We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Fish and Chips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Codfather

The Codfather
Ranked #468 of 2,912 Restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: British, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had a wonderful meal here.
Lots of authentic British sides and beverages.
Mark and Ruth, the owners, are English transplants and were most gracious.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernest S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    15
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go to the Codfather for the Best Fish & Chips this side of the pond”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

5 years ago a gentleman in a supermarket told us about The Codfather as he knew we were British. We went with an open mind because most 'fish and chips' in Arizona or terrible. We were
pleasantly surprised at how good it was. Since then we go regularly and have told other people.
My son and his wife and family now go there too. When people come from England we take them there and they really enjoy it.
The staff are pleasant and helpful. We are going tonight.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie5564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
178 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely worth trying! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Decided to go full on English at The Codfather. I had the cod & chips, a Tetley's English draft beer (earthy & delicious) & the potato & onion pie. Food is fabulous. My husband had the catfish & chips. So much food! Very generous portion, friendly staff & a little British store too (flake bars are my favorite! ) a definite do again!

Helpful?
1 Thank sparkysgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
196 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A Cod I Couldn't Refuse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I've had fish & chips in England and this place is authentic to your causal chip shop. You're not going to find Gordon Ramsay in the kitchen but they hold their own. They offer a variety of fish, even mahi-mahi which is surprising good. The beer list is very good, it rivals many. There is a small British gift shop with some good finds. We will go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJimmyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
84 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Below Average Fish & Chips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Been here before, but some years back, so thought I'd try again.

If you never had good Fish & Chips (fries) you might find it okay.

Portions are small for the price and I found the fish batter to be greasy. They give you a small bowl of crisps (chips) but they're very salty. Photos show lemons on the plate, but none arrived.Tried a scotch egg as I hadn't had one for years; it'l be years again if this is the only place I can get one.
They have an extensive drink menu at fair prices. Sign said "Happy Hour." 3-7, but not what it was.
If you're having a meat dish, ask for HP sauce it'll improve your meal.
They have a small selection of English grocery products for sale, but grossly overpriced.
There are far better choices for "Fish & Chips" in North Phoenix. You'll spend less, get more, and better food. Surprised I gave it 3 buttons.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FishAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Codfather also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Codfather? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing