We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive room with good shuttle service to airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Airport
Ranked #82 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Sedona, AZ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Inexpensive room with good shuttle service to airport”
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This is a bare bones room, staff were pleasant, room clean. I don't eat continental breakfast, so I bought some fruit and yogurt at a nearby grocery. I stashed it in my ice bucket. Beware there was no hair dryer. It doesn't look like the best area, but I left my car there for seven nights with no problem. The shuttle leaves every hour from the hotel, and when I called their number from the airport they were there within ten minutes. Just remember what the shuttle looks like because it does not say Econolodge. I kept looking for Econolodge! The driver was kind enough to come looking for me. Overall good value and a safe place to stash my vehicle for the week, for just a few bucks more than long term parking. Plus I believe they told me I could leave my car for 21 days, with no additional charge.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BakeR G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    174
    110
    46
    37
See reviews for
82
148
63
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

I don't know if it's fair to disparage a hotel that's $40.00 a night, but even at cheap prices, one has a right to expect some level of decent accomodations. The rooms were fairly large, but depressingly drab. They reeked of smoke, and the curtains were worn. The "security" of the door (an electronic key) was utterly useless as it seemed to be as easy as cake for someone who knows what they're doing to gain access to your room. The "linens" were a joke. Is it too much to ask to get washclothes that don't have holes in them? And the sheets looked like they had been in use since the 80's. There were hairs on my pillowcase, and burnmarks on the bedspread. I actually never got under the covers either night, and slept in my clothes. Two of the TV channels (cable) had no sound at all. The area is depressing, with only a Jack N' The Box and a seafood place available for those brave enough to walk around the corner. I booked a stay there to attend a Cardinals game, so I knew going in it wouldn't be great. I just thought someone might care enough to provide the basics to anyone desperate enough to stay there. I will say that the front office attendant was extremely nice and helpful, and answered all of my questions with a smile. And there was a coffee maker in my room along with a hairdryer. Neither of which I used. Otherwise nearly any other motel in that area would probably be a nicer stay. (Or maybe not. LOL!)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adg87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phoenix hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I agree with the other recent reviewers, this is a perfectly clean and tidy airport-area accomodation for an overnight stay. Room was small but clean, did not have a coffee pot or hair dryer though hair dryers may be available at the check-in desk. Not at all noisy and we were able to sleep. Room had been recently renovated and was just about what you'd expect from an Econo-lodge, nothing impressive just functional. Tiny swimming pool just right for kids did not seem to have been used much as the motel is basically a sleepover spot for airport travelers.
The area was a very drab strip of warehouses, parking lots and auto-body shops, nothing at all of interest within walking distance and no bus or local transportation. A local pizza shop delivers until midnight but there are no food options or convenience stores in the area.
Continental breakfast was coffee, orange juice, apples, and toasted bagels with cream cheese. Nice that they start the breakfast at 4am for travelers with an early a.m flight.

This hotel uses FastTrack airport parking shuttle which frequents the airport. Return shuttles in the morning go to the airport every hour on the hour only , and I timed the ride at 7 minutes. Security and check-in at Phoenix airport is quite slow. We took the 8am shuttle for our 10am flight and had more than an hour to waste, but taking the shuttle just 60 minutes before our flight could have been a little hairy.
I would not recommend to females traveling alone , motel seemed safe but it is quite large, about 100 rooms, with only one employee working all night long. No real security in the area and after check-in you must walk outdoors for a few hundred feet to your room. Outdoor corridors. Doors are double-locked and key carded but big sliding-glass windows are always scary if you're in the shower alone etc.
This motel was fine for what I needed as I had 8 hours to kill between flights, but it is no-frills. Definitely worth the price paid but with some cautions. Think "Motel 6" with upgrades.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joesorce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Alabama
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We stayed here recently due to a family emergency. The location near the airport is not in one of the better neighborhoods in Phoenix, however, once we drove onto the property, we felt very safe and comfortable. There is a fence around the property, with a single entrance to drive through. The staff was great, and there is a computer with Internet access in the lobby. There is easy access to the Interstate also--just get your bearings before dark. They have a park and fly program, and although we didn't use it, I would have felt comfortable leaving my car there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank economom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

As I drove up to the Econo Lodge, I was a little jittery - the area did not look like the safest area, and I was a solo female traveler. I was glad I got there during daylight hours.

The hotel itself was okay. The room was huge and generally decent. There were a few spots of something sticky on the toilet seat, despite the "Sanitized for Your Protection" wrapper; it wasn't a huge deal to wash it off myself so I did and let management know about it when I checked out.

The website for the hotel is misleading as it states that there are "coffee makers in room." There aren't. There aren't blowdryers in the room either. I was in too much of a hurry in the morning, when I discovered this, to call to the front desk, but did mention it at checkout, when I was told that the coffeemakers had been removed from the rooms, and that blowdryers were available at the front desk. Would have been nice to have been tld that when I checked in!

Despite being close to the airport and in a questionable looking area, the room was fairly quiet and I was able to get a good night's sleep before the very short (5-7 min) drive to the airport in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
151 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

I have stayed here on two occasions, in March 2009 and March 2010, when I have gone to Phoenix for Cleveland Indians Spring Training games. The rooms are average-sized, with comfortable beds, there is a free shuttle to and from the airport, and it is only about ten minutes from the rental car facilities. It also offers a free continental breakfast. Management is very friendly and helpful. Less than a ten-minute drive to downtown and less than five to I-10. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maestrolms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishing lake, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We cannot say enough about this place. We only stayed one night (our flight left in the a.m.) and were delighted with the clean room and friendly service. We had a nice breakfast before we were shuttled to the airport. (left our vehicle there for 10 days.) On our return we called the motel and within 10 minutes the shuttle was there to pick us up and bring us directly to our vehicle. We actually stopped in to thank them for such a wonderful stay and easy access to and from the airport. This place is definately on our plans for next year. The price is very right!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floggymog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Sleep Inn Airport
#111 of 174 in Phoenix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Ahwatukee Foothills
Quality Inn Phoenix Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
Hilton Phoenix Airport
#17 of 174 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Airport

Property: Econo Lodge Airport
Address: 3037 E van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85008-6806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Call about our Park and Fly Packages* *Call about our Airline Employee rate specials* The Econo Lodge Phoenix Airport is just 1.2 Miles from the Sky Harbor International Airport and offers a free 24 hour shuttle to and from the hotel. Econo Lodge also offers Park and Fly rates (extended car parking) for guest looking to park there car while on vacation/business, please call the hotel directly for Park and fly rates. The Econo Lodge offers a free continental breakfast from 4am to 9am, all rooms feature free wireless high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing