We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Club Level Service Spectacular” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
137 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Club Level Service Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent the extra money to enjoy the amenities of the club service offered at this hotel. The service delivered by the staff in this hotel is exceptional. A special thank you to Brianna who made our short stay so enjoyable. The food and beverages in the lounge are of high-caliber. We enjoyed a lovely room and were able to take advantage of the many benefits of the hotel. There is an absolutely lovely lazy river and beautiful pool if you have kids.

Room Tip: Invest in the club level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy3720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,553
    665
    176
    53
    42
See reviews for
655
501
56
858
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was a beautiful hotel; it has 10 restaurants, a spa & a lazy creek pool - a great hotel for a family vacation. Close to most things & easy to find & get around.

No complaints, I only have praise for all the employees & hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TurtlemomMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 4 days. A lot can happen in 4 days. Some of it was very good and some of it was very bad. Overall I left with a bad taste in my mouth for Marriott management. At check in we were greeted by Ashley who was very nice, very helpful, excellent customer service. The room was nice and well maintained during our stay so no complaints with housekeeping. The concierge, Brian, was a delight to work with. He booked dinner reservations and recreation for us. He sent champagne to our room for our anniversary.

We spent a day by the pool and James was an amazing server. The second day by the pool was a disaster but not because of the server, Christina. She was great. There was a large family that had overtaken the pool with the large stone fountain. Children were screaming and screeching and the guys were throwing a football. This is a resort, not a water park. At least 6 guests around us complained and asked that the family tone it down. Nothing was done. More complaints. Still no action. Most of the annoyed guests relocated to other pools. They were bullied by the large family and the Marriott management that refused to address the problem. We intervened with the rowdy family and asked them not to throw the football near us while we tried to relax and eat lunch. Does Marriott really want guests intervening for peace at the pool? The wait staff was apologetic but still no action by management. We finally left the pool. Again, this is a resort...not a water park.

Then on to the golf course. We booked unlimited golf and found out there were time restrictions not posted on the internet or even in the fine print. You just find out at check in. So now they want us to pay an extra $49 per person. After the pool incident and the golf incident we were furious. We did settle with management for a mere $100 credit to our account. We're Platinum Marriott members and only worth $100 for all that? Not happy.

Once last acknowledgement to Tommy Price on the golf course who steered us in the right direction for a very enjoyable round of golf. He knows how to run a golf course and do it right. All of the guys around the golf course were great and the courses were fun and well maintained.

If we ever go back I'll have my guard up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield county, ct
Level Contributor
127 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at this JW Marriott during August 2013 and we had a very enjoyable experience. There had been a lot of reviews complaining about the construction and we were pleasantly surprised that the construction was not disturbing at all. The resort staff went out of their way to make everything accessible and the appearance of the hotel was not impaired that greatly.

The facilities are beautiful - well maintained and kept up to date. The resort is very big, but we did not mind the walk to our room - we enjoyed the layout of the resort so it was fun to explore it each time we went back and forth.

The pool area is a lot of fun. The lazy river is relaxing and leads to a water slide that we all enjoyed (it could be a little bit bigger/higher, more exciting, but we had fun anyway). There is also additional pools for swimming and playing (including a smaller pool with a basketball net that was great).

The restaurants in the hotel were good. We ate at the Tuscany a few nights and it was very good. Everyone raved about Roys, so we gave that a try, but it was not as good as its reputation or its original Hawaii sister restaurant. The value at Tuscany was better.

Most importantly, the staff at the hotel is outstanding - the desk clerks were wonderful, the waitresses at Tuscany and the wait staff around the pool were fantastic. They did not pressure you to order, but they remembered you day after day and were genuine in their hospitality. Thank you.

One last point - as other reviewers have remarked - the pool area does get overcrowded on the weekends and that takes away from the relaxing resort feel. But if you can schedule your stay midweek, this is an excellent value for your money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funtootravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenburnie
Level Contributor
139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Tuscany restaurant for a kale salad was wonderful. Service was great. I was early so no room hence lunch at the restaurant. I was upgraded to a junior suite which has a lving area and a kitchen area which is so great when you are here for 5 nights. They were very quick to change the room to feather free and bell service with luggage was very fast.

My only complaint is the tv services, 5 ESPN channels but no food or HGTV. Women road warriors deserve something to wind down on not everyone likes sports 24/7

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mammo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a nice relaxing weekend at marriott desert ridge over labor day. The accomadations were comfortable, nice room sizes, great views and their wonderful bedding. The golf course was wonderful, great shape and fun venue. The food was excellent. With all this it was a super deal, including golf and dining credit.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view or a view of the Golf course all of which also have a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

From the moment you arrive at the massive entrance you will experience a little heaven on earth and a staff who are there for only one purpose YOU"" .The hotel is beautiful and the furnishing are high quality.The rooms are superb high quality linens,the beds are so very comfortable you will sleep like a baby.The bathroom is large with a separate soaking tub and shower,large soft towels and robes.The morning breakfast is wonderful anything you can want is there,for dinner Roy's can't be beat.The pool which is 4 with a lazy river is a great way to spend the day,the staff is there for anything you need.They have activities for the children the resort is really a great relaxing time from golf to a great spa treatment you will have a O My experience.And a Starbucks to boot for your morning coffee fix.You can't go wrong at this desert oasis!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view sit at the balcony and just enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macken2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#12 of 174 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Address: 5350 E Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without peer among Phoenix resorts, the award-winning, AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa welcomes guests to its stunning 316 acres in the Sonoran Desert. Our captivating resort takes you to a place where luxury, personal service, invigorating recreation and excellent dining are in abundance. Guest rooms and suites feature private balconies or patios with dramatic desert vistas, mountain views, and tech-friendly amenities. This premier resort also impresses with the award-winning Revive Spa and championship Wildfire Golf Club, home to the LPGA Founders Cup. Families, couples and friends will find a variety of activities designed for all ages including our Wildfire Pool Complex complete with Lazy River and water-slide. Or just relax and enjoy each others company indoors or outside on one of many patios with our inviting fire-pits overlooking the resort's waterways. Among the leading North Phoenix, Arizona resorts, JW Marriott Desert Ridge is your one-stop vacation haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
Jw Marriott Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing