We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sunny, Elegant and Fun Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Cordova, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A Sunny, Elegant and Fun Getaway”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I accompanied hubby to a conference here for 3 days and enjoyed everything about this resort. Our deluxe guest room on the 4th floor was bright and airy with a huge and luxurious bathroom. Among the usual amenities, his and her robes, refrigerator, and a safe were also provided. The king bed and bedding were comfy and we enjoyed the balcony view of the surrounding mountains and palm trees.

Since my husband was in meetings most days, I would take my ipad and read on one of the benches scattered throughout the botanic garden, where the desert plants were labeled and flowers were in full bloom. The little bunnies you will see out on the lawns and in the garden were especially fun to watch as they nibbled on the grass and played tag with each other. Being a bird lover, I also enjoyed watching and listening to the many birds on the grounds, identifying thrashers, doves and zippy hummingbirds. Besides a family play area and the swimming pool, there is even an adventure river to explore. And, of course, an awesome and award-winning golf course is a key attraction.

The steak house serves excellent food at dinner, but the Blue Sage Cafe was unimpressive and pricey the couple of days I ate lunch there. I preferred the snacks and coffee from the Starbucks located on the ground floor. Otherwise, the buffet style meals served at the conference and outside on the lawns were delicious.

The hotel shops are very nice, with a good selection of touristy stuff and some very nice pieces of Native American jewelry. The staff throughout the hotel are friendly and helpful. Within walking distance (the hotel also provides a shuttle) is a shopping center with a huge variety of shops and restaurants that has something for everyone. So, if you get bored at the hotel (I never did), you can always hop over there for some additional things to do.

Finally, the resort has a Hertz office right there on the grounds, so if you need to drop off or pick up a rental car, this is very convenient. No need to worry with the lines and traffic of a city or airport car rental office when you can take care of any driving need needs here at the hotel.

If you want an all-inclusive and fun place to stay, choose this wonderful resort. You'll enjoy every moment!

Room Tip: All the rooms have lovely views and balconies. If you need peace and quiet, you may want to request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HildaYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,648
    692
    185
    57
    43
See reviews for
694
528
59
913
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel and grounds are gorgeous. A great place to spend the weekend. The Griffin Club is highly recommended. It is extra but well worth it. The service in the Griffin Club is first rate and the Chef experience is a real treat. It is a great place to get away from it all, relax and be pampered.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Excellent resort for business and pleasure. Great guest rooms, delicious food, very friendly and helpful staff. The grounds are pristine and well manicured. Lots of activities on property or you can just relax. Museums and shopping close at hand. A must!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjpct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel many times for business conference. We like it so much, we get there early just to have a mini vacation. Staff are friendly, courteous and generally go out of their way to make your stay a good experience. The hotel is kept clean and grounds are beautiful. Love walking around this resort! I will also say that we did have a meal in Roy's that did not measure up to the cost. Everything was good with exception of main entree of fish. Both of us had fish which was fishy tasting and mushy texture. For a restaurant that specializes in seafood and charges for exceptional quality, this did not measure up. Everything else did. We spoke to others, however, that had a better experience. We thought the Italian restaurant "Tuscany" was good but their steak house "Meritage" was the top of the line. There are others to choose from and for most part good. If you are there for a week or longer, the menu's don't change much. There is a shopping complex just across the street which has some good restaurant choices and good for those forgetting items needed for trip. The Spa is wonderful for a light breakfast, lunch or just relaxing by their pool. Exercise room is good and spa treatments are good but some pricey. This resort is at top of my list in Phoenix.

Room Tip: We like the jr suites. They are well appointed and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleMac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I were 'stuck' at this resort because of flight cancellations due to Hurricane Sandy. It was the best thing that could ever have happened to us. The rooms are lovely, the staff is terrific and so accommodating during our nightmare. The grounds are gorgeous with plenty of space to walk around or lounge. The spa provides a great escape from the outside world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

It was our good fortune they provided us with an upgrade to a Junior Suite... Exceptionally spacious living area and bathroom, clean, luxurious bed/bedding, towels, robes..., service, pool, spa, restaurants. Staff exceptionally friendly/helpful. Wish we could have stayed longer! What a TREAT!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoobski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a nice place. Friendly staff, nice rooms, clean, and very quiet. The place was full but you would not have known it. We were there for a conference and we were actually quite impressed with the food. Also, like the fact they had a lot of non-gluton dishes which was a plus for me. After reading the reviews I thought I would be going to the Taj Mahal. It is not quite that but still nice. For the price, it seems pretty costly. Then again people go here to get away from it all so perhaps they don't care about cost. It was nice but if I was paying I'd probably look at other places to at least compare.

Room Tip: Make to ask for a view of the golf course and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Address: 5350 E Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without peer among Phoenix resorts, the award-winning, AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa welcomes guests to its stunning 316 acres in the Sonoran Desert. Our captivating resort takes you to a place where luxury, personal service, invigorating recreation and excellent dining are in abundance. Guest rooms and suites feature private balconies or patios with dramatic desert vistas, mountain views, and tech-friendly amenities. This premier resort also impresses with the award-winning Revive Spa and championship Wildfire Golf Club, home to the LPGA Founders Cup. Families, couples and friends will find a variety of activities designed for all ages including our Wildfire Pool Complex complete with Lazy River and water-slide. Or just relax and enjoy each others company indoors or outside on one of many patios with our inviting fire-pits overlooking the resort's waterways. Among the leading North Phoenix, Arizona resorts, JW Marriott Desert Ridge is your one-stop vacation haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Jw Marriott Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing