We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest hotel I have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful grounds that are lit at night. Walkways, multiple pools including a lazy river. Great staff, great service, great hotel. Expensive but money well spent. I will be back for sure. You won't regret your stay at this property.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,690)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,585 - 1,591 of 2,690 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed there end August last year for one night with family and parents close to the end of our 3 weeks trip in California and U.S. parks. As the traveling agency wrongly booked the Camelback Marriott, we had a hard time to fix it and customer desk to really helpful. We finally sent the kids to the swimming pool river they were dying to try after 4 hours in the car. Adults also much appreciated it, with a nice sunset and rubber rings to better enjoy the river...
We also had a good dinner at the Italian restaurant. May be after so many days of hamburgers, European food was much welcome. For the rest, no bad surprise, and we recommended the hotel to friends that were traveling around this summer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bouftou92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I wrote a fairly harsh review back in May when we stayed for about ten days...
The next time we came to this area we stayed at the Westin Kierland.
This time we decided to try the JW again because it was simply closer to the Mayo Clinic...
Well what a delightful surprise. Honestly if I had to guess I'd say there was a shake up with some staff since the last visit.
Absolutely no room service trays left festering In the hallways like last time...competent bellboys and competent valets. Rooms were cleaned by 11am each day. Hotel is having some upgrades done but the quality of the stay was not impacted. We had a superb meal at the Meritage steak house on site...So yes I would stay again.
I also had a spa treatment and it was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShaunaLynne77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a 2yr old Bday. From the time we valeted to the time we left it was a well orchestrated stay. Upon arriving we were greeted by a door man, a "welcomer" in the check in line, the check in person was very professional (well dressed and friendly), and we even got a personalized welcome call from front desk after we got into our room.

We then went to the pool where we ate and drank poolside. It took awhile for the servers to come but then again it was Memorial Weekend. The lazy river was really neat and there was resort staff watching out for the guests.

In the evening we ordered pizza delivered and ate just outside the lobby and the kids ran in the free belt overlooking the little pond. The staff was very excepting of the outside food.

The next morning we shopped at their gift shop and drank coffee from the Starbucks store just across the shop.

Not cheap but you are paying for their excellent service. Overall great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YacksonsMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

What a terrific hotel. Had a great time over the Labor Day weekend. Staff was so helpful and they worked so hard to make their guests have a great time. The hotel is luxurious and very family friendly. It was nice to have a hotel cater to families which makes it alive and fun and not stuffy like some hotels can be. Would go back in a heartbeat. Terrific pools- lazy river, great staff, nice rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mataline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

From check in to check out. I found the stay so so. While everyone was friendly, the slow service and confusion among the individuals at the spa really made this an unrelaxed vacation. I am not sure I would ever go back. At least they were not pushing time share purchases as they do in Cabo San Lucas Mexico.

The resort was under construction, which was not the best for a trip. They had two events (Southern BBQ and a LUau) which were both held in doors - REALLY???? For the price, not worth the food quality. How do you have a BBQ and no BBQ ribs?

Room Tip: Go to the Desert ridge shopiing plaza for bar and restaurant choices.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctdudette100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This resort has it all! We had such a wonderful relaxing experience. The staff were excellent, the Griffin Club was worth it and more and the staff up there were wonderful!!! The pools, weather, golf EVERYTHING was fantastic! Room was clean, quiet and roomy, comfortable beds! We've been to quite a few destinations and The Marriott Desert Ridge was the best overall by far!! We will be coming back again and again! Thanks for such a great experience!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Address: 5350 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $241 - $791 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without peer among resorts in Phoenix, Arizona, award-winning, AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa welcomes guests to its stunning 316 acres in the Sonoran Desert. Our captivating resort takes you to a place where luxury, personal service, invigorating recreation and excellent dining are in abundance. Guest rooms and suites feature private balconies or patios with dramatic desert vistas, mountain views, and tech-friendly amenities. This premier resort also impresses with the award-winning Revive Spa and championship Wildfire Golf Club, home to the LPGA Founders Cup. Relax and enjoy the company of friends and family indoors or outside on one of many patios with our inviting fire-pits overlooking the resort's waterways. Among the leading North Phoenix resorts, JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa is your one-stop vacation haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Jw Marriott Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing