We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
10 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$499
Hotels.com$499
JW Marriott$499
Priceline$499
Orbitz.com$499
FindHotel$499
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,249)
Filter reviews
3,249 results
Traveler rating
2,039
822
237
83
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,039
822
237
83
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lazy river griffin club stone grill golf course pool area beautiful property poolside service driving range ice water business conference self park spring break tennis courts family vacation rooms are nice fitness center stonegrill
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 3,249 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2019 via mobile

I was there at a business conference for a week. An item out of my room, was stolen and the hotel had zero accountability, and was extremely rude about the situation. They explained if it was stolen there was nothing they can do. Very disappointed in how this was handled. Nice hotel, old layout but would not recommend.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank morgwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMarriott, Manager at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2019

Dear morgwalton, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take matters such as this very seriously. As a result, please allow us some time to look into this matter further. In the meantime, you can reach us directly at the hotel to discuss in greater detail what transpired. Thank you and talk soon.

Best regards,

Kimberly Geng
jwdesertridgeguestservice@marriott.com
Guest Experience Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2019 via mobile

My company held their annual sales meeting at this property.

Our group consisted of over 600 attendees and the hotel accommodations and staff are amazing. Beautiful rooms and views, terrific spa and restaurants, very very friendly staff!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank sammymadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMarriott, Manager at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2019

Dear sammymadison,

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay at the JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa and that your meetings were successful. It is our goal to create the perfect environment for you to conduct business and to make sure everything runs smoothly. We are proud of our beautiful event accommodations and the full range of business services that we offer to meet your every need. We hope that you will keep us in mind for your next meeting or special event. Thank you again and safe travels!

Best Regards,
Kimberly Geng
Guest Experience Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2019

We stayed for a couple nights over the holidays. It was a bummer that it was so cold in AZ over this time! We still tried to enjoy the hot tubs and lazy river a bit, though. We were a couple of the crazy people at the pools in 45 degrees! It sure looked like an enjoyable pool area, outdoor restaurant, game area, etc. Hope to enjoy this another time.

One gripe: One night we were there (Dec 30th), there were multiple cases of dirty tables at the fire pits and in the lower lobby areas that lingered for hours. I understand it was a Sunday night over the holiday period, and possibly limited staff assigned to this task, but it was disappointing to see multiple other staff members walk by these areas and not clean up. I guess they were not "busboys."

Otherwise, a decent stay. Will try and give it another go another time.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank prazakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMarriott, Manager at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2019

Dear Prazakr,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Phoenix. We are pleased our hotel exceeded your expectations in most areas and that you were able to enjoy our outdoor amenities despite the weather, but we regret the issues you had with the condition of the fire pit and lower lobby areas. We want your experience with us to be seamless, and we apologize that we fell short. Your comments will certainly be shared with the appropriate departments to ensure we are more diligent with our services going forward. Thank you for your patience, and we hope to host you again so we can show you our commitment to craft and quality.

Best Regards,
Kimberly Geng
Guest Experience Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2019

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend getaway with my family. This was my first time staying at this resort and was very excited to see all that it had to offer. Overall, this trip was a very positive experience for both me and my family. As soon as we arrived, we were told where to go and where to check in and where all the amenities were. My favorite part of this resort was the lazy river, It was relaxing and the staff really knew how to make it as smooth as it could be. They had a number of pools however, one of the pools you had to reserve a spot for the day and pay a certain amount because they were special chairs. We asked an employee how much they were and she then told us we could test them out for a part of the day and see if we were interested in purchasing. It was great customer service. Every part of this hotel was relaxing and welcoming. At night they had live bands playing on the patio where you could sit and enjoy the evening. The staff was extremely helpful and polite and truly made sure all the guests were welcomed in the greatest way. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a fun, relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMarriott, Manager at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2019

Dear Colleen C,

Thank you for choosing JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa for your weekend getaway. We appreciate the flattering remarks and are glad you enjoyed our inspired service and premium amenities. It’s a delight to know you had a great time at the lazy river. Thanks for recommending us, and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Best Regards,
Kimberly Geng
Guest Experience Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2019

We had a stay over the Christmas vacation week at this location while a large convention was in town. It wasn’t their fault, but when the convention was in full swing this was one boisterous hotel. The stone finishes and open balconies means that the sound ricochets with nothing to absorb it. The rooms – we splurged for a suite for our family to hang out in – had sort of an odd design. The toilet wasn’t separated from the shower, the doors were at odd diagonal angles, etc. The furniture at this JW did seem nicer than at a typical Marriott. It was not a peaceful hotel in the main common areas. The hotel restaurant the StoneGrill (we ate there twice; a mistake) was over-run, and it felt to us like the front desk staffing and restaurant staffing could not keep up with the peak demands from a convention.

We enjoyed the hot tub and the pools. It was cold in December, but the staff at the pools were nice and with towels, etc. the pools worked out. My family loved the robes. There were enough pools and enough chill in the air that you could get into a pool with no one in it, which is luxurious considering how many folks were at this hotel. The spa area seemed nice.
The hotel views were not particularly jaw-dropping or awe-inspiring; the views we had were at the back of the property facing condos under construction. At the front of the hotel, the property is next to a major power-store/sprawl mall. Since we’ve been to a large shopping mall before, this did not seem to be a big plus. There is an AMC movie theatre, and we did make use of one of the chain restaurants. Walking from the JW hotel parking lot to the hotel is a ten minute experience (outdoor parking). This hotel is large, as the parking lot attests. We were frankly spoiled by having just stayed at the Camelback Inn where parking is near your room (more like a motel), and the setting there is amazing.

I think if we were golfers, this might have been a more enjoyable stay. The golf course seemed empty during most of our stay. Overall, a very common hotel (inside you would never know that you are in Arizona) that is convention-sized and –intended (somewhat like a very large casino hotel in Vegas), not so much for us peaceful and resort-maximized.

The best part of this hotel for us, other than the pools, was as a place to sleep before heading out to see Phoenix, Scottsdale, and the surrounding areas (ZuZu restaurant in Scottsdale was a real treat – we ate Christmas dinner and lunch on Boxing Day there). Arizona in Christmas week is terrific.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamMarriott, Manager at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2019

Dear FredTravelVa,

Thank you for your detailed feedback about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa. We are glad to know you were pleased with our accommodations as well as services and that we made your stay a comfortable one. Having said that, we always want our guests to leave with an exceptional impression but we are sorry we fell short in accomplishing this. We will be sure to provide you with a memorable experience on your return visit. Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,
Kimberly Geng
Guest Experience Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews