We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice place to hold a confrance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 177 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Sde Boker, Israel
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place to hold a confrance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I satyed in this butifull hotel thanks to a confrance I have attended. the resor is great, clean and beutiful. The swiming pool is fun and the desert around is great.
I wish I can come again with the family

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,414
    616
    165
    51
    38
See reviews for
603
457
52
774
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Don't. Go if you have small kids. We came back from a wonderful dinner at Roy's and as we cme back at 8 pm our neighbor comes out and says our kids need to be less loud. Next thing we knlow we are being escorted out of the property by phoenix pd who by the way think it ridiculous that a family with three kid f and under we're being asked o leave the hotel. If you have kid god forbid that they ar a littl bi excited at 8 pm. You might get kicked our. As a physician who used o frequent this place they are now blacklisted and I will make ure o let everyone know about this nonsense. Stephen hart it wil be in your best interest to see what you can do to rectify this cluster.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Bebe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My experience with this resort has been mainly business related – planning many off-site events for our company. I have had the pleasure of working with their event staff and each event went perfectly. From the first meeting with their staff to define our needs, to the event itself – everyone has been professional and if there is a glitch or concern with the meeting room, or a special food request – the staff (servers, banquet captains) is on top of it and our needs have been met. The food we ordered for our meetings has been very tasty, great presentation too. Personally loved the hummus varieties they had for an appetizer!!
I have stayed at the hotel for business – LOVE the rooms – very clean – comfortable. Check in and out was very smooth. Since my experience has been mostly business – I have seen more of their conference center and conference rooms than the pool or other fun activities at the Resort. One day I hope to be able to actually vacation here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaJ0585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here for a week long business conference and brought the whole family along. This was a fantastic hotel. The outdoor area was an especially nice treat in the blistering heat of Phoenix. The pool, waterfalls, and lazy river were enjoyed by kids and the adults in our family throughout the trip. Breakfast in the restaurant was relaxing and we enjoyed dining outside in the early morning. Breakfast buffet was great for kids. Our rooms were wonderfully, large, plush and spotless. Lots of options for shopping and dining nearby. We really enjoyed this visit and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Since the hotel seems to attract large groups, I would recommend requesting a room away from the out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odessa636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson Arizona
Level Contributor
489 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,362 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We are Marriott Residence Inn and Courtyard fans. However on a trip to Southern California in April, decided to stop at the JW Marriott in Palm Desert. We LOVED it !!! The staff was so genuinely nice and the Hotel was so much fun that the next day, we tried to extend our stay, but they were sold out due to the Music Festival.
We were in Prescott for a week, and on the way home decided to visit with close friends in Cave Creek. Since this was the most convenient Marriott (and we are gold members and love Marriotts), decided to spend 2 nights here. As soon as we arrived, we wanted to go home.
We drove up to register, and were told that we had to give up our car keys. Since we were in our very good car, we were reluctant to do so. Everywhere else, there is parking for people checking in. Here, that space is taken up by valet parking (even though, they have an entire lot for that close by!). In Palm Desert and in Tucson, the self parking is covered. Here (where it is hotter than anywhere else!), you park in the blazing sun. Instead of spending whatever for a new lobby (I don't know what the old one looked like, so actually, I should not judge), they could have covered the parking area.
The entire time we were there, almost nobody (staff) said "hello", "goodbye" or "how are you?"
In Palm Desert, it was so relaxing and lovely. Here, the lobby felt like Grand Central Station instead of a hotel.
The wifi did not have a good connection in our room, only in the lobby area. No lemon in the drinking ice water in lobby. Great pretensions, but little service. Cannot even compare with the wonderful Prescott Marriott Residence Inn, where guest welfare was at the top of the list.
The one good thing here was the restaurant Tuscany, where we invited our friends for dinner, and everything (food, service, atmosphere) was absolutely wonderful.
This had to be the most pretentious and superficial hotel we have ever stayed at. (And yes, we have stayed at many Ritz-Carltons and other luxury properties both here and abroad.) Don't mind spending money, but will not spend anymore here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NYU62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

While I was on a business trip and really did not get to experience most of what the resort had to offer, I can see why this would be great resort destination. Lovely hotel with great food and drinks. Rooms are impeccable. Service is superb. Facilities are in abundance.

The only sore point is that the walk to the hotel from parking lot is quite long if you are not parking with the valet. During summer afternoons in Phoenix, it can almost cause you a heat stroke.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indrajray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The rooms were spacious and comfortable. I really liked the separate shower and bathtub in the bathroom. This resort was very large, so walking to and from the convention area from my room took a while. If I were to return for another convention, I would request a room closer to the meeting area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MalOVision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#8 of 177 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Address: 5350 E Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6147
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without peer among Phoenix resorts, the award-winning, AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa welcomes guests to its stunning 316 acres in the Sonoran Desert. Our captivating resort takes you to a place where luxury, personal service, invigorating recreation and excellent dining are in abundance. Guest rooms and suites feature private balconies or patios with dramatic desert vistas, mountain views, and tech-friendly amenities. This premier resort also impresses with the award-winning Revive Spa and championship Wildfire Golf Club, home to the LPGA Founders Cup. Families, couples and friends will find a variety of activities designed for all ages including our Wildfire Pool Complex complete with Lazy River and water-slide. Or just relax and enjoy each others company indoors or outside on one of many patios with our inviting fire-pits overlooking the resort's waterways. Among the leading North Phoenix, Arizona resorts, JW Marriott Desert Ridge is your one-stop vacation haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Jw Marriott Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing