We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
$153
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Red Roof Plus+ Phoenix West(Phoenix)(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$110
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$79
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$203
$186
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa(Phoenix)(Great Value!)
$149
$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,852)
Filter reviews
2,852 results
Traveler rating
1,806
745
193
60
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,806
745
193
60
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy rivergriffin clubroy's restaurantstone grillgolf coursepool areabeautiful propertypoolside servicewater featuresice waterlarge hoteldriving rangebusiness conferenceself parkingspring breaklobby barfamily vacation
Filter
Updating list...
1,768 - 1,773 of 2,852 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our second time staying at this Hotel. We stayed there last year also in Aug. The hotel was under major construction and although it wasn't loud in our room, the lobby was SUPER LOUD!
As always the staff were fantastic and always had a smile on their faces. The shuttle to the shopping center was a great help for us. The pools were great but Roy's was a little disappointing. The meal wasn't as good as we remembered.

We would love to come back next year but will make sure the renovations are done!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinnipegBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have stayed at this resort before and have loved it. I'm a Platinum member of the Marriott program so we've stayed at many Marriott properties and this has always been one of our favorites. Unfortunately, this stay last week didn't live up to previous stays.

First, the good points. The grounds are spectacular and the pools are wonderful. The two golf courses are some of the best resort courses we have played anywhere; fun and well maintained. Meritage Steakhouse is definitely 4-5 stars for food and service. Tuscany and Roy's are also excellent.

The issues this time: we checked into the hotel on August 14th and went immediately to the pool. We quickly unpacked and put our toiletry bags on the bathroom counter to get to our sunscreen but didn't inspect things (shame on us). We spent a couple hours at the pool before we came back up to get ready for dinner. We found ants all over the bathroom counter; hard to see initially because it was a black speckled counter top. We called down immediately and we were told someone would be right up to take care of the issue. Upon further inspection, we found ants in the shower too. We also found some empty energy drink cans in the credenza under the TV so no one did a thorough job of cleaning or inspecting.

After more than an hour of waiting, we called down again and got a different person. He said they would just move us and finally sent someone up with a key. We schlepped our bags down the end of the hallway to another room, already late for our dinner reservations. The new room was not a good room; the balcony faced to a construction site that started work at 6 AM each morning. We love to sit out on a balcony in the morning and have coffee; it was impossible to do this. At this point, we just wanted to make the best of it and get to dinner. However, the hotel was not full and definitely could have given us a better room because of issues with the first room. They did give us a $50 credit for the inconvenience but it isn't about the money. This is a 5 star resort and should have handled the situation better.

The next morning I picked up a bag of decaf coffee at the front desk because none had been left in our room. He gave me the wrong size packet for the coffee maker we had and the coffee overflowed. Ok, we wiped it up and went down to Starbuck's. However, some of the coffee spilled on the white rug in the bathroom. The coffee stained rug stayed there for two days and housekeeping never put down a new rug.

There were other minor inconveniences for the entire stay; minor, yes, but shouldn't happen at a JW resort. How can you charge almost $30 for two drinks and tip at the pool and then have ants and empty cans in the rooms? That being said we will probably go back again since our prior stays have been wonderful and would rate our previous experiences 4-5 stars. I just hope last week's stay was an aberration and not an indication that JW standards are slipping. It is very disappointing to come back from a beautiful resort and have to unpack bags in the garage, worried that we might be bringing ants into the house.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the pool or gardens. Specify you don't want a room facing the construction in back. The second room overlooking the construction was 4247.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeanb1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

After two nights in this resort, we wished we had booked another night. Its vast property and multitude of activities will entertain every member of your family. Our only regret was not bringing our children.

Golfing is an extremely good value as our Fling and Swing package included golf during the heat of the day period for up to four golfers--whether the others were resort guest or not. Both courses were pleasant to play, although the second course's greens had just been aerated and made putting unrealistic. Just watch their calendar or call ahead to know when this is being done to avoid it.

Service was tremendous from the the moment of arrival to departure. I'm not big on being served at every turn, so I found myself frequently declining, but others may appreciate the abundance of service more than me.

The room was clean and because of the vastness of the pool area, the room had quick access to the pools.

Warning: when vacationing in the desert, do not forget footwear. The hot cement will cause severe burns on the bottom of your feet. I learned the hard way while visiting the pool mid-day.

We are excited to bring our kids here soon and recommend it to all families. Regarding value, I think the pricing is a bit high to say its a strong value.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviews_r_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed at the JW Desert Ridge for 3 nights in June for a Conference and was able to come in for a night before to enjoy the resort. The resort is beautiful and kept in immaculate condition. The room was quite spacious, with a balcony that overlooked the resort. I enjoyed the Spa facilities and the pool that was just outside the spa. Eat lunch at the little restaurant in the spa - it is extremely relaxing. The staff was always extremely pleasant - especially the valet staff. I've stayed at many hotels and resorts in the past, but this one certainly ranks as one of the best. I would definitely return whether it be for business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbum4843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We took our grown sons for a summer holiday on a great package deal. We loved it! The renovations did put a crimp on dining choices but the Tuscany happy hour was sooooo good it didn't matter. The $5 for 5 choices included a fantastic salami, cheese, olive and toasted bread plate ( amazing), margherite pizza, meatballs, artichokes and polenta w/mushrooms. Clint, our bartender was fantastic serving 5 great happy hour drinks like the Desert Rose or blood orange martini! The Meritage steak house was good but expensive, our server was great.
The rooms were comfy, elegant and well appointed. The bed super comfy. Staff went out of their way to help. For instance one of our son's foot got scraped raw from the rough bottom of the pool with the basket ball hoop. He needed super glue to seal raw spots. We went to the concierge desk to ask directions to the gift shop to see if they sold some. When we told the girl at the desk what happened, she got a repair kit out and gave us some super glue! It saved the vacation for our son. Pools were great but noisy with lots of kids. We finally discovered the adult only Revive Spa pool, yeah, peace and quiet! Also good food.
One thing we felt annoying and not cool...you couldn't bring your own snacks or drinks to the pool! That is one reason we we decided on a staycation instead of going off to Mexico! We wanted to save money. The prices for the drinks were super high! We will go back anyway and just drink in our room.
Only other annoyance was the lack of sound proofing. The doors were so heavy, yet you could hear everything in the hallway!
We do look forward to going back next summer after renovations are done, though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diamonddor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews