We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2014

My niece was in a pageant the weekend before and it was a bit stressful so we decided to take her and my nephew for a little fun. This property has so many things to do in the summer. THey stayed in the lazy river almost all day sipping on REAL FRUIT smoothis from the pool bar. We were also impressed that Stone Grill offered such healthy options on the kids menu, even though they both got cheeseburgers. Teresa was friendly and helpful in the restaurant and Jane was one of the nicest concierges I have ever encountered. Every single staff member was smiling and inquired about our stay. Marriott always outdoes itself with the best staff members on the planet! You will never be disappointed at a Marriott.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BeachLife305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you chose our resort for a relaxing weekend with your family. We do try to offer many healthy items throughout the resort to all our travelers, although you can't go wrong with a great cheeseburger! Thank you for your kind comments about Teresa and Jane, we will certainly pass them on to our staff! We appreciate your loyalty to Marriott and hope to welcome you and your family back to the resort soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,317 - 1,323 of 2,709 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

A great place for big conferences with great restaurants and wonderful facilities. The staff is friendly, helpful and willing to assist whatever needs you have. They offer many flavored waters throughout the hotel public areas to help everyone avoid problems due to the intense heat in the summer. The grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank QRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We certainly appreciate you choosing our resort and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time and received the top level of service that we strive to offer to each and every guest. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This staycation was amazing! At check in there fresh chocolate chip cookies and the staff there are so helpful. When you walk past them they greet you in the halls and inquire about your day. The rooms are nice and spacious with a balcony and a the bathrooms have separate tub and shower.
The hotels grounds pure serenity. There so many water features many ponds and you can hear the water flowing down them it was really nice. When you are walking around the huge resort you can take a nature walk and see rabbits and squirrels running around. When you get parched there is fruit infused water in the lobby and also a Starbucks on the property, it does close by 6pm but it is great.
The pools, there is a large pool with a waterfall tower where the water is freezing but the kids love to run through it, a medium pool that's nice as well, and the lazy river where there is a mini slide for kids and adults. All around the pool area there is a bar, snack shack and hold your breath there is a taco bar where you can create your on tacos. Loved it!!!! We also ordered food at the pool and the prices are resort prices but the size of the turkey burger was huge my husband didn't think he could finish it that is how big the turkey burger was and the quality of the food was great. The pool hours are 7am-10pm and there was plenty of activities for kids per the JW Marriott schedule. There is also a familyscape where there is a ping pong table, corn hole, and other actives inside the familyscape/recreation center. When you go towards the pool you might think its crowded but when you are at the pool it's very spacious and comfortable there is more than enough beach chairs and shaded umbrella for everyone.
Pros:
-great customer service
-2pools 1 lazy river with a slide
-clean rooms
-amazing property
- great food poolside
-familyscape
-spacious green belt kids can play near
-cookies at check-in
NO cons..

Overall, a great experience you would not know you were in Az with the palm trees lining the pool and many water features. It's relaxing and well worth every penny you spend. The hotel and staff are all amazing. Also, it's right across from Desert Ridge Marketplace with shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: If you want early check in they say to wait until after noon and you can still get a good room view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tish65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed many of the resort’s signature features during your stay, especially around the pool and family escape areas! We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

this is the best hotel and the best customer service you will ever receive. their generosity to my whole family during this celebration was so touching and will never be forgotten. if you have a chance please stay at this beautiful resort. the grounds are beautiful, rooms are great and the hotel is the best. i wrote a letter to the general manager of the hotel and hope he received it. unfortunately, i did not hear back from him.

the best hotel, stay and you will see.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lemont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Wow, thank you so much for your comments. It is so wonderful to hear that your experience was an exceptional one, and that you felt such generosity from our staff during your stay. We truly appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed at this resort for three nights in July 2014 with another couple. The lazy river and many pools made the July heat bearable. The rooms are spacious and it's hard to go wrong with views of palm trees, pools, gardens, and golf courses all over.

What impressed us the most was when the other couple fell ill from food (a bad burger elsewhere), the hotel staff found out she was sick and delivered ice, crackers and a bowl of chicken soup to her room. This all came with a handwritten note wishing her a speedy recovery. They also were extra attentive in cleaning the room. Thanks again!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gastrocurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your vacation, especially at our pool areas. We are sorry to hear that the couple that you were traveling with fell ill, but are so pleased to hear that our staff took such great care of them to assist in making them feel better. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you all back for your next vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

There are a number of great resorts in the Phoenix/Scottsdale area but this is the one that we like the best.
The resort is very large and caters to conferences, families and couples. As a couple we always choose to use the facilities of the Griffin Club as this is what really makes our stay special.
Not only do you feel that you are in an exclusive part of the hotel with many great benefits, but also the staff really do their utmost to ensure that your stay is best possible experience.

By selecting the Griffin Club you get the best of having access to all the features that only a large can resort can provide, with the added care and attention to detail of boutique hotel.
The staff here really are wonderful, we have come to know many of them over the years and we are always greeted like old friends. This year we were so well looked after by Alison Kayla and Jeff. From the lobby concierge team Candyce was also wonderfully helpful.

We also got to know some lovely people for the first time, they really could not do enough for us. We look forward to returning

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nippersUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you so much for taking to share your vacation experience. We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay and that you had the opportunity to experience our Griffin Club. We certainly appreciate your description of the Griffin Club for other future travelers to understand the special treatment that is received and we will pass your kind words on to the staff members mentioned.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort when your travels bring you back to Arizona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Spent 4 days here and it is beautiful. The rooms were very clean, staff extremely friendly and in a great location. It was extremely quiet and I appreciated that. The hotel is located near shopping and restaurants which is great . Scottsdale is about 20-30 mins away, the airport is a short distance. The hotel is beautifully decorated, there is an herb garden also onsite, the pool was great and each room has a balcony so you can enjoy the views. The grounds are beautiful and anyone who enjoys the outdoors would appreciate them. I think the price would reasonable. The wiifi was included in the resort fee. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank adnrn2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to spend time around the resort, including a visit to our herb garden. We take great pride in both our herb and vegetable garden which we incorporate throughout the resort in various food & beverage areas as well as at our Revive Spa. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Address: 5350 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $304 - $802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without peer among resorts in Phoenix, Arizona, award-winning, AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa welcomes guests to its stunning 316 acres in the Sonoran Desert. Our captivating resort takes you to a place where luxury, personal service, invigorating recreation and excellent dining are in abundance. Guest rooms and suites feature private balconies or patios with dramatic desert vistas, mountain views, and tech-friendly amenities. This premier resort also impresses with the award-winning Revive Spa and championship Wildfire Golf Club, home to the LPGA Founders Cup. Relax and enjoy the company of friends and family indoors or outside on one of many patios with our inviting fire-pits overlooking the resort's waterways. Among the leading North Phoenix resorts, JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa is your one-stop vacation haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
Jw Marriott Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing