We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Landmark”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Camelback Mountain

Camelback Mountain
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.98*
and up
Half-Day Phoenix Highlights Tour
Ranked #4 of 228 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Landmark”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Can't visit Phoenix without becoming aware of this landmark. You can see it's unique shape from a distance and appreciate its name or get up close and personal with a hike. If you choose the later, be safe! Stay on trails and carry the appropriate water. This desert environment is not to be under-rated!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trilogygram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,235
    475
    67
    13
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“steep and a good work out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is not a walk. You will be using your hands to get up. It is a great work-out and recommended, but be prepared the steepness. Parking can be limited, especially on weekends.
There are porta-potties and water at the start of the hike.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank beachseeker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great start to a day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

1 mile straight up. Get a start before sunrise to catch the view and all at least 2 hours of your time to finish. I did the hard side and it requires good balance and some use of hands to climb over boulders. Water is a must with light snacks.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hukiluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“demanding and rewarding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

you can take your own pace hiking this trail but it is no joke. people are serious about their workouts so get out of their way. Other than that, the views are spectacular and I am so glad I did the hike. weather and views were gorgeous. Can't go wrong. I would not take kids.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank adaisyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Nice view & workout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I took quite demanding trail to the top of a Camelback mt. and I enjoyed every moment of the route with breathtaking views (and climbs ;) )

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jiri_Nite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camelback Mountain also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Camelback Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing