We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Airport
Ranked #82 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband, an Army Disabled veteran, and I stayed here in April,
My husband had checked into the room around 9pm. After seeing bugs crawling on the dloor he turned on the bathroom light to find a used drug needle in the bathroom.
He calledvthe front desk to explain the situation. The front desk , irritated, switched him to another room. No appologe, no help moving his things. This is NO WAY to treat a servimem, nor anyone else.
The following morning my husband went to the front desk to xomplain aboutbthe night before to be told. No discount, again no apologies.
I hope this place goes out of business......its not a safe place for Anyone!!!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else for a clean safe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, Manager at Econo Lodge Airport, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
I sincerely apologize for the very unfortunate incident you experienced at our hotel. I want to apologize for the fact that you encountered resistance and that you felt insulted by the inappropriate comment and behavior of the staff member. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention so that we can make sure no future guest experiences the same inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    172
    108
    44
    37
See reviews for
82
145
63
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Place is average. Bed is hard, room was very hot when I got in to it. TV is old. Furniture shows a lot of use, and is worn on the corners. Outside looks good. Internet does not work. Desk clerk was new and seemed to be overwhelmed. When asked about the Internet it took 3 different calls only to find out that it was down for the night, and that the supervisor would have to call to have it fixed in the morning.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kurt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Airport, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to write us a very insightful review. We value your opinion and suggestions for improvement as these comments help us to improve upon the guest experience at our hotel. We value your opinion and suggestions for improvement as these comments help us to improve upon the guest experience at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I just wanted to comment about Keith. He was extremely professional and kind-hearted. Also, willing to help with anything. I had trouble booking the room and he was extremely willing to help and treated my friend and I as proper guests. I would recommend this hotel as it is reasonable and clean. I would not recommend this property if you don't have a car. However they do have a free airport shuttle.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Airport, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Hello Miss Kim E,

Thank you very much for commending the efficiency of Keith during your recent stay with us. I will share your feedback with him as I know he will be pleased to know of your commendation. I am very glad for your generous recommendation for our hotel and for taking note of the quality of clean in our place.We hope to have you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The room was not dirty but had not been carefully cleaned- food on the floor just under the edge of the spread. Carpet grungy. The bathroom was clean, YAY. water pressure and temp OK. The room was shabby and had been well used. linens were clean but stained. The front desk clerk, I wrote his name down but now forget it, sandy haired, was just great. the breakfast was so-so at best- instant oatmeal, bananas and underripe oranges, poor quality pastries and bagels. The front desk clerk did see to it that cream cheese (which was listed on the info sheet as available at breakfast) was provided after the first morning. It was quiet at night, the pool was small but nice; there was a beer tasting microbrewery within walking distance but the folks there were horrified that we were "Walking in this neighborhood?!" NO resources for food/beverage other than a convenience store about a block away. The van to the airport was on time

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbarabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Airport, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hello barbarabar,

Please know that we take our guests concerns seriously as we want to provide value services to all of our guests.Your comments on the room assigned to you will not go unnoticed as I will bring this matter to management so that this is evaluated and addressed accordingly. Thank you for your candid review as it will help us identify aspects we need to improve in order to be able to offer better accommodation to you on your next visit. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phoenix hotels

Green Valley, AZ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Living south of Tucson, but flying from Phoenix often works best if you stay the night before close to the Phoenix airport. A number of hotels and motels offer both free parking and shuttle service. We found this motel to be very convenient and while not new, our room was clean and well maintained.The shuttle to the airport is not exclusive to this motel, but even with several other stops, the trip took less than 15 minutes. For pickup on your return you can call the motel for directions to the proper shuttle pickup point. The breakfast room is pretty basic with packaged sweet rolls,bagels, juice, coffee, etc.but provides an adequate snack before going to the airport.I did not see any restaurants within walking distance. The room rate was reasonable and overall I would recommend this motel for a park,sleep and fly trip

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZ4Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Airport, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hello AZ4Now,

Thank you very much for finding our hotel of good choice. I am glad that you were comfortable during your stay with us and we have met your expectations. We truly appreciate your feedback as it allows us to monitor the quality of services we have provided our guests. Please know that your satisfaction is our goal to achieve for giving us your business. I hope you will come stay with us again on your trip to Phoenix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

After two weeks touring AZ, we wanted a place close to the airport at a reasonable price. Hotel is located in a somewhat desolate/dodgy part of the city. Really nothing there but a place to crash for the night. Lots of parking, off a busy industrial zone but quiet at night. Price is decent; the place is basic, a bit dated, but clean. Basic room amenities and no nearby dining unless you have a car. Comfortable room, free wi-if, satellite tv. There are a couple of places that deliver Chinese or pizza. If you've been kicking around for a week or two and just want a place for the night, pre-flight, this will do. The airport shuttle services this hotel, and you simply book it in advance; it starts early and makes the rounds all day on a regular route. Got us to the airport in plenty of time. Hotel provides a basic but free and much appreciated early self-serve breakfast: muffins, Danish rolls, fruit, coffee and beverages. Enough to get you started. Staff friendly and professional. Outdoor pool for warmer weather. Just in, out, and go.

Room Tip: Look for a room towards the back of the hotel - quiet guaranteed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripperGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Airport, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hello TripperGal,

Thank you for staying at Econo Lodge Airport. Your feedback on the efficiency and service of our hotel as well as finding our rate affordable is truly rewarding. I hope we could have another chance to offer you another great experience and comfortable accommodation in our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We paid 50$ for a night because we had an early flight next day. Our expectations were not very high. We got a smoking room, because of which all my close got the smell. A friend in the other room saw a cockroach. The neighborhood is not safe for walking during the time, less than a mile away is Arizona State Prison, police cars on the streets. The breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mprica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familyinn, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Airport, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hello mprica,

I apologized that you felt uncomfortable and unsafe during your stay. I will accelerate your concerns so that this will be checked and taken care of immediately. I appreciate your time in bringing your concern to our attention and please know that we take your concerns seriously and we will do our best to provide you better services on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Sleep Inn Airport
#113 of 175 in Phoenix
225 reviews
Ahwatukee Foothills
Quality Inn Phoenix Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
Hilton Phoenix Airport
#16 of 175 in Phoenix
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Airport

Property: Econo Lodge Airport
Address: 3037 E van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85008-6806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Call about our Park and Fly Packages* *Call about our Airline Employee rate specials* The Econo Lodge Phoenix Airport is just 1.2 Miles from the Sky Harbor International Airport and offers a free 24 hour shuttle to and from the hotel. Econo Lodge also offers Park and Fly rates (extended car parking) for guest looking to park there car while on vacation/business, please call the hotel directly for Park and fly rates. The Econo Lodge offers a free continental breakfast from 4am to 9am, all rooms feature free wireless high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing