We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort In the Desert”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We frequently visit this beautiful resort in Phoenix. From the time you enter the lobby until you leave, you feel like you are in another world. The resort is beautifully decorated, from the comfortable chairs in the lobby - to the beautiful fixtures and finishings in the rooms. Everything is perfect. The pool area is extremely large - several pools to choose from, including a kids pool and a lazy river. You can spend the whole day at the pool because they offer food and drinks along with pitchers of water - you never have to leave. The grounds are lush and beautifully landscaped. In the evenings, on weekends, the bar area extends out to the patio and there is usually live music. It's a nice place to get together with friends for drinks. The only downside is if you choose to park you own car - it is sometimes hard to find an open spot. This is a big hotel with convention facilities - so at times it gets crowded.

Room Tip: Rooms off the pool can be noisy during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bab0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,792 - 1,798 of 2,771 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

I attended a business trip that was more of a vacation.

Rooms - Decent rooms - Clean with premium mountain and pool view. For $400.00 a night rooms, I did expect a little more. Nothing special. I was in a room near the lobby on the 5th floor - the lobby is VERY noisy and the sound echoing though the halls is incredible.

Amenities – Resort Fee is 25.00 a day…are you kidding me? For $400.00 a night rooms, this should be included. With this resort fee you are able to go to the driving range, have internet access, and then the usual hotel amenities.

Pools – 4 pools – I feel small for the size of this resort. There is a lack of chairs available when the hotel is booked. I had to sit on the grass one day. The chairs are also so packed in, there is NO room between them. They are on top of each other. Drinks/food are also overpriced at the pool.

The thing that really wow’ed me is the event/meeting spaces and the servers at these events. They went above and beyond everyday to make every person feel special. For the number of people we had, they did a great job. All meals were included and the food was outstanding. I don’t want to even think of how much money I would have spent if we had to eat at the restaurants at the hotel every day.

I would not come back to this resort if I was paying for this. You can go to Mexico for much cheaper, all inclusive resort

Room Tip: Mountain and Pool view - away from the Lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hjshepps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Updated facility with beautiful landscaping, decor and attentive staff. Easy check-in, room service was professional and detail oriented. Star bucks gets crowded early with no easy morning caffeine fixes. Exercise facility was adequate but busy in the AM. All in all, an outstanding experience.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the morning sun while sitting on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicago_is_first
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the desert ridge recently for a work related event. The atmosphere was very nice. The staff was great. Most of all I really enjoyed the food. Out of all of the places that I have stayed for business trips this was a true delight. They had a great variety of food and it was delicious. I was impressed with the fact that they had many items that cater to vegetarians. I am not a vegetarian but I am always curious to explore vegetarian fair and all of the various foods that I ate at Desert Ridge were excellent. Well done!

Room Tip: The Tuscany restaurant and the Blue Sage were excellent places to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed for three days just after Easter and yes it was full to the brim with families on vacation. The rooms were very nice, beds comfy, and everyone on staff was very helpful. We did have a little trouble getting linens, etc for our sleeper sofa for our nine year old daughter. We asked for a mattress pad, but they had none, so we asked for a blanket we could put under the sheets, but they told us they had ALL been sent out to launder. They finally brought us about a dozen sheets to pile on top of the sofa mattress! My comment about staff refers to the pool area. There was no supervision at all and I was kind of surprised from a liability standpoint that no one watched the pool area, and I do include some parents! A few times some younger children were walking in the river and a couple of groups of boys were being very aggressive and I was concerned someone was going to end up under a tube or trampled. We saw families pull out the inner tubes and keep them by their chair when they got out. That just seemed to be a bit inconsiderate, as they are for all to use and it does sort itself out. It was often difficult to find a tube because people were saving them. I didn't really want to be the pool monitor, but there were lots of kids looking for a tube and I did ask a couple of raucous groups of kids to be careful of little ones. Staff in the pool area would have been good to monitor things like that. On the first two days, we noticed lots of trash lying around the pool area, cups, bottles, etc. and that is so not the Marriott style. (There were plenty of trash cans, but apparently some people don't know how that works.) Ice water was always available and the food staff did an amazing job of keeping track of who ordered what in such a large space. I concur, chairs were hard to come by after 9:00. There was a sign saying chairs could not be reserved, but we saw chairs sit unused all day. Why do people save chairs for their children who never stop and sit?! We were a little disappointed there was only one small hot tub, always nice on a cool evening. All in all, great place for a family trip, but if my husband and I were to go without kids, we would definitely stay at the JW Camelback down the road.

Room Tip: I might avoid the pool view rooms if possible. Very noisy until pool closes at 10 p.m. and we just l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livealoha1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was just going to write a review about the wonderful experience my husband and I had at this hotel this past weekend and I saw the last review posted. I couldn't have said it any better than that. So DITTO to 3catsmom !!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PATRICIA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I visited this facility for a business conference. The service, food quality and rooms were top notch, especially with the considerable size of our group. The resort grounds included over the top landscaping with water effects, plants and gardens all well maintained. The property is so expansive, even if crowded, there are plenty of areas to relax and enjoy the surroundings without being around crowds of people. The pool areas were crowded, but we were able to find chairs and received poolside wait service without issue. The two golf courses looked nice, although we did not have a chance to play. The staff was phenomenal. Service could not have been more friendly or attentive. Great job! I see other's complaints in the reviews; however for a business conference, this is one of the best experiences I have had.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3catsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#22 of 174 in Phoenix
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
#75 of 174 in Phoenix
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Address: 5350 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $242 - $1,008 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without peer among resorts in Phoenix, Arizona, award-winning, AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa welcomes guests to its stunning 316 acres in the Sonoran Desert. Our captivating resort takes you to a place where luxury, personal service, invigorating recreation and excellent dining are in abundance. Guest rooms and suites feature private balconies or patios with dramatic desert vistas, mountain views, and tech-friendly amenities. This premier resort also impresses with the award-winning Revive Spa and championship Wildfire Golf Club, home to the LPGA Founders Cup. Relax and enjoy the company of friends and family indoors or outside on one of many patios with our inviting fire-pits overlooking the resort's waterways. Among the leading North Phoenix resorts, JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa is your one-stop vacation haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Jw Marriott Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing