We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Airport
Ranked #86 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Reviewed July 17, 2008

We were very happy to learn that the hotel offered free shuttle service. The hotel itself was clean, comfortable, almost pampering. The service was excellent. Every question we asked was answered right away. We would recommend this hotel to others as well as keep it in mind for future stays ourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Thats_some_GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 443 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2008

Our stay at the Econolodge on Van Buren was sufficient for what it was, but not for the money I paid. The shuttle service took ages to pick us up at the airport (and it was almost 11pm on a Wednesday, so not a terribly busy time frame). When we arrived at the hotel, we were surprised to see that it was basically a motel. We checked in at the registration area, and then had to schlep our bags across the parking lot and up a flight of stairs to our room - all the rooms have door/street access. The bed was hard, the sheets were thin, the blanket was rough. The cable was barely working - but the important things (cleanliness, the a/c, lights/shower/toilet were all perfectly fine). The breakfast that's served are literally pastries wrapped in plastic wrap and coffee - I definitely wouldn't count on that to feed you.
We went for a walk, only to discover that the neighborhood is incredibly shady - like the trailer park that says 'drug and gun free zone'.
This place was good for its location, but that's about it. We absolutely wouldn't stay here again, but it wasn't a surprise. It just wasn't good.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank jessicav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2007

Stayed there for free airport shuttle service, but found out there is a charge for parking that was never mentioned on website. Ended up paying double for reservation.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Petompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

I'm a pretty positive person, and not too high-maintenance or picky. This is the first negative review I've ever posted here, but this hotel in Phoenix was heinous, awful, and horrendous. I'm seriously going to write a letter of complaint to the corporate office.

-When we first went into the room, the A/C was off. It was about midnight, at least 100+ inside the room, and all we wanted to do was sleep. Miserable!!

-The heavy "marble" facade on the front of the bathroom vanity had come unglued, and was hanging by a thread of caulk. I had to yank it down and put it on the floor so that it wouldn't fall off on our feet while we standing in front of the sink.

-We stayed there three nights, and NOT ONCE did housekeeping clean our room! We ran out of towels, ran out of TOILET PAPER (!!!), and the two tiny trash bins were overflowing. This was after we both called and went in person to the front desk to complain.

-We had to get our room cards re-programmed every single day. Every day.

-After spending the night, the next day we drove down the street and realized there was a prison a couple of blocks away.

The only good thing about that place was that it was cheap and close to the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethanyinDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2007

If you want to really save money in Phoenix given the very high prices of hotels in this city, try this local hotel on the west side of the city. The hotel was packed the night we arrived but given our plane did not land until 1am and we did not get to the hotel until 2am, the wait staff was there with our reservation in hand. Luckily we found the hotel which was located in a less than desirable part of the city off a main highway but within easy access.

The fellow at the counter was cordial and the room was sufficient even if the pillows were very old and pillow cases dirty. The bed had not been replaced in some time and the tv cable was limited but for a quick inexpesive stopover, it was a good solution.

Try this place if you arrive late and just want a hot shower and a place to rest your hat.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lajimatgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2006

I booked this on Travelocity as a cheap place to stay before a 6AM flight. We pulled into the Econo Lodge off of VanBuren St. We thought the neighborhood was bad on our way in... only to find 2 scroungy guys in a fist fight in the parking lot.

Never checked in... took the loss of the non refundable charge and stayed somewhere else. Wouldn't have slept a wink there regardless!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank athena689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Windsor, ON
521
Reviewed April 3, 2006

It's cheap, close to the airport and has high-speed internet. So, I can't complain. If you come from teh airport though, wait for the free shuttle. The cab drivers will rip you off big-time. It's a couple of miles away and we were charged 20$. The shuttle is free and runs every half hour or so. This place also has a free continental breakfast which was nice too. Obviously a cheap place, but relatively clean. But, it was what we were looking for to crash for a night. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Sleep Inn Airport
#113 of 174 in Phoenix
241 reviews
Ahwatukee Foothills
Quality Inn Phoenix Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
South Mountain
GreenTree Inn & Suites Phoenix Sky Harbor
South Mountain
Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport (University Drive)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Airport

Address: 3037 E van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85008-6806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range: $58 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Call about our Park and Fly Packages* *Call about our Airline Employee rate specials* The Econo Lodge Phoenix Airport is just 1.2 Miles from the Sky Harbor International Airport and offers a free 24 hour shuttle to and from the hotel. Econo Lodge also offers Park and Fly rates (extended car parking) for guest looking to park there car while on vacation/business, please call the hotel directly for Park and fly rates. The Econo Lodge offers a free continental breakfast from 4am to 9am, all rooms feature free wireless high speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing