We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I feel disappointed but not robbed”

Japanese Friendship Garden
Ranked #34 of 228 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I feel disappointed but not robbed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I've seen rich people with nicer looking backyard scenery. I was expecting to be indulged in a Japanese like atmosphere. It smells like downtown Phoenix and looks like Arizona with some foreign statues and a neat but boring bridge. Vegetation was Arizonan. Bamboo are farmed in a tiny obscure corner. The 1 big water fall has light fixture around it, which ruins the view, and you can't stay after 4:30 so what's the point. The fish are about the coolest thing, you can feed then Cheerios and they flock to you like ducks. I give it a 3 because its a decent place for portrait photography.

Helpful?
1 Thank Badluck919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    82
    32
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
141 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Escape from the desert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

It was very beautiful and relaxing experience. Lovely waterfalls and birdlife. Approximately 3 quiet acres for rest and meditation. It is closed in the summer so make sure to go in the spring.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank halleybopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Totally Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We came upon the Friendship Garden by accident and only goes to prove you find special places by looking beyond the usual sites. The Garden is wonderfully landscaped and peaceful. The centerpiece is the large pond filled with a wild variety of koi of all colors and sizes. Plan to just sit awhile and mellow out in any of the little nooks and crannies of the garden.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Saguaro63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very cute”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to walk after eating. Quite relaxing feeing ducks and fish. You wil be pleasantly pleased

Helpful?
1 Thank Sdsunluvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The hurry drops away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband said the world changes as you pass through the gate. A serene oasis in downtown Phoenix. On a weekday afternoon, the many waterfalls made us unaware of the city outside the walls as we followed the meandering loop path, fed the colorful koi, and photographed views of the lake. Bridges, lanterns, and statues provide focal points. Disappointed that we could not see inside the tea house. We found this a pleasant afternoon getaway. A tiny gift shop is at the temporary entrance building - a viewing pagoda and new entrance building are planned.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AZrover41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japanese Friendship Garden also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Japanese Friendship Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing