We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2006

Went for a quick getaway Easter weekend with our 2 kids. Great resort, great weather, great fun. Our kids were in the pools all day, every day. They loved the lazy river, water slide and other pools. Pool food was decent and found prices here at the pool (for food & drink) acceptable. Ate most dinners at Dessert Ridge mall across the street (since our kids don't really appreciate fine dining) which consisted of Mimi Cafe, Rock Bottom Brewery, BJs Brewery (chicago style pizza), and On the Border. There are others too, but that's some of the choices. We did eat dinner one night at the resort at Tuscany (Easter dinner) - it was just ok. There were shortages on Sat & Sun of towels at the pool - for a long time on Saturday. Also, we had probelems not getting towels in our room from the cleaning service, and then when we did, the nightime service would take them away and not replace them. I feel this was an issolated incident though and not respresentative of the overall stay. Our kids participated in the free Easter activities, which were well organized. All in all, a great place & we would return. The only thing I would change, is we had 2 beds and they were doubles, not queens. I don't see why they can't fit queens instead, they have the room and adults traveling with their kids would be more comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank denvrgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,610 - 2,616 of 2,771 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2006

My husband and I visited this hotel in early April for a weekend getaway for some sunshine. Our main purpose was to relax, and this hotel was perfect for that. We spent two days lounging by the pools, enjoying the lazy river (fun even for adults!) and the excellent pool-side drink and lunch service.

We ate dinner at the resort two nights -- one night at Roy's and one night at the Meritage Steakhouse. Roy's was excellent and we'd highly recommend it, but we do not recommend the steakhouse. Service there was terrible and the steaks weren't that great either -- especially for the high prices. We loved the Starbucks that was on-site. It was so wonderful to have a leisurely morning, sipping our Starbucks on the store's patio and enjoying the beautiful desert botanical gardens.

We found the hotel rooms to be of decent size. The bedding was wonderful and bathrooms were nice. Everything felt very new and was very clean.

We wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel again!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AllieBrookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2006

Stayed for two nights April 7&8, 2006. The room was about the same size (12’w x 16’) as a Holiday Inn but the rate was $450 a night. Nicely furnished with the Revive bedding but 3 uncomfortably narrow chairs. There was no place to put anything in the double room and we were tripping over each other. Even the coffee maker was hidden away in the closet. The desk had an experimental computer on it you could use for $10 a day, so that took up even more room. Even the tub was tiny, but the separate shower was OK.

This is a huge hotel with 950 rooms on only 5 floors, the largest in AZ they said, so it fans out like spokes on a wheel from the lobby in the hub. Getting a pool view means you are pretty much at the end of the spokes and a long walk from the lobby where the restaurants were. We got lost a couple of times finding the room, getting to the end of the wrong ‘spoke’ and had to go back and start all over again. Everything is first class and quite impressive. Staff friendly and happy to serve.

We joined the Cloud Club – like a concierge room any guest can have for an extra $150 a night per room (max. 2 people) that includes complimentary drinks in the room from 4-10 pm each day including weekends, appetizers from 5-6 pm, dessert & cordials at 8 pm, and a chef prepared hot breakfast from 7-11 am. In addition they make dinner reservations for you, as well as for tennis, spa and golf. There is only one computer to log on with and no WIFI yet (although WIFI is available in the upper lobby). Cloud Club staff are very anxious to please and is a new project started Jan. 9, 2006. It is a large very comfortable room. So that took our daily rate to $600 before taxes.

Dinner one night was at Tuscany restaurant on site. It was a beautiful Italian restaurant but the service is spotty. It was the first Italian restaurant where we had to ask for bread … then had to ask for butter. From the moment we ordered drinks the waiter wanted us to give him the order – after 4 requests if we were ready we told him we’d signal him when we wanted to order. We ordered Lobster Bisque (excellent) at $8 each, Rack of Lamb (excellent) for $26 and Veal Scaloppini (ordinary) for $24. The next night we ate at Roy’s and had their price fixed $33 meal. It was very good – the chocolate explosion excellent. We found Roy's service more acceptable but both restaurants would have you outta there in 20 minutes if they could.

The grounds of this hotel are outstanding.. they even have a ‘lazy river’ where you can get on a tire and float around the entire thing in about 5 minutes. Other pools are plentiful and nice. After dinner drinks outside on the patio with live music at a fire pit is dreamy. People staying at the adjacent timeshare, Marriott Canyon Villas, have full use of the facilities of the hotel too. Valet parking is $20. Self park is free but a hike – they do have a shuttle for that.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank pwrshift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2006

Our family took a trip to Phoenix for spring break during the week of March 25-Apr 1, 2006. I would highly recommend the JW.
I took the advice of other travelers which included the free laundry on the 4th floor (even detergent is free) although only 2 washers and dryers, but still free. The poolside food was great, especially for the kids. I wouldn't recommend the cobb salad..very bland. I would recommend the quesadillas and fruit..Yum. They also have a Starbucks in the hotel which had free fruity water that was so refreshing.
Spa: While we didn't use the services, we did order smoothies and food for lunch. We also used the fitness center. Much better equipment at this one than the regular hotel one. It was crowded early in the am, but by 9am thru the afternoon (I worked out at different times) it was empty.
Room: we had a standard room. Not very big. We had a very comfy king bed and a pullout which was a twin. So we had to get a rollaway and fit it in between. This left for very little room. They were out of rollaways when we called but we found a maid who brought one right to us. The bath was fine, but only one sink and one plug area. Very limiting. Otherwise it was fine.
Pools: My kids loved the lazy river and the main pool with the fountain. It was cool the week we went but the water was heated. There was never a towel shortage either. They have pitchers of water and cups free of charge which is great.
Kids: there were tons of kids, all ages and yes, they do play continuously in the grassy area. My boys, age 10 and 7 were in heaven. We went to the marketplace (free hotel shuttle) and bought them a football so they could play all the time (what a nice perk to have Target so close).
Food: We ate at Roys..very good and the kids loved their meal too. We ate at the Blue Sage for breakfast several times. Kid buffet only 6.95 but adult 18. So we let the kids eat and we ordered off the menu.
Other: we went to the Grand Canyon and Sedona prior to our visit. I would recommend it. We will definitely return
Scottsdale/Phoenix area: Highly recommend the Kierland commons shopping area (ate at North..yum), the Rawhide ranch area south of phoenix (old western town and steakhouse), the Science museum (good rainy day thing to do), and old Scottsdale art gallerys (gallery walk on Thursday nights). We ate at Los Olivos in old Scottsdale..great, authentic Mexican food.
Enjoy!!!

13  Thank schnoodlelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2006

In heaven, you will wake up in the morning, take a shower in a fantastic bathroom adorned with beautiful marble, and then you'll get dressed (in shorts, I might add, because it's always sunny in heaven). Next you'll walk down a flight of stairs to your own, private, yes, I'm not kidding...Starbucks!

We're not talking that "we proudly serve Starbucks coffee" ruse you've seen at other hotels. We're taking a bona fide, pleasantly staffed real Starbucks.

Then it gets better. You take your coffee and go to the lobby and sit in one of those comfy chairs and just people watch. Or you might stroll through the grounds that were absolutely breathtaking. (If you think of a desert as scruffy cactus and sagebrush, this will turn you around.) Or you might just go watch the kids having the times of their lives floating down the Lazy River on their inner tubes.

You might have a well-prepared, reasonably-priced meal outdoors. You might watch the Final Four in the lobby on special big-screen TVs they brought in for the occasion. Or you might just sit in the sun and blow off the spring training baseball games you thought you came to see.

Now, a word about the rooms: We thought they were nicer than average, despite what you'll read on this site. Our room was lovely, with a great view of the gardens.

More important, the people were lovely. Upon checking in at around 6 pm we were at first thrilled to find out about the Starbucks, and then disappointed to hear that it had just closed for the day. Standing there looking forlorn, a Marriott employee walked by and said "oh, did you want a Starbucks?"

He then opened the door and asked the staff to make one more latte which they cheerfully did. When we reached in our wallet to pay, the Marriott employee smiled and said "this one's on us." Can you ask for better than that?

So was there anything wrong at all with our stay at the J.W. Marriott? Yes. It ended too soon.

P.S. - In the spirit of adventure we decided to check out the Hyatt Regency in Scottsdale for a couple of nights. An unfortunate decision on our part. Go read the reviews of that hotel and you'll recognize ours (quack!), and then make your reservation ONLY at the Marriott.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank NoRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2006

Well done Marriott.
Wonderful three day stay.
Great room. Dining outside.
Superb staff (some interns from Germany were also exceptional)
Beautiful grounds.
Water? Everywhere. Pools, rivers, splashing fountains. Stunning at nite.
Only downer was room ac did not work in winter.

Loved it so much bought a timeshare.

Stayed: February 2006
6  Thank mikedoylestown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2006

If, like me, one of your hobbies is luxury hotels, you might like to see this one. The grounds and the public areas are georgeous. So many palm trees! We were there during the great weather in March, and the huge hotel lobby was open to the outside pool area, making it feel very spacious and inviting. You can sit around fire pits, near the pool, in the lobby, or back by the golf course. A great hotel for hanging out, and at these high spring prices, you want to and get your money's worth. The "lazy river" is perfect for kids. The spa is beautiful, and you can spend hours there just relaxing. Just across a street is an upscale shopping center with many restaurants and a grocery store, so it is great for families. The only thing I would not rave about are the rooms - the bathrooms are wonderful, but the rooms themselves are slightly above standard Marriott. But most have incredible views! I have stayed at many nice hotels and this is one of the most pleasant for just spending time.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank longtimeresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#22 of 174 in Phoenix
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
#75 of 174 in Phoenix
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Address: 5350 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $242 - $1,008 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without peer among resorts in Phoenix, Arizona, award-winning, AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa welcomes guests to its stunning 316 acres in the Sonoran Desert. Our captivating resort takes you to a place where luxury, personal service, invigorating recreation and excellent dining are in abundance. Guest rooms and suites feature private balconies or patios with dramatic desert vistas, mountain views, and tech-friendly amenities. This premier resort also impresses with the award-winning Revive Spa and championship Wildfire Golf Club, home to the LPGA Founders Cup. Relax and enjoy the company of friends and family indoors or outside on one of many patios with our inviting fire-pits overlooking the resort's waterways. Among the leading North Phoenix resorts, JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa is your one-stop vacation haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Jw Marriott Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing