We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A gem in downtown Phoenix” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Courtyard Cafe at the Heard Museum

The Courtyard Cafe at the Heard Museum
Ranked #47 of 2,964 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
173 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A gem in downtown Phoenix”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We went to visit the Museum and stopped to have lunch at the courtyard: the service was outstanding from the get-go, we were promptly seated outside and in the shade. The menu was explained to us and I went with the suggested Turkey and melted Brie sandwich. It was divine- the use if raisin bread was an inspiration.
Well worth a stop before or after your visit to the museum!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas_Kar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    44
    12
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were enjoying the Spanish festival at the Heard Museum on a beautiful sunny day and decided to try the Courtyard Cafe for lunch. We watched numerous plates of delicious looking food go by us enroute to tables in the courtyard and couldn't resist any longer. I ordered Posole a dish I had never tried before. It was so flavourful and delicious! My husband ordered chicken quesadillas and they were stuffed full of goodness. We ate listening to the mariachi band that was there to entertain festival goers and it made for a delightful backdrop to our lunch. The serving staff were friendly and attentive and prices were more than reasonable. Loved it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank desertgirl1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
203 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very good food, great outdoor courtyard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Pick a table near the fountain so you can enjoy viewing the water while dining on some excellent food. My partner had chicken tacos which had hot fresh corn shells and nicely spiced meat. She really enjoyed them. I had an excellent salad which included their excellent house dressing. We were there at about 2:00 pm so it wasn't crowded and service was excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoRoOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“delicious food and delightful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

we had a great lunch following a visit to the museum. I had the tinga chicken served with salad which was wonderful. The waitress was a little eccentric but such a lovely person who took a lot of time with us - she and the food made for a nice experience. The food is fresh and light - definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blakeholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We like to come here after church. Never had anything that we didn't like -- they have delicious sandwiches and soups. When it's not too hot (or too cold) sitting out in the Heard courtyard is really pleasant.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dustymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Courtyard Cafe at the Heard Museum also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Courtyard Cafe at the Heard Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing