We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice JW, but falls short ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A nice JW, but falls short ”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Service is perfect, rooms very comfortable, good food. So the problem? Very inconvenient parking for non valet with the valet parked cars actually blocking the sidewalk to the main entrance.

The conference interior seems a bit dated.

Good, of course - just not great or perfect.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Janene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,633
    686
    184
    55
    43
See reviews for
683
523
58
907
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

From start to finish this was a top notch facility. Everyone completely anxious to take care of you and very friendly. And the place is gorgeous, inside and out. Like arriving at Versailles in the desert. And the rooms were beautiful, mine certainly had a view of brown hills and cerulean blue sky. The bathroom was a spa in itself. The bed was a work of art out of pillows.

There were fire pits outside so you could gather around them with a cocktail. We did not use any of the spa facilities as we were visiting friends over Thanksgiving so cannot comment there.

I'm guessing that normal rates may be pricey, but we got in at a really fantastic price by booking a few weeks ahead. Definitely on my return to list.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Wow, Versailles in the desert – what a wonderful compliment, thank you! We are so pleased that you chose our Resort while spending time with friends and hope this will become your “meeting spot” with your friends again in the future! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
266 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Was with family over the Thanksgiving holiday. Arrived on Tuesday, stayed until Saturday. Not sure how close to capacity the hotel was, but never really seemed crowded, which was nice. I'm sure layout and spaciousness of the hotel has so etching to do with.

Nice swimming areas, from pools to lazy river. Plenty to do for the kids. Golf course (Wildfire) was in very good condition, and staff was friendly.

Ate at Meritage for thanksgiving dinner. Had thanksgiving menu, along with regular menu. Food was very good, though little pricey.

Hotel conveniently located to shopping.

Overall nice trip and location

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeys2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebastian, florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The service, from the front desk to the housekeeping staff, was fantastic. I didn't catch the name of the absolutely friendliest door man ever. But he knows who he is! The room was a bit small but nicely decorated and had a good view of the surrounding mountains. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was very nice. The grounds, the pool area, the lobby, the fire pits, all were just great. We eat one night at the upscale steakhouse which was really good. We also walked to the outdoor shopping area down the street but were happy to have the shuttle driver spot us walking home and pick us up. As far as the conference I attended, their was plenty of room for the meetings and they did a great job catering to all 1000+ of us for the indoor and outdoor dinners, lunches, etc... .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliverTwist66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your travel experience with us. We must agree with you, we believe our doorman might be the friendliest in all of Arizona! We’re thrilled you enjoyed your time for both business and pleasure and hope to have you back to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay for a conference in November. Wonderful rooms, excellent meeting space and meals. Also loved the spa. Very expansive according to some but I found it very manageable. The cocktails exceptions outside we're wonderful for an east coaster. Nicely done and I recommend this property.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your great experience at our Resort. We truly appreciate the kind words and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here for our 10th anniversary for 3 nights. We arrived at 3 am and phoebe helped us. She gave us 24 hours access to the griffin club which was amazing. Great food mad amazing service! The room was clean and overlooked the botanical garden. The bed was comfy but there's nothing like your own bed! We did not hear anyone in the next room or out in the hallway for our entire stay. It was super quiet and a nice view. The grounds are beautifully manicured and very relaxing to stroll around. Overall, the service was incredible and the hotel was very nice, and that is coming from a very picky individual.

Room Tip: Try the griffin club for 65$/day..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottDesertRidge, Social Media Specialist at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing our Resort. We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay and had the chance to experience our Griffin Club. It is certainly a great area and we are so proud of the outstanding service that our team offers there! We hope to see you back again soon! Thank you and happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a very nice resort. Good looking golf course, very nice fitness center, lots of attractive relaxing spots. Good looking pool with a lazy river. The outside area has numerous fire pits to sit around and have cocktails during the evening. The restaurants on the property are good, but not great. The rooms are spacious, but not everything I would expect from a 4.5 star resort. Towels could be a little nicer, but they were still totally acceptable.

I am not usually one for room service, but every now and again I order it when I don't feel like leaving. As usual (just like any other nice hotel in the world) the cost of room service was very high. I accept that the prices are high, but when I pay massive prices I expect food that is good. My chicken wings and caser salad were not good. Neither of the items I ordered requires an executive chef to prepare, so it was very disappointing when the dinner was delivered and it wasn't good.

The one thing you should be weary of is that this is a very large conference center. While I was here there were 1000+ employees of a large company roaming the grounds. When they weren't in their conference they pretty much took over all of the common places in the resort. You should call the resort before booking to see if there are any large conferences at the time you are planning on staying.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank araino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#17 of 174 in Phoenix
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Address: 5350 E Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without peer among Phoenix resorts, the award-winning, AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa welcomes guests to its stunning 316 acres in the Sonoran Desert. Our captivating resort takes you to a place where luxury, personal service, invigorating recreation and excellent dining are in abundance. Guest rooms and suites feature private balconies or patios with dramatic desert vistas, mountain views, and tech-friendly amenities. This premier resort also impresses with the award-winning Revive Spa and championship Wildfire Golf Club, home to the LPGA Founders Cup. Families, couples and friends will find a variety of activities designed for all ages including our Wildfire Pool Complex complete with Lazy River and water-slide. Or just relax and enjoy each others company indoors or outside on one of many patios with our inviting fire-pits overlooking the resort's waterways. Among the leading North Phoenix, Arizona resorts, JW Marriott Desert Ridge is your one-stop vacation haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
Jw Marriott Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing