We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$639
Hotels.com$639
Priceline$639
JW Marriott$639
CheapTickets$639
Orbitz.com$639
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,252)
Filter reviews
3,252 results
Traveler rating
2,040
822
238
83
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,040
822
238
83
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lazy river griffin club stone grill golf course pool area beautiful property poolside service driving range ice water business conference self park spring break tennis courts family vacation rooms are nice fitness center stonegrill
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 3,252 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2019 via mobile

This is one of the most beautiful hotel properties I have visited for a business conference, inside and out, plus the staff are friendly... what more could a traveler ask for? We had a 6th floor room facing the mountains with a balcony, and enjoyed watching the beautiful colors at sunset every night. The pools and lazy river were also a wonderful way to relax after long days of traveling and conference meetings. I plan on returning here in the future, and hope more conferences are held here!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
2  Thank KimE_RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMarriott, Manager at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2019

Dear KimE_RN,

We are so glad your conference brought you to the JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa. Thank you for the kind comments about our excellent accommodations, featuring scenic views, modern conveniences, and numerous upscale perks. Moreover, we also love that you were impressed by our devoted associates and that you had a relaxing time in our lazy river and pools. Thank you once more for the perfect rating, and we look forward to welcoming you back again for another enriching experience.

Best Regards,
Kimberly Geng
Guest Experience Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2019

Was at this hotel for one night for business and enjoyed my time. The hotel rooms were nice but not as nice as some other JW Marriotts. The customer service is JW Marriott material and is top notch. I would definitely recommend the upgrade to the Griffin Lounge; great food options, customer service, beer/wine are included. There are several restaurants to choose from onsite so you don't have to leave in the evening if you didn't want to. The food was delicious. A short walk away is a shopping plaza with several restaurants. The hotel offers a shuttle to the shopping area as well. The spa was really nice and had a good variety of offerings.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Skigal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMarriott, Manager at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2019

Dear Skigal08,

It was our pleasure having you at the JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, and we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We are thrilled that you could take advantage of our exclusive Griffin Club experience. We are glad our Chef prepared breakfast buffet, midday lunch, hors-d'oeuvres, and premium bar, as well as business amenities and enhanced concierge services, elevated your stay. Moreover, we are also happy our relaxing spa, and outstanding location close to the shopping plaza and many dining options turned out to be perfect for your needs. Thank you for choosing us, and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Kimberly Geng
Guest Experience Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2019

Seldom do I write a review while still in the hotel. Checked in a few days ago! Idiot, Arizona in June, what was I thinking! Business trip though. All high end hotels around here are much cheaper during summer due to the heat. Well its hot all right. Stunning entrance with Palms as you would imagine, immaculate lawns, and flowers are gorgeous. The Lobby is a vast emporium of Marble and very cooling and somewhat spectacular with its 6 of 7 story atrium. Rooms very well kept, spacious bathroom with deep soaking tub. That has to be said in AZ a deep tub can be hard to come bye due to the water situation. There is a lazy river for kids, and adult kids! Many pools with hot tubs dotted around. The pool bar service is superb but some of the cocktails can be a bit potent. Out door fire pits but they do not need to be on in this kind of heat! To my mind thats just damaging the environment. Restaurants could be better and the wine list for a place like this is sadly a bit poor. I have a narrow palate im afraid. (Californian Chardonnay only, Napa/Sonoma!) There are wonderful water features running through this place that sound and look cool, it does help a little. The staff in general very attentive. Tiny improvement could be zero sugar tonic, sprite etc. Seems just to be diet coke available. Charming and very pretty. Probs back next April. Very fond of it. Stayed at most of the top notch places in Scottsdale and I think so far this one is my favourite. Moving on tomorrow. Sedona here we come!!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank fussyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMarriott, Manager at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2019

Dear fussyrob,

Thank you for sharing about your stay at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa while you were in the area on business. We appreciate the flattering remarks, and we are glad you enjoyed our inspired service and premium amenities. We are committed to quality and craft and are pleased knowing our outdoor pools and graciously appointed accommodations enhanced your visit with us. It was also a pleasure knowing you loved our lobby area, beautiful property, and knowledgeable associates. However, we regret not meeting some of your expectations and appreciate all of your observations. Thank you for the perfect rating, and we gladly look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to our city.

Best Regards,
Kimberly Geng
Guest Experience Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2019

This is a great resort with lots of space to relax. The pools tend to be quite crowded, however, more than one is available. Finding space to sit and relax is Herculean feat. What Marriott might want to do is build a permanent shelter/pergola instead of more umbrellas. This would allow for more people to sit outside and stay out of the sun, but still enjoy the environment.
One of our keys stopped working within a couple of hours of our stay. When my wife approached the front desk (without me present), the front desk assistant gave her quite a hard time about resetting the key...even upon answering all her questions correctly. Said basically scolded my wife telling her to have her ID on her at all times. This is unacceptable behavior coming from someone behind a desk who is half our age. Our IDs are in our locked room because your key doesn't work properly.
The resort fees seem very high, and again, this resort gets added on my list of places to avoid due to the high taxes & fees and resort fees. For a two-night stay, you're looking to spend $150 in taxes and fees in addition to the price of the room.
The bellhops don't want you taking bags up to your own room using the rolling carts, and insist on doing it for you, which is just another way of gouging for more money.
Positive notes: on-site shops which are very nice, Starbucks, and restaurants which are pretty good, and of course Roy's, which is excellent for fine-dining. Live music is very good and an attentive outdoor staff seems ready and waiting to find you and take your order on drinks or food. In terms of "beaching it" at a place for days, and not needing to leave the property, this is 5-stars.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ChatWithMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMarriott, Manager at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2019

Dear ChatWithMatt,

Thank you for sharing about your stay at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa. We appreciate the flattering remarks, and we are glad you enjoyed dining at our restaurant, Roy's Pacific Rim. However, we regret not meeting some of your expectations and the issues you and your wife encountered with your room key. We also regret your dissatisfaction with our resort fee. These fees are listed on our website, and we will share your comments appropriately. We appreciate your patience and all of your feedback. Thank you once more for the kind rating, and we hope you will allow us to be of service again and regain your trust the next time you visit the area.

Best Regards,
Kimberly Geng
Guest Experience Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2019

We used our points to book a room and included the griffin club. The ladies at the griffin club were outstanding and helpful, Beth, Sara were great. Abbey at the front desk was spunky smiley and ready to serve. What a great way to start a stay, thanks to a great staff. Yes the griffin room is pricey but well worth it.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank gmduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMarriott, Manager at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2019

Dear gmduck,

Thank you for being our guest at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa. We love knowing you could take advantage of our exclusive Griffin Club experience and that our associates left a great impression. They work tirelessly to provide genuine, tailored service that is meant to inspire and shape your journey. We will enjoy sharing your kind comments with Beth, Sara, and Abbey; we appreciate you mentioning them by name. Thank you for the kind review, and we look forward to accommodating you again soon.

Best Regards,
Kimberly Geng
Guest Experience Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews