We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, older hotel, in convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown
Ranked #43 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I travelled to Phoenix to visit my 82 year old mother. Wanted a hotel along Central Ave corridor that was reasonably priced. Wasn't looking for luxury or a resort. Just clean, safe, comfortable and quiet. This Hilton Garden Inn was ideal. Luis at the front desk checked me in quickly and professionally. He seemed happy I was there. He explained when and where breakfast would be in the morning, where to park (more on that later), and a general overview of the hotel and the surrounding area.

It's a little walk to the rooms. Some are closer (cabanna rooms?) than others. My room was in a six or seven story building just past the cabana rooms that was accessed by going outside through the pool area and then indoors again to the elevator. Never seemed to have to wait for an elevator during my three night stay.

My room on the fifth floor was a king suite on the back of the building, so there was no pool noise. Or ANY noise. I was able to nap in the afternoon and sleep at night without any disturbance. The immediate view out of the two windows was of a side street and some sort of electrical substation. Not too exciting, but in the distance was a view of Phoenix and the mountains that I liked.

Room had a refrigerator, two tv's, and a very comfortable bed. Two closets.

The only negative was the parking. The lot is across an adjacent side street and is shared with an office building. From the main entrance to the parking lot is maybe 150 or 200 feet. Add in the distance to the rooms and it is a little bit of a trek each time you leave and return. Should not be a problem for most people, but I mention it for readers who may have mobility issues. Of course, there is a loading/unloading area for check in/check out. And the hotel may have other options for those requiring assistance.

I didn't eat in the restaurant so I can't evaluate the food. Nor did I use the gym, which I believe to be in the adjacent office building. Hotel guests are granted privileges there.

I definitely will stay here again. This hotel is not a Westin, Kimpton, or a resort and my "very good" rating takes that into account. I'm using a different rating scale. It also costs considerably less than those others. If you're after a clean, safe, comfortable, and well-priced hotel in central Phoenix, this hotel is the place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wag_over_Swag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 665 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

The room that I stayed in was #216. It was quite far from the Lobby. Parking was in a private lot, across the street from the Office Building next door to the Hotel. It was a little bit of a walk, but getting the Parking Pass validated each time you left the parking lot was a slight inconvenience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I enjoyed everything about the hotel, including location. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. It was close to downtown that you can take their public transportation and not worry about parking.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Rosier A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

A decent hotel, but unremarkable. It is clean but noisy and somewhat shabby. The furniture has a 1970's look. Virtually no services. A small alcove by the front desk has snacks and sundries. The layout is odd--behind an office building, and several different buildings around a pool. The place looks a bit shabby. Room service is only available from 5:00 PM to 9:00 PM.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This HGI needs attention. It has a strange configuration and is very noisy. Staff was conscientious and helpful. Rooms are very outdated. The carpet is very old and grubby. Room service was slow and oftened didn't have items from the menu.
Good fitness center and pool.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nippon703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The staff was nice, but the rooms need some attention. The carpet was old, discolored, with many stains. Rooms open to inner courtyard/pool area and any noise at the pool is amplified by echos. It was so noisy, I thought I had left the balcony door open! The area of town is convenient but not good for walking around or for close-by dining.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AttorneyOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlie D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had a great time with my kids for the weekend. The price was reasonable, and the pool area was the perfect place to have an impromptu pizza party. The staff were accommodating and the guest room was comfortable. Breakfast was included in my rate, and was more than we expected. The down sides? This HGI has only the bar and pantry - no restaurant. Also, the parking area is in a separate surface lot from the hotel property, meaning you have to choose to drag your luggage to the car or chance leaving it curbside while you fetch the car. This was my problem as a single dad of two kids (I couldn't take everything in one trip). Also, having the only entrance at the lobby means that you are walking a lot to actually get to your rooms after check-in. Overall - great stay! For the money this was a no-brainer for me.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Encanto
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Midtown-Downtown Area
Encanto
Wyndham Garden Phoenix Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Encanto
Hilton Phoenix Suites
Hilton Phoenix Suites
#34 of 174 in Phoenix
750 reviews
Ramada Phoenix Midtown
#106 of 174 in Phoenix
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown

Address: 4000 N Central Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85012-1959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Encanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#52 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#52 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $92 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing