We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Phoenix Airport(Phoenix)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$70
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$183
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa(Phoenix)(Great Value!)
$149
$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,852)
Filter reviews
2,852 results
Traveler rating
1,806
745
193
60
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,806
745
193
60
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy rivergriffin clubroy's restaurantstone grillgolf coursepool areabeautiful propertypoolside servicewater featuresice waterlarge hoteldriving rangebusiness conferenceself parkingspring breaklobby barfamily vacation
Filter
Updating list...
1,551 - 1,556 of 2,852 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We spent several nights here starting Easter weekend. This is a huge hotel with a large convention space. Though it was busy all week, we barely noticed.
The hotel was very busy at check in and that took awhile, but the agent had an "in training" badge on. One of the front desk agents gave each of our kids a ball while we were waiting. Small things like that are appreciated! We were offered a room overlooking the pools, but instead took one overlooking the Isle of Capri as we wanted a quiet location. We had a room with two double beds and did not find them too small for two adults. There are two very large pillows on each bed, that were not much use, as well as two regular pillows. Rooms on this side get the sunrise, and even with the room darkening curtains it gets light. I was surprised at how quiet the rooms are. We were near the ice machine and elevator, but the only noise we heard were kids running down the halls at times. The bathroom is well appointed with a separate shower and tub, hairdryer and plenty of toiletries and amenities. There is an in room coffee maker and small fridge, as well as robes. The coffee maker is in the night stand and we had to ask for coffee cups twice during our stay, as the cups or coffee were never replenished. Otherwise housekeeping was good. They came some time mid afternoon each day. There is also a balcony with two chairs and a side table.
The resort fee is annoying, as it is anywhere, but at least they give you some useful things - internet, a free appetizer or dessert, use of the driving range, bicycles, etc. There is an hourly shuttle to Desert Ridge Marketplace, a short walk or drive away.
The resort did a great job with Easter - there were various activities including a movie outside on Saturday night, and an Easter egg hunt on Sunday. There was some confusion with the Easter egg hunt - the activity sheet said it was at 8 am and it did not start until 9 am. They had beverages and donuts out, which was another nice touch.
We had to have wristbands for the pool on Easter Sunday, but not any other day. The pool was very busy that day, but there was not a problem finding chairs. The lazy river was very popular with our family! There are a few other pools, including an adults only pool near the spa. They have water stations everywhere with pitchers of ice water and cups. The food and beverage service at the pool is good, prices are typical for a resort. Great quesadillas!
We had food and beverages at all of the places on site and everything was mostly good.
We used the driving range, took part in one of the group clinics and played one of the golf courses. Excellent.
There is something for everyone here - families, couples, friends, convention travelers. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others and we are so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time during your Easter vacation! We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Arizona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. The grounds are amazing. The desert landscape combined with many different types of flowers is stunning. The pool area offers many options for swimming and is quite pretty as well. Our room was perfect. We had a huge suite with a balcony overlooking a desert garden. So normally I would give this hotel 5 stars but because I like to be able to relax and sleep in my hotel room, I had to give it 3 stars. Our room overlooked the garden and some type of grassy area beyond. There was extremely loud music each night as well as people talking very loudly on microphones. The music was so loud that it was difficult to hear the tv that was 3 feet away from us. We stayed up much later than we wanted because it was impossible to sleep until the music ended. When we called the front desk to inquire about the music and express our disappointment, they did send up a bottle of champagne. This was a nice gesture but unfortunately did not solve the problem. Definitely not a good place to bring young kids who would be going to bed early. Very disappointed that we couldn't fully enjoy this beautiful resort.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank jessi06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are deeply disappointed to hear of your experience during your stay at our resort. We know that many of our guests come to relax and unwind and we understand how loud music can disturb a peaceful evening for you. We do ask that all music related to functions at the resort end by 10:00pm and we hope that our staff offered to relocate you to a quieter section of the resort. Please reach out to us directly at jwdesertridgefacebook@marriott.com to discuss in further detail. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort to give you a true JW Desert Ridge experience that we are known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The JW Marriot Desert Ridge is literally an oasis in the desert. I'm not a huge fan of the Arizona landscape; but my husband convinced me to do our family vacation here. Wow, what a difference from the other Az hotels where we have stayed. The grounds are lush, full of flowers, plants, and water features. We had a corner suite that was grand and impeccably clean. Housekeeping was always there shortly after lunch and would leave little toys and treats for the kids.

We mostly ate lunch and snacks by the pool and they offered a nice array of fresh fruit, veggies, and hummus instead of the standard fries. Roy's was a fun culinary experience. The outdoor ambiance was nice and our waiter Steve was the best. This restaurant is well worth the price and has a nice variety.

I only did mani and pedis at the spa. The price was satisfactory but the service could have been slightly better. The staff seemed like they would rather be anywhere else then there and my daughter and I were supposed to have services together but she was finished when I was starting.

Overall, a wonderful place with other attractions close by. I would go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDvacationmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The minute we arrived at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge we were impressed! The Resort, grounds, pools and views are beautiful and very clean. We stayed April 16 - April 21, 2014, in a standard two double bed room with two adults and 2 kids ages 12 & 15. We came with another family with kids the same ages and it was very relaxing, and the kids had fun!! Every one of the hotel staff was very friendly and always asked if they could be of service or help in any way. Every time I walked past the front desk one or all of the staff would greet me! We had fabulous wait staff at the pool! Lauren, Jake, Beau, and a few more I can not remember! The staff truly seemed like they loved their job and were treated well! Food and drink was easy to order and very prompt! It was always easy to find our server. They were never very far away! The pools were beautiful and very spacious. We never felt like we were cramped for space. Having the ability to have chairs in the grass was great! You could really have your own piece of privacy! The hotel was very busy but did not feel that way! We took full advantage of the tennis courts in the morning and the courts a in perfect condition! The staff brought out pitchers of ice water and cups which was a nice touch! You do have to make sure you reserve court time a day in advance. We had a resort package which gave us the use of the courts free. We stayed in room 3182 and this was a great wing of the resort to stay in. Nice and quiet! Far from the bars, restaurants, and pools. It was great to sit out on the balcony overlooking the golf course in the early morning with coffee from Starbuck's which is right in the resort! After coming in from a morning run the bell man quickly offered us a bottle of water! Very nice and well needed! The ladies at the concierges desk were great! We wanted to do a Desert tour on Razors and they did all of the work and booked us with Mike! They said he does a fabulous job and we would have a blast and we did! Anyone thinking about doing it do not hesitate! We all had a great time and we received a CD of pictures he took during our tour at no extra charge. Try to do the sunset tour if it is available. We also celebrated two birthdays at the Meritage Steak House. The restaurant was a great place! Just to wrap this up, it was a very clean, beautiful, friendly and fun place to vacation!!! Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJB9970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Easter weekend we spent a long weekend at Desert Ridge with children and grandchildren celebrating 'grandpa's' 70th birthday.

The staff was very attentive, the accommodations very comfortable, activities appropriate for all members of our party, and the food fresh and tasty.

There were a couple of errors on our billing which were corrected quickly and with apologies. Otherwise we had no problems and the staff worked to make our visit a pleasure.

Since it was a holiday weekend there were lots and lots of families at the resort. The grounds and facilities were designed for this kind of crowd. At times though the "Lazy River" was bumper to bumper with inner tubes and children out of inner tubes chasing each other, splashing and in some cases harassing other children. I recommend that parents keep an eye on the situation to avoid having their child 'bullied'.

I would only recommend this resort for adults travelling alone if they make dining reservations in advance and are able to pay for the adult only Griffin Club. The only exception is adults that enjoy watching a lot of children playing and enjoying themselves and the possible wayward ball or child bumping into them.

Some of the adults in our party used the driving range but we did not use the golf course or spa. We were really focused on the rare opportunity to have everyone sharing the experience of being together.

Room Tip: Ask at the desk when you check in about the location of your room. Is it a long walk from the lobby/elevator? Which way does the balcony face? Is the room overlooking facilities that can be noisy and/or what time does that activity end?
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetTPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews