We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience HGI Phoenix/Midtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown
Ranked #42 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Needing a break from things back at home, it was time to head to the sun for some fun. I have stayed at various HiltonHHonors properties in the Phoenix area, and decided to stay close to the downtown area this time. After search for good rates, I decided to try this property and wasn't a bit disappointed! Once I got to the property, checked-in, and decided what I wanted to do, I realized the new Metro Light Rail line was less than 2 blocks away! (The Indian School Road/Central Avenue stop is the one you want for this hotel). The light rail takes you east to Mesa, and north to Montibello Ave/19th Street. This was the way to get around when you don't have a car!

The staff were very helpful and very gracious, very accommodating, and some of the best I've experience!! The property isn't your "typical" Hilton Garden Inn, this was apparently a hotel of a different name at one time. The common areas and rooms are dated and showing wear and tear, and need a re-do. The entire property could stand a major face lift. That's my only negative comment, everything else was outstanding.

As HiltonHHonors Gold, I got an upgrade to a king suite - very spacious and perfect for an extended weekend trip. I loved all of the room!

Breakfast coupons were also available. The breakfast offering is buffet with made-to-order omlets and waffles. I figured it was just another HGI standard breakfast buffet. I was amazed at how good the scrambled eggs were, along with the breakfast potatoes! This was one of the best breakfast buffets I've experienced in awhile. I could eat this every day but would gain more weight than I would like!! Great food, good service. The hotel does not offer lunch or dinner - the property is among corporate midtown Phoenix, so weekends are very quiet. Perfect time to come for a get away!

The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle within a five mile radius -- a trip to Biltmore Fashion Park was a nice change of pace.

All in all, this was a great experience, the property is in the midtown area of Phoenix. If you don't have a car, there are various restaurants you can walk to, or just hop the light rail ($10.50 for a 3-day unlimited pass) and head downtown. The Heard Museum and Phoenix Art Museum are 2-stops from the hotel. If you want to do in-room food, a Super Target is a light rail ride to the north at the Montibello/19th Avenue stop.

I highly recommend this property for business or leisure!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 692 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2009

The staff was excellent. The breakfast was one of the best I have experienced. The hotel was new and clean. The pool was great, too.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fun2dive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

This is a really great place to stay. The rooms are very nice, clean. This hotel has all the amenities at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARGETANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Great location and value. July is not there peak season, ha ha! They gave me an upgraded room and free breakfest. Room was great and very clean. All employees where very friendly and made u feel at home. I travel alot and this was one of my favorite hotel experiences ever.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

This hotel is beautiful. It is quite new. The mattresses are very comfortable and adjustable for firmness. The room we stayed in had a new flat screen television, mini-fridge, microwave and free wi-fi. We stayed here the last night of our vacation to the Grand Canyon. It was the least expensive, cleanest, and modern hotel we stayed in the whole trip. The hotel isn't located in the nicest neighborhood, but we never felt unsafe. As an added bonus, the decor is really modern and pretty!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auntieA05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Well if you can actually find the place it is interesting to say the least. I was in a room on the 7th floor of the "West" tower. From the looks of it I was one of two on the entire 7th floor the night I stayed. It is a long and hot walk to the West tower...either you cut through a dark and closed restaurant or go outside around the pool. I could not find the tower without help from housekeeping. The rooms are old, tired, and poorly outfitted. Don't look closely at anything...particularly the drapes and windows. If you can get it for $50 a night go for it. Don't wander around the area and call in for food delivery. Breakfast in the "cafe" in the morning is buffet only. The "omlet cook" is anything but and is as surly as they come. He turns the food using his bare hand and tests the warmth of things with his fingers. I left after having a glass of orange juice. Good Luck!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler1Denver_Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

The staff at this hotel were very cordial, polite, and helpful whenever we needed anything. Our pack n play was delivered promptly to our room. This was the only hotel out of our entire trip that had a room big enough to have the stroller and still have 2 options for where to comfortably put the pack n play. Having refrigerators in each room was a plus. The pool was a bit dirty with tree/landscaping debris, but really the rooms were spacious, clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The pool itself was huge, especially if you like to do laps. Plenty of towels at the pool and in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gonerunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Encanto
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area
Encanto
Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
Encanto
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix Downtown North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown

Address: 4000 N Central Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85012-1959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Encanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#52 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#52 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $89 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing