We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you want it exactly a certain way.”
Review of Genghis Grill - CLOSED

Genghis Grill
Cuisines: Mongolian
Description: This is the Paradise Valley location of this chain
Restaurant details
Description: This is the Paradise Valley location of this chain
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“When you want it exactly a certain way.”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I love going to Genghis Grill especially for take-out. I get the medium size bowl for dinner and I am embarrassed to admit this but have been able to get quite a bit into this small bowl (it's all in the technique). You get to choose from several meats and fishes, seasonings, a variety of vegetables and fruits, and several sauces that you put in a separate container for the chef at the grill. You can even add an egg, tortillas, sour cream and/or cheese to your order. Next the chef will ask you what starch you want and I almost always choose Udon noodles. They also have rice and probably 3 or 4 other choices. They ask you if you have any food allergies and then begin grilling your meal. Since mine is to go usually, they transfer it into a container and I am on my way. So if you don't like your meal it is probably your fault. But if you feel you aren't adept at making a creation, they also have cards that suggest what you should put in for a specific meal. Oh and they also will make your creation for you if you don't like messing with the ingredients. The other awesome thing is my meal always has leftovers for lunch the next day making it a great deal. All in all its a great place to make a new meal every time you go. Love it!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsWeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cotopaxi, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
681 reviews
526 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Good grilling”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is for the PV Mall Ring Road location. I came here with coworker for lunch. Genghis Grill has revamped their menu so now you have three choices of size plus you can have some of their premade choices. I went with the large bowl. I knew I would have leftovers to home. For a Mongolian BBQ, there were a reasonable amount of options but no shrimp. Good service but the sausage got burned. Overall, very good. We would go back there again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Place with Good Concept”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have been to this restaurant a lot...I really like the option of picking your own food (beef, pork, seafood, poultry), then adding veggies that you like, then the spices. You can choose the portions (S,M,L bowls). The cooks will cook it in front of you or you can just wait for your food at the table. The staffs are wonderful and friendly. Ask for the frequent Genghis Grill Khan's Reward from server if planning to eat here a lot.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angelo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My family likes this place so much, you might think one of us works there.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

These folks really have their act together. Our favorite is the "build your own" bowl but they do have pre-set menu items like regular restaurants that can be ordered too. In the "build your own" assembly line like area, they usually have 13 different proteins, 12 seasonings, 31 vegetables, 14 sauces, & 6 starches. If that sounds like a lot, it is - capable of satisfying heavy meat eaters to serious vegetarians & vegans. Then you mix it into a small size bowl ($7.99) or regular size bowl ($9.99) or large size bowl ($11.99) & hand it off to one of the cooking folks. If you want to watch it being cooked, you can, as the huge circular flat iron is just 5 feet behind the counter. It then comes to your table piping hot (if appropriate) by your waiter in short order. If it tastes less than perfect, well you picked out all the fresh ingredients, so shame on you.

We go to this place about every 2 months since it tastes so good, has great service (a manager always comes to the tables to verify all is well) & the place is clean. The only downside: it can be pretty noisy in there as there seems to be no sound proofing. By the way, none of us work there. :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Kenneth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So much to chose from. Ate way to much”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great service. Great Food. Wonderful pricing. The all you can eat option was way more than i could eat.
Was a little hard to find.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ALonesomeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Genghis Grill also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing