of the Praying Monk. Follow his prayer to the Elements at Sanctuary for a class act and incredible food.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Savvygal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,258
    480
    67
    13
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
324 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“I wish exercising was always this much fun!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We hiked the Cholla trail. It was a great hike and quite challenging. We started our hike at about 8am on a Sunday and it was quite crowded - likely because Echo Canyon trail was temporarily closed. Bring water and enjoy your hike. For anyone wanting to find out more about hikes and pretty much anything else to do in and around Scottsdale, check out one of the best sites around -> http://www.destination-scottsdale.com/. Shannon provides great tips and timely information

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NormLWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but crowded”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

It was a great hike but the trail we went on was not too big and it was extremely crowded and swarming with people. A tip is to go really early to get a good view or right before it closes.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TeddyW_13cgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good workout - wish we would have started earlier”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

After figuring out how to find the actual open trailhead and realized there was a 1/2 mile walk or so just to get there from the street parking, it was already a little late in the day but we decided to hike up the trail as far as we could until we had to turn back with time to get down before sunset. The cacti were blooming so there were lots of stops for photos. The trail is quite rough and steep in parts - coming down was a little more difficult so make sure you have plenty of time and lots of light or I could see some ankles breaking! We saw people bring their dogs, but unless they are super fit, I'd be wary of doing that. It was evening and not too hot, but regardless of the time of day bring plenty of water. There were no facilities that I was aware of, so keep that in mind. We didn't make it up too far, but the views as the sun set and the city lights came on were pretty great. Well worth finding parking and the trailhead...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PR_Bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tough”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Camelback Mountain is an amazing hike. Make sure you take water and wear hiking shoes. Don't under estimate the time it takes to hike it. It is a very challenging hike but well worth the effort

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travlanytm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camelback Mountain also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Camelback Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing