We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never leave the hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 173 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Never leave the hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2004

Just returned from a 4 day "mom's only" trip with girlfriends and what a great time we had! We only left the hotel once to shop. The spa was fabulous.... the pools fun.... great restaurants...the staff was attentive and pleasant ...rooms wonderfusl....and the Cloud Club was absolutely heaven. I'd go back in a heartbeat!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,549
    665
    176
    53
    42
See reviews for
653
500
56
858
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2004

It's a deluxe resort & spa, no argument. The deluxe room was spacious, the bathroom opulent with separate marble + glass shower and comfy bathtub. The restaurants pricey, but the food presentation and quality does match. The outdoor seating is very attractive, surrounded by lush gardens and water features. The grounds are well looked after.

All rooms have a view of some sort, the least preferred would be the rooms looking west, across the front entrance, although the sunsets from that vantage point are outstanding.

Other views are across the golf course to the South and North, and the best view, from what I observed, would be over the pools, gardens and golf course, to the east.

While the resort is deluxe, the type of guests staying can range, and you may be exposed to noisy, obnoxious, and unwanted behaviour. Not the hotel's fault, mind you, but might affect your enjoyment all the same. Lots of cell phone activity at this resort since it is a conference site. Also, lots of kids...so, you might not get the quiet relaxation you're seeking. The Spa is outstanding with its own swimming and exercise facilities (additional charge) but well worth the additional fee(s).

The staff ("associates") in all areas understand customer satisfaction and everyone is friendly and efficient to deal with.

I would return to this hotel under the right circumstances.

Helpful?
10 Thank beenthereseenthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Gate, New Jersey
Level Contributor
182 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2004

This hotel has everything one would want in a resort. We stayed with our family,and everyone had a great time. The rooms were very nice, and the amenities were above the norm. The staff was friendly and helpful. The shopping mall across the street had numerous resturants and stores. I could not find anything wrong with this fine edition to the Marriott chain.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Flyerno.one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2004

I am in the travel industry and I only stay in 4 to 5 star properties. This is the best I stayed in the service is excellant the rooms are very big . You can not go wrong at this hotel. The pools are fabulous,the spa to die for. I highly recommend this resort.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avenel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2004

We went there Sept 1st for 3 nights. We are not award members or platinum members but we were upgraded to a suite. It was 2 rooms , one was reg hotel room with 2 queen beds etc the other rooms consisted of a living room, dining room with a table & 10 chairs, a pantry, a wet bar, an office area, a bedroom area with a murphy bed & 2 night stands, 2 full bathrooms with double sinks & separate glass showers, 2 walk in closets & 3 patios with beautiful patio furniture. What a treat!!! The pools are wonderful you could never go there & not find an empty chair like sometimes happens. We never had turn down service at night so maybe they don't do it there. We had lunch in the steak house, crazy where it is loacated it's hard to find & a long walk but worth it. i wouldn't like their dinner as it is ala cart but lunch was exceptional & reasonably priced. I am used to being at Marriotts where a drink of water can cost plenty but here they had pictures of water eevrywhere, plain or with strawberries or lemon.
The $17 per day parking was comped because we have a handicapped card.
As all JW Marriotts the landscaping & pool areas are magnificant. Restaurant wise there is not much variety but we were always out anyway there are some good rests. in the area. everyone raves about the mall across the street I found it to be a big disappointment. Great experience. Loved it!!!

Helpful?
Thank thespillars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2004

I stayed at the JW Marriott for two nights over Labor Day weekend with my boyfriend. The grounds are beautiful, the room itself was not remarkable (average) but the bathrooms w/glass door shower and marble floors was nice, food at Roy's great (def go with the price fixe menu and they make great dirty martini's), Blue Sage breakfast buffet is a must (blue corn pancakes and tons of fresh fruit), the pools were large and nice (but lazy river was pretty crowded in light of the holiday - but tons of chairs everywhere), pool drinks a bit weak and overpriced and pool food not so great at all, the Revive spa was excellent (and i've spa'd at tons of places...def worth it to use the facilities. to escape the crowd that sunday we got a couples massage, i got a facial and we used their private pool and facilities, way less crowded), a quick walk across the street (10 mins) gets you to a great mall and outdoor food/shopping area (hit up Albertsons for drinks and snacks to save you from the pool side menu) - some say too far to walk but i disagree, the gym is nice and not crowded when we were there, have a drink on the lower level lobby at dusk, the in room lotion is from the spa so its great stuff (got the boyfriend to ask for extra!), take a walk at night around the grounds and lay on a lounge to look at the stars, and have the Transtyle sedan pick you up at the airport ($50 - and they make no other stops unlike the other shuttle services) and for the trip back to the airport do the same but ask for the "shuttle" that gets you on the hour ($15 and we got the same exact car .. wondering what "shuttle" means)...oh, and late checkout is pretty late so stretch it if you have a later flight like we did!

a few odd things - house keeping came pretty late in the day and forgot turndown service both nights despite personal requests (not sure if she was just too busy), heard the pool ran out of towels for a little while during the day (we got there by around 11am so not a problem for us), the room is so-so for a 5 star hotel...

finally, go to expedia for air and hotel - we got a good deal (spent more on food and spa services!)

Helpful?
3 Thank LArunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2004

Had I written this review after day 2 of my four night stay, the result probably would have been 5 stars as I could have tolerated some of the early slip ups, however, I made a mistake and stayed on over the Labour Day Weekend. My husband and I stayed for four nights and paid to upgrade ourselves to a Cloud Room. Well in advance (ie 3 weeks), reservations were made for all four restuarants with specific requests for outdoor seating.
On arrival we were greeted well by many people and thought we were onto a winner here although it did take us some time to attract the attention of the gentleman at the Cloud Room to gain admission. Our first nights meal at Roys was exceptional with excellent attentive service; our room was beautiful and our walk in the gardens delightful.
Day Two went well until Dinner, when we were seated in a corridor at Blue Sage (the dining room was empty) advised no outside seating was available (though tables were visible) and served our entree four minutes after our appetizer - the server could not understand we were not ready for it so left it anyway.
Next day our problems started with the Cloud Room - this has the potential to be a great facility and the staff really do try their best. However, for Appetizers read - lovely food but used as Childrens Teas and dinner by those too mean to pay for it elsehwere. On one day there were 12 children racing around the room and others shouting and crying - one parent even pushed in ahead of us to get the last of an appetizer as it all was l her little darling would eat - we had to go without. The staff advised they have no control over the number of children in the roomas any guest in a cloud room can bring in unlimited children to the room free - so it is not a quiet oasis of calm for a pre dinner drink - quite the opposite. Breakfast was even worse as one dear child was in training for the Muffin Throwing at the Olympics event much to the amusement (and encouragement) of their parents. Obviously the hotel is not responsible for the behaviour of the parents, but be warned on the marketing, this is not the quiet facility you might think you are paying for.
Contrast that with our lovely well cooked, romantic meal outdoors at the Tuscany where incidentally delightful well mannered child sat at the next table to us. Wildfire was also a good spot, though again that evening our pre dinner drinks were a shambles as the kids had empty all the adult mixers and Perrier from the fridge and the staff had to get more brought up - and when the first lot arrived doting grandparents took all the water bottles for the children. The poor assistant was so frustrated as he tried to get our preferred drinks to us.
Other lapses that needed addressing were, a 50 minute wait for the (wrong) food order at the pool, with no supervisor available to register a complaint - an offer of free drinks was made but as we were about to drive and did not want alcohol or desserts that was worthless. Also had to point out every single day we were in a Cloud Room so should not be charged for parking, yet the charge still appeared on the final account; newspapers were not delivered on two of the days and each day we had to call housekeeping about things missing from our room (like the trashbin).
Yes, some of these are minor grumbles, and many of the staff did work hard to provide a very good personal service, but the hotel let itself down too many times during our stay for us to rate it any higher. On check out, the lady adjusted the parking costs but was not interested in our issues re the Cloud Room (which its staff had suggested we raise with them as it concerned them too) - as we were on a tight timescale to get our flight it was pointless pursuing them, but my advice think very very carefully about spending $100 a night for a Cloud Room if you are a couple wanting a more relaxed atmosphere to sit have pre dinner drinks or breakfast in.
I do hope this hotel can get its act together consistently - rather than some of the time for some of the guests

Helpful?
11 Thank UKtog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#11 of 173 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Address: 5350 E Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without peer among Phoenix resorts, the award-winning, AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa welcomes guests to its stunning 316 acres in the Sonoran Desert. Our captivating resort takes you to a place where luxury, personal service, invigorating recreation and excellent dining are in abundance. Guest rooms and suites feature private balconies or patios with dramatic desert vistas, mountain views, and tech-friendly amenities. This premier resort also impresses with the award-winning Revive Spa and championship Wildfire Golf Club, home to the LPGA Founders Cup. Families, couples and friends will find a variety of activities designed for all ages including our Wildfire Pool Complex complete with Lazy River and water-slide. Or just relax and enjoy each others company indoors or outside on one of many patios with our inviting fire-pits overlooking the resort's waterways. Among the leading North Phoenix, Arizona resorts, JW Marriott Desert Ridge is your one-stop vacation haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
Jw Marriott Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing