We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-run and excellent in all respects”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Well-run and excellent in all respects”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

I can't think of anything the hotel could have done to make this a better vacation experience. We were here for two nights. Rooms are tasteful and the public areas are huge with beautiful settings and many places to plop down and enjoy the atmosphere. Even though this was a holiday weekend with lots of kids around, the place is so big that we never felt anything but enjoyment as we passed so many happy families. My husband and I sat in the huge inner tubes and floated down the waterway and this was a relaxing way to just exist in the moment and forget our stresses. We had excellent food in Roy's and the Meritage Steakhouse and the most wonderful dish of baked eggs and short ribs for breakfast in their Stonepine restaurant. They have an extensive gift shop, which made my mother-in-law and I happy as our husbands played golf.
All staff goes out of their way to be helpful, cheerful and keep you in a vacation mode. We'd certainly return again. The place is so big that you can get exercise walking to the golf course, the convention center and tennis center. We really had fun. We had a rate that included $50 resort credit each day and free golf during certain hours in this hot season.

Green Features: There was a bag in the room to put any paper products that could be recycled. I hadn't seen this before.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tapestries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Wow, thank you for sharing such a wonderful review! We take great pride in creating a memorable experience for each and every guest and we are so pleased to hear that your experience was exceptional from relaxing away down the lazy river, to the golf course and the gift shops! We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the resort when your travels bring you to Arizona once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,647
    692
    184
    56
    43
See reviews for
692
528
59
912
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2014

We have just stayed twice at the Hotel during our vacation - first for 4 nights and then for 12 nights.
We have stayed at the Marriott twice before and the rooms, service and facilities are exceptional. If there was ever a problem the teams fixed it, if we needed information we received it.
I'm an avid golfer and practiced most mornings at the resorts Wildfire range and Sean, Craig and team were great. My wife used the gym most mornings and she's a major fan.
We enjoyed our time so much that we have already booked for next year. We would finally like to thank Carman and the concierge team for looking after us once again. We have stayed in Phoenix 7 times in 10 years and highly recommend this hotel if your looking for the best place to stay especially with a family.

Room Tip: Best to ask for rooms overlooking the pools and or golf course - we find the higher floors to be the...
See more room tips
Green Features: There are lots of recycling bins by most of the bars and restaurants - easy to use and highly available.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your loyalty to both Marriott and our Resort. We are so pleased to hear of your terrific vacation experience and that you choose our resort year after year! Our team looks forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home again when your travels bring you back to Arizona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, UK
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Stayed here whilst on a business trip and although I was unable to take advantage of the facilities the hotel had to offer, I would quite happily stay here again for the chance to take advantage of them. The adult-only pool area looked very nice. The gym was well equipped and they even had a schedule of classes, including spin classes (at a charge). The room showed a few signs of age, but was still very nice, sizeable and comfortable. There was no mini-bar which was a bit odd. I didn't sample the hotel restaurants, but they looked very nice, the menu in Roys looked particularly appealing. Like most hotels in Phoenix, you can't walk to any restaurants, but there is a reasonable selection of restaurants down the road at the Marketplace, a couple of minutes drive away. The bathroom was well equiped apart from the lack of hanging space for used towels to dry - I never understand why that is when they want you to re-use towels for environmental reasons and then they only provide one small towel rail to hang stuff on. The only down side was the walk to the car which in August is a struggle, and charging $10/day for self-parking was a new one on me for Phoenix. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meg987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with future travelers. We truly appreciate your detailed review. We certainly welcome all guest feedback as it is essential to improving the JW Marriott experience. We hope that you will have the opportunity to come join us again with more time to explore all the wonderful amenities our resort has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Last weekend I visited the JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort and Spa Phoenix. It was perfect and amazing. I went for a fun girl’s weekend, and couldn’t have asked for a better time. The hotel is beautiful and well kept. The interior decorations are beautiful and the grounds are perfect. We spend most of our days on the lazy river, and lounging by the pool. The waiters are very nice and helpful, but everything is overpriced (as expected in a resort).

Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. We didn’t spend too much time in our room, but the only complaint was we only had 2 chairs on the patio so with 4 girls in the room our, the night time baloney experience wasn’t up to par, but that really was not a big deal.

I did enjoy a meal at the bar and the bartender was charming and quick. I had a flat bread and a couple beers (try the peach ale!) before checking out, and wish I would have eaten there more often.

If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larson58708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Sounds like the perfect girl’s getaway! Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We booked our room to celebrate our grandson's birthday. My son had a suite which was awesome. The rooms are spotless and I love their beds. So comfy. We enjoy the lazy river and pools. It's a great place to kick back, have a drink, and relax. Plenty of shady spots and grass. We watched the dive in movie. For breakfast we always do the buffet. It has everything you could ask for and the kids eat for $9. Good deal... I sat out on the balcony and saw so much desert life. Our balcony looked out over one of the golf course holes.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We certainly appreciate you choosing our resort to celebrate your grandson’s birthday. It is wonderful to hear that everyone enjoyed their time spent with us and that you were so pleased with your accommodations! We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Reading, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

On behalf of my family, I would like to say that resort employee Gordon Martin, made our stay at this establishement enjoyable and memorable. He continued to go above and beyond in providing us with laughs, as well as fine recommendations and accommodations for various attractions both inside and outside of the hotel. Gordon is as genuine of a person that we have had the pleasure of meeting during our time in Phoenix. He is an outstanding person and goes above and beyond in his duties, making sure each and every guest that he encounters is satisfied and leaves with a smile (hospitality at its finest!) Solely based on how Gordon made us feel like we were at home each and every night throughout our stay, we will definitely be booking another trip to this resort in the near future!

Sincerely,
John V & Family

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your wonderful comments on Gordon Martin. We certainly agree with you, and many other guests that send in their kind words about Gordon. He is an exceptional associate and truly is passionate about making ever guest feel special. We will gladly pass on your comment to Gordon and we look forward to welcoming you back again to the resort soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

My wife and I finally made it back to Arizona after 2 years. Last time, we stayed the Westin Kierland, but quickly realized we should have stayed here, at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge, after stopping by to check out the property. Well, this time we stayed at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge, and we loved it. The room was clean and the bed was super comfortable. The room also had a small refrigerator and coffee maker. But, it is the rest of the property that makes this place a mini-paradise.

There are 2 swimming pools and a lazy river that are surrounded by palm trees everywhere you look. The water was clean and there was plenty of room for all the guest, even on the weekend. On Friday, there was live music beginning at 4pm, at Roy's, which is a Asian Fusion Hawaiian restaurant, just outside the pool area. When my wife and I heard the singer/guitarist performing, we went over to Roy's and sat on some cozy furniture and enjoyed happy hour drinks and food while enjoying the music.

Beginning at 6pm, there is a band that performs on weekends on the patio of the Twenty6 bar. Again, if you like to sit outside near fire pits and snuggle next to your loved one while having drinks and listening to live music, then you've found your place. The 3 person band on Saturday night played form 6pm - 10pm - and they were very good.

The food options here are good. We didn't try the steakhouse, but we had dinner at Tuscany, the Italian restaurant and it was very good. We also had a bite that the pool grill and Twenty6. All were very good.

I don't have any negatives at all about the JWDR. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: This property is HUGE, so if you don't want to have to walk too far to your room, ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remo_Gaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our resort for your recent vacation, we certainly appreciate your business. We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful experience with us and were able to enjoy all the amenities that our resort has to offer. We hope that we will continue to be your choice resort when your travels bring you back to Arizona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Address: 5350 E Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without peer among Phoenix resorts, the award-winning, AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa welcomes guests to its stunning 316 acres in the Sonoran Desert. Our captivating resort takes you to a place where luxury, personal service, invigorating recreation and excellent dining are in abundance. Guest rooms and suites feature private balconies or patios with dramatic desert vistas, mountain views, and tech-friendly amenities. This premier resort also impresses with the award-winning Revive Spa and championship Wildfire Golf Club, home to the LPGA Founders Cup. Families, couples and friends will find a variety of activities designed for all ages including our Wildfire Pool Complex complete with Lazy River and water-slide. Or just relax and enjoy each others company indoors or outside on one of many patios with our inviting fire-pits overlooking the resort's waterways. Among the leading North Phoenix, Arizona resorts, JW Marriott Desert Ridge is your one-stop vacation haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Jw Marriott Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing