We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fine place to stop if you're on hwy. #17” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Phoenix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Phoenix
Ranked #63 of 173 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
az
Level Contributor
300 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Fine place to stop if you're on hwy. #17”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Nice clean motel off hwy 17, just north of downtown Phoenix. Less expensive than many other places in the area. Surrounded by lots of restaurants to choose from. The only downside is that you must purchase extra coffee packets for the coffee machine in the room. 50 cents each. In the moring there is coffee at the reception desk for free. Small kitchen in the room with refrigerator, freezer, microwave, and stovetop. Dishes and silverware also available.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room away from highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    47
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
43
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, AZ
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

So here is why I rated this unassuming hotel five bullets. We vote with our money and this is an excellent vote. The hotel was convenient to my event in the foothills. If I had stayed at the Point Hilton it would have cost me three times what this hotel did. It simply would not have been worth it. Indeed in many ways it would have been a step down.

My reception by the front desk was friendly and welcoming. They gave me a free bottle of water and a snack. I checked in fairly early and they never even mentioned it. My room was super. I had a full size refrigerator, microwave and stove. This is a real convenience. It is so nice to be able to enjoy a snack, coffee in the AM and even dinner in the room as opposed to eating in the fifth restaurant in a row. Cheaper also.

The bed was very comfortable. The choice of pillows is nice. The Air Conditioning worked perfectly and was individually controlled. There is a very large work area/desk. It has plenty of outlets for electronics and even a bulletin board for notes. The high speed internet was truly high speed and free. In this day and age charging for internet is absurd. The television was a large, flat screen with a full array of channels.

There is an honor store in the lobby with a pretty good selection of snacks and even full meals. It is fairly priced. You just make your selection and drop the money in a box or fill out a slip to charge your purchases to your room. There are free and updated washing machines for the guests. The gym is large and well equipped. The front desk even has a large selection of DVD movies for free if you should want to relaxer with a movie. There was free pizza in the lobby on the Wednesday night that I was there.

This hotel is designed for people on an an extended stay so it does not have daily maid service as I understand it. I think it is once a week but is available anytime if you ask. They will also replace the towels everyday if you like. This is fine with me. I was there two days and it was not an issue. It is a small price to pay for such a comfortable and convenient room.

And that is the real deal. For those of us who travel extensively this hotel offers everything we really want. It is aimed right at professional travelers but anyone would appreciate what they offer. The staff is wonderful, the room spotless and convenient and the atmosphere restful. What more could you want?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rickwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha T, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Phoenix, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Alisha Tillotson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garibaldi, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I come to Phenix for work once a year and stay here for just over a week. The hotel rooms were updated last year and are very functional, clean, and include free wifi. You can choose a studio style room or a 1 bedroom. The staff here goes the extra mile and are very friendly! They have an amazing BBQ dinner for guests once a week. They have sundries and limited groceries in their laundry room, where you get $20 credit per week to spend. This year I was there over valentines day and each room had a small heart shaped box of chocolates waiting for us balanced on our room door handle. Many of the staff are the same people year after year (and they actually remember me), which I think speaks volumes to the hotel's loyalty, pride, and happy environment. Thanks again to the excellent staff at this location! See you next year!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Oreg0nWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha T, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Phoenix, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. I am so proud to hear that my staff took such great care of you and that all of our passion for what we do shows through in what we do! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post your review and look forward to serving you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Alisha Tillotson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
228 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We loved this hotel! Spacious rooms, washer and dryer on site (and free to use!), kitchenette in suite, this was affordable luxury. The staff was exceedingly nice and helpful, and the room was great! We stayed here over Christmas and loved it! The hotel has many amenities, and is located close to Tempe, Scottsdale, and Phoenix.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I visit the Phoenix area (former resident) several times annually for appointments and social gatherings. Candlewood Suites has always been my first choice of hotel. The location is excellent for my needs. I love the kitchen facilities and laundry facilities. The room is spacious with plenty of room to work. The room is very quiet and the hotel is always spotless. The front desk staff is excellent and always remember me. I did not bring my dog this time, but when he accompanies me, he is most welcomed.

Room Tip: I prefer corner suites on the second or third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

My Husband and I wanted a wonderful Anniversay vacation. We saw Candlewood Suites, as we were going one day to take care, of business. My Husband said that suite looks like a nice place to stay, for our vacation. Well we are so greatful to the Candlewood Suites Staff. They made our stay more then wonderful. The whole staff was so caring and they gave nice Anniversary wishes.

Steven at Guest Services was so nice to upgrade our Wedding Anniversary stay. The staff even place heart kisses a nice card and Sparkling White Grape Juice, in our room. My Husband and I have stay at so many Suites and Hotels but Candlewood Suites was the very best. Candlewood Suites was clean and the staff made us feel, at home.

I can't help but to list the staff names that made our stay so wonderful. First Steven thanks so much! Alisha,Susan,Lori,Kevin,Janine,Janis,Shirley...Jose,Letica,Norma,Maribel, and Lupe. I know this is, for the Travelers to review. To make there informed decisions, when selecting hotels. But I hope the staff, of Candlewood Suites see our warm Thanks and Appreciation.

Thanks again! Mr. & Mrs. Ronald & Royletta Smith <3

Room Tip: Higher floors the view is wonderful and the floors are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha T, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Phoenix, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Rondald & Royletta,

Thank you SO MUCH for your wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to serving you again in the future. I will make sure to show your review to the entire staff! Again...many thanks!

In Hospitality,
Alisha Tillotson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in August of 2012, it was 110 degrees F outside, however, our room was always cool and comfortable. The "thru the wall AC" unit ran most of the time. We booked a kitchenette and it came fully equiped with a dishwasher, full fridge and freezer, sink, micorwave, and countertop hot plate. Also all of the dishes and such were included. Laundry was available on site and they also provided a cafetiria type area with snacks and drinks you could purchase on the "honor basis" and fill out a card and drop it into the box. Great location for us adjacent to the Black Canyon Highway, road noise was not to bad at all. Overall, the room was perfectly adequate, clean, and fairly spacious. We did not use the swimming pool or hot tub. We accidentally left some clothing behind in our room, the staff saved it for us, bagged it, tagged it and entered it into the log book. We returned to PHX two(2) weeks later and retrieved our clothes. Thank-you to all the staff there, they were fantastic and we would stay there again. Please remember, that your expectations, may be different than ours, this hotel is older, and does show it's age a bit, however, our stay was great.

Room Tip: request a room away from the Black Canyon Highway, and you will be fine....we were :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmaniac69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
North Mountain
Hyatt Place Phoenix - North
North Mountain
Comfort Suites Phoenix North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Deer Valley
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Deer Valley
North Mountain
TownePlace Suites Phoenix North
Deer Valley
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix North - Happy Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Phoenix

Property: Candlewood Suites Phoenix
Address: 11411 N Black Canyon Hwy, Phoenix, AZ 85029-3448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
#39 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#54 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Phoenix 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. At the Candlewood Suites Phoenix hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Big and built for comfort, it's the ultimate suite for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk with two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. We re a pet friendly hotel, too (fees apply). The Candlewood Suites Phoenix hotel is an all suites hotel near Honeywell Automation College and close to Cactus League MLB Spring Training. We are a 2011 Cactus League Spring Training hotel! The Candlewood Suites Phoenix hotel is located near Maryvale Stadium and Peoria Sports Complex. We are a 2011 Phoenix International Raceway hotel! The Candlewood Suites Phoenix hotel is located near Phoenix International Raceway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Candlewood Suites Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Candlewood Phoenix
Phoenix Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing