We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest Starbucks we've ever visited”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The nicest Starbucks we've ever visited”
Reviewed March 31, 2006

In heaven, you will wake up in the morning, take a shower in a fantastic bathroom adorned with beautiful marble, and then you'll get dressed (in shorts, I might add, because it's always sunny in heaven). Next you'll walk down a flight of stairs to your own, private, yes, I'm not kidding...Starbucks!

We're not talking that "we proudly serve Starbucks coffee" ruse you've seen at other hotels. We're taking a bona fide, pleasantly staffed real Starbucks.

Then it gets better. You take your coffee and go to the lobby and sit in one of those comfy chairs and just people watch. Or you might stroll through the grounds that were absolutely breathtaking. (If you think of a desert as scruffy cactus and sagebrush, this will turn you around.) Or you might just go watch the kids having the times of their lives floating down the Lazy River on their inner tubes.

You might have a well-prepared, reasonably-priced meal outdoors. You might watch the Final Four in the lobby on special big-screen TVs they brought in for the occasion. Or you might just sit in the sun and blow off the spring training baseball games you thought you came to see.

Now, a word about the rooms: We thought they were nicer than average, despite what you'll read on this site. Our room was lovely, with a great view of the gardens.

More important, the people were lovely. Upon checking in at around 6 pm we were at first thrilled to find out about the Starbucks, and then disappointed to hear that it had just closed for the day. Standing there looking forlorn, a Marriott employee walked by and said "oh, did you want a Starbucks?"

He then opened the door and asked the staff to make one more latte which they cheerfully did. When we reached in our wallet to pay, the Marriott employee smiled and said "this one's on us." Can you ask for better than that?

So was there anything wrong at all with our stay at the J.W. Marriott? Yes. It ended too soon.

P.S. - In the spirit of adventure we decided to check out the Hyatt Regency in Scottsdale for a couple of nights. An unfortunate decision on our part. Go read the reviews of that hotel and you'll recognize ours (quack!), and then make your reservation ONLY at the Marriott.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank NoRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,632
    685
    183
    55
    43
See reviews for
682
522
58
906
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
doylestown, pa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2006

Well done Marriott.
Wonderful three day stay.
Great room. Dining outside.
Superb staff (some interns from Germany were also exceptional)
Beautiful grounds.
Water? Everywhere. Pools, rivers, splashing fountains. Stunning at nite.
Only downer was room ac did not work in winter.

Loved it so much bought a timeshare.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank mikedoylestown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
173 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2006

If, like me, one of your hobbies is luxury hotels, you might like to see this one. The grounds and the public areas are georgeous. So many palm trees! We were there during the great weather in March, and the huge hotel lobby was open to the outside pool area, making it feel very spacious and inviting. You can sit around fire pits, near the pool, in the lobby, or back by the golf course. A great hotel for hanging out, and at these high spring prices, you want to and get your money's worth. The "lazy river" is perfect for kids. The spa is beautiful, and you can spend hours there just relaxing. Just across a street is an upscale shopping center with many restaurants and a grocery store, so it is great for families. The only thing I would not rave about are the rooms - the bathrooms are wonderful, but the rooms themselves are slightly above standard Marriott. But most have incredible views! I have stayed at many nice hotels and this is one of the most pleasant for just spending time.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank longtimeresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2006

My husband & I spent 3 nights at his hotel for a business conference he was attending. The hotel is huge and very beautiful! The staff was very attentive although on the second day we did tell the front desk that our coffee maker wasn't working and also that we would like non-down pillows. Neither problem was ever taken care of to our satisfaction. Our room was clean and spacious - the bathroom was enormous! Had lunch one day at the poolside restaurant. Good casual food, reasonably priced. The spa was overpriced for what you got. We each booked massages. My husband was satisfied with his but I don't think I got the quality of massage that I've experienced elsewhere. There's a shuttle bus to take you to the resort condos or across the road to a nice shopping mall. Also a shuttle to take you to the airport. (Not one that you can take from the airport to the hotel, though.) Otherwise you need a car to get anywhere. Taxis turned out to be very expensive. Did not get to try out the lazy river or any of the pools since Phoenix was having unusually cold weather at the time. Overall we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HockeyMomNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2006

My husband & I went to the resort for a 4 day long weekend getaway. We took our 3.5 year old son with us and had a great time. The hotel lobby was beautiful and our room was nice, a little small but not a big deal for us because we were hardly in it. The beds were super comfortable! The hotel grounds & landscaping were beautiful and the pools were nice and heated. The location of the hotel was great. Directly across the street there were plenty of restaurants and shopping. Also, a movie theater. The restaurants at the hotel seemed high in price, again not a big deal to us because we dined at the local restaurants across the street. The hotel offers a child day camp (kokopelli) for ages 4 to 12. We were planning to let our son go for a half day but when we arrived, only 2 older kids were there and we found out that all the kids hang out together in one area. They dont have age specific activities. This may not be a big deal to some families, but my husband and I felt uncomfortable since there were no kids his age and we didnt let him stay. For the most part the staff were friendly, although we did find some of the staff to be rude & we did have one negative encounter with a valet attendant. Overall our stay was very nice and we would come back again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank luvs2travel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2006

I don't know when I've ever been this impressed with a hotel/resort. I now have a new gold standard for service. I can't say enough about the pristine facility, the attentive and knowledgeable staff or the quality of offerings. This is a beautiful resort - huge and well-kept with gorgeous grounds, several swimming pool areas and (according to my husband) two top-drawer golf courses. Our room was lovely although nothing outside a standard Marriott or Renaissance room, but the bathroom was stellar - big and well-appointed. Our room was in a back wing, facing the spa building and was extremely quiet and peaceful with the added bonus of great sunset views! Every staff member we came in contact with was very courteous and every one of our questions was answered without hesitation. I've never been treated so well.

And I must say a word about the on-site restaurants, at least the three I experienced. Breakfast at Blue Sage was surprisingly good (go for a Mexican breakfast entree - delicious!), lunch at Meritage Steakhouse (on the patio) was delightful and dinner at Roy's was exceptional. This Roy's far surpassed the one on Maui, expecially the ambiance and service, which was enthusiastic and detailed. And I love having Starbucks at my disposal - in the morning and in the evening. And we were surprised at the reasonable dining prices, especially after just being in Las Vegas (where prices are outlandish).

This resort has a lot to recommend it - and I do - - highly!

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cynergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2006

I'm not sure that the pp stayed at the same place as me!! This place was amazing. The service unbelievable. As soon as you got there valet was waiting checking in was flawless even though we were 6 hours before check-in time. The rooms were nice but nothing "so special" for the price. But they were definatly clean. We had our 8 month old son, they had a crib in our room and a pack and play for us to carry around with us. The pools were a dream. We popped up the Pack and Play put up an umbrella and all enjoyed the day. The pool was large but had several strips and smaller pools for privacy for those of us that are not excited about how we look in a bathing suit. The service at the pool was good and drinks were $9 but you could double the size for $13.50. So $6-7 per drink which really isn't bad for a pricey resort.
The concierge was amazing. They recommend two different off the beaten path restaurants that were wonderful and full of character. There are little firepits throughout the resort. We mentioned while stand at the concierge desk it would be fun to make smore's. The girl working the counter started a furious search (9PM) for supplies for us. She called the executive chef at home and asked where to find marshmallows... we kept telling her don't do this we can go to the store! She kept insisting she would find them, after waiting a few minutes we told her we would go to our room and to call if she happened upon them. She told us earlier she was off at 9:30. At about 10 we had knock on our door. We opened it, she had went to the store, after her shift, and bought us stuff to make them!! My husband kept saying, Wow there are still people like that in the world?
Our whole experience was delightful!
Yes... it is pricey but if you're going to spend that much this resort is awesome!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank amlamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#13 of 174 in Phoenix
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Address: 5350 E Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without peer among Phoenix resorts, the award-winning, AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa welcomes guests to its stunning 316 acres in the Sonoran Desert. Our captivating resort takes you to a place where luxury, personal service, invigorating recreation and excellent dining are in abundance. Guest rooms and suites feature private balconies or patios with dramatic desert vistas, mountain views, and tech-friendly amenities. This premier resort also impresses with the award-winning Revive Spa and championship Wildfire Golf Club, home to the LPGA Founders Cup. Families, couples and friends will find a variety of activities designed for all ages including our Wildfire Pool Complex complete with Lazy River and water-slide. Or just relax and enjoy each others company indoors or outside on one of many patios with our inviting fire-pits overlooking the resort's waterways. Among the leading North Phoenix, Arizona resorts, JW Marriott Desert Ridge is your one-stop vacation haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
Jw Marriott Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing