We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Service and Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the resort July 4th and 5th. This is the second year we have stayed at Desert Ridge for the 4th of July holiday. The grounds are well maintained and all of the staff is friendly and attentive. They are professional and knowledgeable. The room was very clean and comfortable.

We enjoy the pools and the lazy river tubing but agree with other reviewers that controls need to be put in place. Maybe start with an age minimum--Infants are brought into the lazy river in baby floats and parents become annoyed when the baby is splashed with water or bumped. You really don't have any control in those tubes. No one should be in the lazy river without an approved inner tube--young children are swimming under the tubes without any supervision. There are two other pools for swimming and babies. There were not enough tubes for visitors and guests were holding the tubes outside of the lazy river for all day use. Staff had to maneuver around the tubes to deliver food and drinks and never said a word. I don't know if we'll be back next year.

The wait staff at Splash is amazing! Back and forth in the hot sun all day delivering drinks and food. They were great. Breakfast at the Blue Sage was also fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aznorran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,647
    692
    184
    56
    43
See reviews for
692
528
59
912
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Average food and a TERRIBLE gym for a property this size. Wow - I was very unimpressed with this property in every regard. I was there on business - I would NEVER stay here for pleasure. It was a disappointment. The food was ok but uninspired.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valjalo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Lots of activities for kids, lazy river, friendly helpful staff. Average age of kids is around 7 or 8 so not really a place for older kids.

Food was good at the multiple restaurants including a buffet option at every meal.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great resort property. The staff is very accomodating. The food at the restaurants was great. Just a precaution, if you are looking for a tranquil relaxing time, I would not go during a summer holiday. It is definitely a place frequented by families during this time.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vice2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for a few days. We thought it was a very nice property. It had great workout facilities, three pools including a lazy river, and a very nice lobby. I thought Valet parking was a bit expensive. Like $17 a night. I decided to walk in the 118 degree heat instead to drop off my car. My kids loved the pool and lazy river. As some of the other reviewers have mentioned. I did have to hunt around for tubes due to the amount of people in the pool. All in all the staff was friendly, the resort was nice, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We've stayed twice at the JW Marriott in Phoenix and it's a great place to stay in Phoenix. The hotel pool area is spread out to give everyone space and the lazy river is great for kids and adults. The rooms are nice and clean, and have balconies to enjoy the evening air. Every amenity is available on site. The hotel is very large so keep in mind that when you park you might have a fairly long walk back to your room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff7520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stay here frequently, but probably would not stay again on a holiday weekend. The Lazy River was nothing more than a free for all. Marriott staff walking the area, and had to see the behavior, but did nothing.For the families and others that wanted to enjoy, there were quite a few that thought they were on a playground. Kids were jumping in off the sides right into others, spilling drinks and throwing cups and straws through out the river, jumping off of multiple tubes into the river. Where were these kids parents?
We enjoyed our room as always. Staff is always top notch. Would return but not on a holiday weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Address: 5350 E Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without peer among Phoenix resorts, the award-winning, AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa welcomes guests to its stunning 316 acres in the Sonoran Desert. Our captivating resort takes you to a place where luxury, personal service, invigorating recreation and excellent dining are in abundance. Guest rooms and suites feature private balconies or patios with dramatic desert vistas, mountain views, and tech-friendly amenities. This premier resort also impresses with the award-winning Revive Spa and championship Wildfire Golf Club, home to the LPGA Founders Cup. Families, couples and friends will find a variety of activities designed for all ages including our Wildfire Pool Complex complete with Lazy River and water-slide. Or just relax and enjoy each others company indoors or outside on one of many patios with our inviting fire-pits overlooking the resort's waterways. Among the leading North Phoenix, Arizona resorts, JW Marriott Desert Ridge is your one-stop vacation haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Jw Marriott Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing