We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatiful view”
Review of Camelback Mountain

Camelback Mountain
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.98*
and up
Half-Day Phoenix Highlights Tour
Ranked #3 of 228 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beatiful view”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just a short walk, about 1.2 mile, but fairly steep in places. Great place for an in-town mountain climb

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank WanderOff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,270
    484
    67
    13
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Up, then down, then UP.”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is not like Piestewa Peak. You climb up, then down, then UP. So in some ways, it's more of a workout. There are areas where you'll need to hold onto some chains and pull yourself up but it should be doable for most people. Wear good shoes. There are areas where the rocks are loose and, like me, you could slip a bit. As always in Phoenix, the views are great. Could be very busy at times (well, most of the time). Parking is a problem but the city is trying to work out a solution that involves other parking areas and a shuttle bus. Don't know if that's been resolved yet.

Helpful?
Thank mhouse2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great start to the day”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Claimed Camelback twice in my recent stay. We took about 90 minutes up and down and were going at a good pace to get back in time for meetings. Don't set off any later than 0630 or you will miss the spectacular colours and shadows of the sun coming up. The trail is very rough underfoot and you need good shoes and to be prepared to get your hands and clothes dirty. You also need to be reasonably fit. The trial is pretty busy and there a limited parking at the Echo Canyon end of the trail. Oh, and take some water, preferably in a Camelback hydration pack.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth the work”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I climbed Camelback with a group of friends in mid October. We had a beautiful day with temps in the mid 70s. We used the Cholla Trail to get the the top. This was a great workout. It definitely took an effort to get there. There is a path that is easy to follow for the first three quarters of the trail. When I say easy, I mean to say well marked, although it is definitely a path; sometimes there are high steps or uneven footing but nothing scary or anything requiring climbing. The last quarter of the trail is a different story. It is the hardest part of the trail and requires a lot of scrambling and quite a bit or real climbing; nothing required ropes but still needing all four limbs to get you where you need to go. If you are in decent shape and not afraid of heights, it's a great time. I would suggest that in terms of young kids, if you child tires easily this would not be the best way to the top for them. It would be extremely difficult if not downright dangerous to try and carry a child up or down the last part of this trail.

This trail can be confusing to find since it doesn't have a designated parking area, however there is small signage from the road. it's probably best to plug Camelback Mountain into a smart phone and let it help guide you to the best route. Parking is on Invergordon Rd. You walk into a residential area, up E. Cholla Ln. and the trailhead is on the left. A round trip to the top from here is 3.5 miles.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ReadyTraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“exhilerating”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a rigorous, well used path with rails and steps for support where needed. The scenary is beautiful, overlooking a golf course which is perfect for my husband the golfer. There is parking and a shuttle when the parking lot is full. The shuttle parking also provided sun screen and water if needed along with a very friendly driver. There was a couple spots that i had to climb on hands and knees because i am very short and an older hiker, but i always felt safe on this trail.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayakchrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camelback Mountain also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Camelback Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing